Richard Armitage interview on Heinz Kruger

He did it again! The news keeps a-flowing. Richard Armitage is featured in a short interview about his character Heinz Kruger in Captain America: The First Avenger.

I have taken the liberty of uploading the video onto YouTube so it could be closed-captioned. Also, a transcript appears below.

First, a screencap. You can find lots more screencaps at RichardArmitageNet.Com.

Richard Armitage talks about Heinz Kruger

Here’s the video:


And here’s your transcript:

Richard Armitage: I play a character called Heinz Kruger who works for HYDRA. He’s an operative and he’s sent in to sabotage the experiment which Dr. Erskine is doing on this boy. I don’t think he knows a great deal about it, but he knows that he has to get the serum and eliminate any possibility that that serum will ever be created again on American soil. He’s managed to infiltrate the State Department as an American called Fred Clemson. And he’s in the observation lab as the experiment is taking place.

It’s great to play a bad guy. But I really tried not to see him as a bad guy. I wanted him to be human and I wanted him to be the kind of spy who had a moral conscience. So he’s not just a tool, he’s actually…he really believes he’s fighting for the Fatherland. I think it’s very easy to say that most people that operated in this period didn’t really know what was going on right at the center. And that’s probably true. But I think everyone has to have a real moral compass and really desire to do the right thing for their own country. And I wanted him to be more like that than somebody who just believed he was bad.


Richard Armitage gives such thoughtful answers in interviews. I also love how he puts a lot of thought into his roles, no matter how large or how small. Such a treasure!

This entry was posted in Interviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Richard Armitage interview on Heinz Kruger

  1. CDoart says:

    Thank you, Bccmee !! I have the strange impression, that he is a bit nervous here in this interview, more than in others he did so far. It makes me nervous to watch it and so I find it better to see the pictures and read through your transcript. Thank you!

    • fdemelo says:

      He going from British TV to big American films. In press junkets they interview differently and I just get nervous if shows like Entertainment Tonight or Access Hollywood find out about him. The British actors look at all this North American entertainment coverage and feel justifiably nervous. He’ll do fine. He’s got a brain and pretty self aware. (Or as I like to call ‘the kind of man I would like to clone.)

      • CDoart says:

        You may be right. I wondered who his interviewer may be. But I think you hit the point. It is the larger audience and importance of giving a good first impression to the North American market and film industry which might influence his reaction to the questions. He is so natural and knowledgeable in all his interviews and his answers. He does not have to worry ;o)

  2. Thank You! What a treat!

  3. NovemberBride says:

    Nice interview allbeit a little edgy. Not sure that’s the right word. Shallow self would like to point out that hair is nicely floppy and face nicely smooth. 🙂 Nice. No. Fantastic. I appreciate your efforts!!!

    PS So time line-wise…this interview would’ve been months ago?

    • smitkit says:

      I would think it was while he was filming it, as he has the Heinz Kruger haircut. Could be around last September-ish? He certainly looks different now, that’s for sure!

    • judiang says:

      Pssst, you’re doing a fine job for The Cause. :D)

      I think this interview was done last Fall 2010.

      • NovemberBride says:

        Just went to RAnet where she’s got it labeled Sept. 2010! So y’all were right on the money. Now the question is: and we didn’t know ANYTHING solid about Captain America until when? Wow!

  4. bccmee says:

    Yes this interview was done at the time of filming Captain America. Can’t remember the dates but September sounds about right.

  5. Ania says:

    Thank you, Bccmee ♥
    I love this, how he searches the bright and dark side in characters, which plays. And he talks about this in such way, how this was the most obvious thing in the world. And I wonder whether the other actors put so much effort as he, to understand the character played.

  6. PoliCBA says:

    Thank you, Bcc Mee!
    Indeed. He does give such thoughtful answers in interviews… ♥ A true treasure this man! And a really hard-working, devoted and talented actor (with an expression of humbleness in his eyes…).
    I could watch it hundreds of times.

  7. Musa says:

    He looks so adorable I think.

    What a treat, I love it when he talks about his characters and how much preparation he goes through, even with a comic book character. I’m sure he has more to say if given the chance. I’m more than ever looking forward to seeing him as Heinz Kruger.

    Thank you Bccmee.

  8. Meryl says:

    Ditto all of the above! And a big thankyou B for giving anyone less talented than yourself, access to all this new info and pics. And also a place to share one’s thoughts of same!

  9. Ana Cris says:

    Thank you, Bccmee !!
    And very good to understand the viewpoint of Richard
    and his preparation for a character. This man is amazing!

  10. Lesley says:

    Thank you Bccmee for letting us have access to this as said above. And ditto to all everyone has said. He really is a special person – love the way he prepares for a character and always trying to find a good thing about them I remember with Guy he said something similar about making him human

  11. Carolyn says:

    Thank you, Bcc! He is so adorable! I love to hear him explain his characters and how he gets into them.

  12. pv says:

    Thank you, Bccmee! How adorable is he here. Looks so nice, and i agree what intelligent thoughtful answers! Love his smile and he eyes here. Oh dear! what a week this has been!! 😀

  13. bccmee says:

    As usual, he is very thoughtful and well-prepared in his role, even though it looks relatively small for the film. So admirable that he pours his heart and soul into his character and it shows on screen. I really respect him for his hard work.

  14. judiang says:

    Thanks Bccmee! See, this THIS is what I’m talking about. Clean-shaven, floppy hair. Like PV, I love his smile and eyes here, oh and his brain too. SQUEE!

  15. Servetus says:

    Thanks so much, bccmee!

  16. bccmee says:

    I’ve noticed my reaction to this video clip is much more reasoned and temperate than the beard pictures!

  17. Summer says:

    OH My! Just when I thought I was recovering from yesterday’s gorgeous bearded pics comes this video!!!
    With beard/without beard?….makes no difference…he always looks definitely stunning!
    Love how he gets so involved in every single project, even if it is a comic; he is a professional!! 🙂

  18. Lady Rose says:

    It’s always nice to see the actor’s view of the character. 🙂
    Thanks for posting!

  19. bccmee says:

    Yes, the news is coming along so fast for everything. I nearly had a heart attack when I got a Google alert for a Richard Armitage/Amanda Mealing Strike Back poster. Turns out it was Richard Armitage and Orla Brady from Strike Back 1. Call the presses, a mistake on the ‘net! 😉

  20. khandy says:

    Thank you for the transcript a friend did transcribe it for me but it is wonderful to see it on a blog as well. It makes my enjoyment of RA more complete.

  21. Thais says:

    Hey, Bccmee! Thanks a lot for this video! Hopefully we’ll see him on the big screen very soon. =D

  22. Pingback: Thorin wallpaper | bccmee's Richard Armitage Vids & Graphics

  23. Grace says:

    Hi BccMee!
    Thanks so much for capturing and sharing this Richard interview. He looks well rested–you said the interview occurred Sept. 2010–whereas his recent Jackson Video interview from the Summer shows him so tired. Poor guy! I loved Richard as Heinz Kruger! He voiced great US and then German accents. I just wish there were more of him in the CA film. Hhhhhh!
    Thanks and best wishes, Grace

  24. Pingback: RichardArmitageNet News » Blog Archive » July 2011 news archive

  25. Pingback: Captain America- Richard Armitage Interview | Richard Armitage Blog

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.