Prediction time: When will Thorin appear?

Edit: the poll is closed! If you guessed Sunday, you were correct!

Richard Armitage as Thorin


The promo pictures from Captain America came upon us fast and furiously yesterday. Also, we are seeing the dwarfs from The Hobbit in sets of 2 or 3 coming from Peter Jackson’s facebook page. The question of the day is, “When will Thorin appear?” It seems they’re saving the best for last. Thorin Oakenshield, as played by Richard Armitage, is the king of the dwarfs after all.

So far, this is the clearest picture of Thorin we have, thanks to Empire Magazine and RichardArmitageNet.Com:

Empire Magazine Bilbo-Dwarves

Empire Magazine image snaffled from RichardArmitageNet.Com

It’s fun to predict and many of you are blessed with RA-ESP. So let’s see how many of us can guess when the Thorin promo picture will be released.

We have to consider the time difference, so we’ll use Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). For instance, if you think the pictures will be posted on Sunday morning in New Zealand (GMT+12), that will be Saturday in GMT. Make sense? Don’t worry about the math, LOL! Just guess and have fun.


Please, no wagering. 😉

This entry was posted in Polls, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Prediction time: When will Thorin appear?

  1. Traxy says:

    If there are only three dwarves left to reveal, then my vote’s for tomorrow (Friday), as I think they’ve been revealing a few every day this week. I doubt they’d have Thorin as just him on a photo, I think he’d be with at least one other, but as they’ve released them in batches of two or three and only three left, then … tomorrow. Because today has already had a picture revealed? (Or maybe I’m wrong and it’s just that the blog posts I read tend to have something new every day!)

    • bccmee says:

      Of course I have no inside information but I think–at least I hope that Thorin will appear alone. Today’s picture hasn’t been revealed, but if anyone thinks Thorin will show up today, they can choose “Other.” This will be a short poll if that happens, LOL! 😀

  2. Musa says:

    I don’t know if they would have just Thorin, but it makes sense that they would since he’s their leader, and related to several of the dwarves. I think they’ll release the photo of the ones left today, and then Thorin on Friday. Hope we get the reveal of Thorin one way or another 🙂

  3. Alfie says:

    I voted sunday – I thought it could be a good day to publish
    big news – We are all at home, doing nothing but read the net and the papers 🙂

  4. Eileen says:

    Indeed, the best is saved for last.,,and Richard IS the best. I, for one, would like the suspense to continue. I’m sure I’m in the minority, though:/

  5. SaraD says:

    Strange enough, I’m liking the suspence for once! Anyway I believe there is a scheme in the revelation of dwarves which follows the first chapter and that for this reason he’ll show up at last and alone……. I think we should see him by next Wednesday at last….. But I won’t complain if he comes out earlier!!!

  6. Kaprekar says:

    I voted Friday but this is more wishful thinking than anything.

  7. IngeD3 says:

    I voted Friday as well. If PJ continues the publication of dwarf pictures, we will see Dwalin and Balin somewhere today – as they are brothers, they will appear in the same picture.
    And then Thorin will be revealed on Friday. Although, as Kaprekar said, this could all just be wishful thinking… and PJ may want to build up the excitement for a few more days…
    All I know is: whenever it does happen, it will make my day!! x

    • miss_talitha says:

      I agree with you, because of the expectation of their fans could wait until Monday to reveal the king under the mountain

  8. CDoart says:

    I voted for Friday as well, as I think they want to use the whole weekend time of fan communication to talk about nothing else. At the beginning of the week, some people would have to work eventually and less communication would be the result. So far my really down to earth and boring reasoning. Hopefully, some parts of RA will be recognizable under all that beard, hair and mask. That is all I wish for, if with others or alone on the foto, this alone would make me happy ;o)

  9. Eva says:

    I voted Friday. I just hope it will be before Monday as my summer leave ends on Monday and I need something to cheer me up. Like CDoart, I am also hoping that Richard will be recognizable!

  10. PoliCBA says:

    I voted for Sunday, but, of course, I hope the promo picture be released tomorrow.

    A picture of Thorin would make me hugely happy, but would I be asking for too much if I also wanted a picture of Lee Pace as the Elf Thranduil? 😉

    I LOVE the king of the dwarves, but I confess I have a crush on the king of the elves 🙂

  11. bccmee says:

    Hmm…you all have interesting reasoning for your guesses. I might reveal my vote when it’s over, LOL! I am so often wrong, it’s stunning! 😀 😀 😀

  12. Carolyn says:

    I voted Friday, but that is just wishful thinking and IF they post the two brothers today. I think that Thorin will be by himself. They will probably make us wait if they have any idea how much we are wanting to see him!

  13. Grace says:

    Hi Bcc Mee and Ladies.

