Thorin wallpaper

Have you recovered from the flurry of Richard Armitage excitement? In the past few days we’ve had the Heinz Kruger interview, new Captain America promo pictures, the Project magazine photos (with beard!) and of course the reveal of Thorin Oakenshield. If you missed any of these news tidbits, you can find the details at RichardArmitageNet.Com.

With the new Thorin picture, I couldn’t wait to get started on some graphics. Here of course is the Thorin Oakenshield promo shot:

Richard Armitage as Thorin

And here is my first Thorin Oakenshield wallpaper (click to view full size):

bccmee's Thorin wallpaper


Before beginning the graphic, I first had to shake myself out of my amazement-induced haze. 😉

When I was able to start work, I extended Thorin’s sword using the Clone tool.

Then I added two stock images:

Mountains Gray cumulus clouds

These stock images were layered over Thorin and much of it was masked out (erased) so we could see his visage!

Since I wanted the sense of motion in this graphic, I cut out and duplicated the sword several times and applied a blur. Next I rotated the blurred swords. Using a brush from Photoshop’s “Assorted” collection, I added the sparkle along the horizon so it kisses both Orcrist the sword and the mountain range.

Finally, I added the text “My path is the sword-path” using the Burtinomatic and Avalon Quest fonts. The quote is from The Lords of the North by Bernard Cornwell, read by Richard Armitage.  🙂

Here are the matching siggie and avatar:

bccmee Thorin sword-path siggie     bccmee sword-path Thorin avatar


Bonus Graphics

In case you missed these on facebook or RichardArmitageNet.Com, here are two Richard Armitage wallpapers I created a few days ago. Please click for full size (1600 x 900 pixels).

bccmee Project magazine wallpaper

bccmee primal urges wallpaper

Yes, I am a fan of Richard Armitage in a beard!

This entry was posted in Graphics and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

59 Responses to Thorin wallpaper

  1. Musa says:

    I love the wallpaper of Uhtred, I mean Thorin 🙂 😉

    I’m amazed at how you made Orcrist in motion. I’m tempted to have it as my office PC wallpaper to wake me up in the morning, but I know it will raise questions …better not… yet.

    All are wonderful, but the Primal Urges one is also favorite!

    Thank you B!

    • bccmee says:

      Uhtred is one of my favorite Richard Armitage roles, Musa. He really performs that book!

      Haha, well I think the wallpaper can cross gender boundaries. At least I like to think so! 😀

  2. Phylly3 says:

    Beautiful work (as always). I love them all, but the way you made RA pop out of the article is my fave!

  3. Violet says:

    Nice wallpapers and header!

  4. judiang says:

    Those are gorgeous. Again, fabulous work. And the beardy ones are just b- b- b- I’m standing firm! 😀

  5. Ania says:

    Gorgeous wallpapers ! I love it! I really like, the combination of images of mountains and clouds.
    P.S.
    What lovely new banner 🙂 RA looks almost in 3D (although, I miss it a little his flirtatious glances from the Hobbit interview 😉 )

    • bccmee says:

      Thanks for such a lovely comment, Ania. I’m glad you like the composition of the Thorin wallpaper. Regarding the banner, I think RA looks great in 3D!

  6. JasminaNinde says:

    :):):):)Love love love this wallpapers, very amazing work:):):):)

  7. Julie Labes says:

    What fun it must be creating this. They are amazing. As someone who has trouble with stick men, i have the highest regard for all artists.of all kinds

    Julie Labes: The Fun-Loving, Feisty, Fearless, Frisky, Fierce Over 50 Traveler

    • bccmee says:

      I appreciate your generous comment, Julie, but I have to confess I don’t know how to draw. I just make composites. 🙂

      Wow, I’m spilling a lot of secrets today. Must be the Beard Effect!

  8. Brilliant work B! You’re the queen of Photoshop! I also love that Lords of the North quote (Richard’s reading of that book is brilliant!) – it fits so well with this image. Apparently RA did a little study of Viking berserkers in preparation for the Hobbit fighting scenes. Can’t for the life of me remember where I read this (could have dreamt it, I guess) but it does seem so like RA that it must be true – right? Ten-out-of-ten yet again 🙂

  9. Thais says:

    Both wallpapers are amazing, Bccmee!!! Great talent you have! =D I particularly liked the second one (sword path). Something about the lights is just awesome!!! Thanks for sharing.

    • bccmee says:

      Thank you, Thais! By the way, the top image is the promo picture and not my work. I used it as the base of my wallpaper, in case there is any confusion. 🙂

      I very much appreciate you taking the time to leave a comment!

  10. Lady Rose says:

    I ADORE the wallpapers! They’re lovely!
    I’m with you, RA looks very sexy in a beard. 🙂

  11. Carolyn says:

    Awesome wallpapers, Bcc! Gorgeous Thorin! Amazing effects you added with the sword. I am loving the beard, too!

  12. Ana Cris says:

    Hi Bccmee,
    Great graphics. Uhtred is one of my favorite characters and then we got the picture of Thorin, I put them together! I did only a small change in my mind at your graphics. First, Armitage with the coat and then he taking off his coat. Suggesting …. Well, best forgotten!
    Put the jacket again! :0)

    • bccmee says:

      Uhtred admirers unite! We should form a shield wall. 😉

      Haha, I wonder if RA is supposed to be putting on or taking off his coat in that Project magazine picture. 😉

  13. mersguy says:

    Wallpapers are amazing, yes I’m also a fan of the beard soooo sexy. The RA drought is over!!!