    Just looking at the “news cycle” in terms of media stories, I’d guess that the remaining “lesser dwarves” will be revealed on Friday. And that will take us into the weekend chatting about them.

    However, the weekend is a bit of a “dead zone” in terms of media promotion and advertising. So, I’m guessing that PJ won’t reveal Thorin’s look then.

    PJ will want to roll out Thorin with a lot of fan fare and have it percolate throughout the week. So, I voted for Monday for that reason. I can’t wait to see Richard as Thorin! I’m sure Richard will look just as amazing as his acting will be BRILLIANT!

    Best wishes, Grace

    P . S. Can you tell that my degrees were in Communication? Ha! Of course, PJ isn’t necessarily predictable with regard to his Hobbit promotions. So, he could prove me wrong and do it this weekend. Ha!

  14. Ana Cris says:

    Hi bccmee
    I voted on Friday for Thorin arrives after Bifur, Bofur and Bombur, like at Hobbit.
    I think they will release first the two dwarves (Dwalin e Balin) and Thorin will have a picture of yourself alone.
    Thanks for pictures CA

  15. Lady Rose says:

    I’m going with Saturday. Just cause…I actually don’t have a reason. Not being a very committed RA stalker, I really have no idea. 😛

  16. Ania says:

    I voted Friday. But to tell the truth, my choice is inspired by my impatience, than the correct „analysis of the subject” 😉

  17. I voted Saturday but I think Sunday would be a good day (media wise), so Monday buzz would be about Thorin’s pic.

    OML 🙂

  18. bccmee says:

    Oooh, I wonder if any picture will be posted today! The time of day of the promo pics released so far has been rather sporadic and without much pattern.

    Here’s a snapshot of the results at this point:

    Friday: 33%
    Saturday: 13%
    Sunday: 14%
    Monday: 24%
    Other: 16%

    It’s very fascinating to read all your comments. Lots of thought is going into most of your predictions!

  19. I voted for Monday. We are so used to suffering that I doubt it comes out earlier LOL

  20. bccmee says:

    As I write this, there has been no new dwarf picture today (Thursday) to the best of my knowledge. It’s been over 24 hours since the last promo pic. What do you think? Maybe all 3 remaining dwarfs on Friday? Saturday? Sunday? Monday? Other?

    Have to admit, I’m very excited about seeing Thorin in focus!

    • Musa says:

      Yep, doesn’t look promising for today, that’s true. I wonder, what is the master plan for releasing the dwarf pics? Hope they do release Thorin’s pic after Balin and Dwalin and not make us wait too long 🙂

  21. bccmee says:

    Here’s another snapshot for Friday morning, New York City time:

    Friday: 32%
    Saturday 14%
    Sunday 14%
    Monday 22%
    Other 18%

    As you may know, two more dwarfs were posted, leaving only Thorin. Now things heat up! Looks like Thorin will appear alone, unless Peter Jackson has a surprise up his sleeve. 🙂

  22. Pingback: Hobbit Update: I’m sure you’ve heard…Balin and Dwalin have been unveiled « Befuddled Musings

  23. Lesley says:

    I’m hoping for today really but I voted for Saturday – things tend to go a bit quiet over the weekend. Also wondered if he might appear with Bilbo perhaps

  24. I find it really amusing that PJ is copying you Bccmee: “A photo a day” … to keep the fandom …awake? I think he will let us suffer for the weekend and will release the leader of the dwarves by monday *sigh*

  25. bccmee says:

    We’re getting lots of exciting Richard Armitage news bites! I’m still recovering from the new beard pictures. The poll remains open. I suppose the pictures could be posted anytime. Who knows? It’s all a guessing game!

    @Cristina: LOL re: PJ copying me!

  26. Well, well, well… Its Saturday over here and still no trace of Thorin. Do you think PJ is one of those bosses who makes people work on Sundays? LOL. It looks like Monday is the new Throrinday LOL

  27. bccmee says:

    I do wonder….time is stretching out. Good thing we have lots to keep us occupied. 🙂

    Here’s a new snapshot as of noontime Saturday in New York City:

    Friday: 26%
    Saturday: 20%
    Sunday: 15%
    Monday: 23%
    Other: 15%

    Ooh, things look interesting!

  28. NovemberBride says:

    Sticking w/my Sunday vote. Probably wrong, but like you said, it’s always a “stunning” wrong!!! LOL! And isn’t all of this fun?! =o)

  29. bccmee says:

    Time for another snapshot. It’s noon in New York City as I write this.

    Friday: 24%
    Saturday: 18%
    Sunday: 15%
    Monday: 25%
    Other: 18%

    We’ll all be winners when that promo picture of Thorin is posted! 😀

  30. bccmee says:

    Okay, the winner is Sunday! Thanks to everyone for playing and congratulations to the minority who guessed correctly. 🙂

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.