  14. Meryl says:

    the banner is smashin’, so are the wallpapers! I don’t like bearded men as a rule~but for Richard I’m making an exception{am sure he would be thrilled to know this!!!!!!}
    The Project photo shoot pics are Richard looking hot, yes, even with him working the dratted beard!
    thanks B

  15. You are so freaking talented!! To overlay the stock photos and blur the sword — I would not have the first clue as to how to do such things! Love what you did with the sword pic, but I must say, I think he looks beyond gorgeous with the short cropped beard!

    Very very cool graphics talent you have!

    Heidi & Atticus
    http://www.atticusuncensored.com
    “commentary to give you paws…”

    • bccmee says:

      Thanks for your generous comment, Heidi & Atticus! Have to admit, I just play around till it looks right. Is there such a thing as “random acts of talent?” 😉

  16. yoko says:

    Wow, they are all GORGEOUS! Could I possibly introduce them on my blog, with your credit?

  17. Jennie says:

    gorgeous Thorin wallie Bee!

    Must admit when I spotted that pic on TORn I felt pole-axed too!…..your treatment of it is brilliant…you even make Orcrist move!

    • bccmee says:

      RA’s transformation is remarkable, isn’t it, Jennie? I was truly stunned when I saw that promo picture. Thanks so much for your sweet comment! Glad you like the sword action. 😉

  18. Beachbaby says:

    I just love the Thorin sig & avi. They are just gorgeous. Hope you don’t mind if I use them (with credit of course!). They will replace my current Lucas sig & glove gif avi which you also made. 🙂

    • bccmee says:

      Oooh, I would be thrilled for you to wear this set, Beachbaby! As far as I know, you’re the only one. Thanks for your comment and continued support!

  19. AmeliaWatson says:

    What a BEAUTIFUL wallpaper!
    You are truly talented!
    Thank You so Much for making my laptop screen really amazingly looking now. 😉

  20. HellsBells says:

    Brilliant, fanatastic, amazing, wonderful, awsome……so many words to describe your Thorin wallpaper. These wallpapers are definitely art and you are a very talented artist!!

  21. I am so intrigued by the focus of your art and the creative process you go through. You have introduced me to a whole new world (RA and otherwise!).

    Judy Stone-Goldman
    The Reflective Writer
    http://www.thereflectivewriter.com/blog/
    “Word maven loves–and learns from–ordinary life.”

    • bccmee says:

      Your comment made me laugh, Judy. Yeah, RA has a certain effect on some of us in the world. It’s probably safer for him that not everyone reacts the same way, LOL!

  22. grazia says:

    I find your work and your dedication exciting. Excuse for English, I got help from google translator. Here in Italy we have a voice actor with a deep voice like is and I hope you will use it instead of that awful Robin Hood used to. I look forward to seeing Thorin because I think that his interpretation is longer and more intense: I have the screen saver full of your pictures that often leave you scroll through the evening before falling asleep: Richard is wonderful, has become a MAN. sensual, intens, but discreet.
    You can not find it too?

    • bccmee says:

      Thank you so very much for your comment, grazia! Yes, I understand you perfectly. Richard Armitage has an appeal that crosses international boundaries. *sigh* He definitely appeals to me as an American and I know that there are women all around the world who are fans. He is definitely improving with age. I love the beard … he looks so grown up with it!

  23. Laine Dakin says:

    You know I wouldn’t have recognized him in his Thorin guise ~ very good. Sometimes an actors actual identity almost spoils his role but in this case the image he creates is very strong. You’re “how to’s” are always so thorough and well thought how. I think RA’s publicist /agent should give you a job.

    Laine D.
    “Aspire to Inspire”
    http://www.ThoughtsfromABroad.net

  24. Oh wow, that looks awesome! You are such a gifted artist, beautiful job 🙂
    L O V E I T ! !
    Franziska San Pedro
    The Abstract Impressionist Artress

  25. Kathryn Gaul says:

    You’ve done it once again, bccmee……given us some gorgeous photos, wallpapers and signatures to drool over. Thank you so much. Now, ladies, can you match or beat me…I’m a senior citizen with a son who’s 5 months older than Richard, and I’ve been following his career and been madly besotted with him since 2002!

  26. Kathryn Gaul says:

    Do you have a copy of the DVD, “Star Wars: The Phantom Menace”? If you look at it very, very closely (love the pause button!), you may be able to pick out which pilot looks like Richard in a few scenes. It’s a pity that his 1- 2 line/s were cut from the final production as his wonderful voice would have made him so much easier to find under the uniform!

    • bccmee says:

      Yes, I’ve got that and have spotted Richard Armitage with very careful viewing. If I recall, he’s usually just behind Natalie Portman. 🙂

  27. Pingback: Bccmee: A fellow blogger’s gracious farewell, 09/25/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #278) | Something About Love (A)

  28. Pingback: Happy Armitage Day!

  29. Pingback: Richard Armitage’s Popcorn Taxi Hobbit Viewing Q & A Clip has a few Surprises such as Bccmee’s Thorin Wallpaper, May 7, 2013 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #407) | Something About Love (A)

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.

