Graphic a Day in May 2012 – Day 20

Welcome to the 20th Graphic a Day in May! 😀

Since it’s Sunday, I thought it would be nice to have another John Thornton graphic. As a reminder, there is going to be a worldwide group watch of North & South starting June 1 and details can be found here: N&S Group Watch.

Today’s image and song recommendations come to us courtesy of Kathleen. Thank you so much for your contributions, Kathleen!

Here’s your base image:

Screencap courtesy of RichardArmitageNet.Com

Here’s your graphic for today:


Reflections

When she requested the graphic, Kathleen wrote, “And the song, Sting’s Mad About You. It has a line in it ‘Never in my life have I felt more alone than I do now’. Maybe John is feeling a like that looking out the window at Margaret.” Here’s the link to the song: “Mad About You” – Sting. When I saw the screencap, I asked, “I’ve always wondered whose tongue prints are on the window glass. Are they on the inside or the outside?”

Using the window theme, I decided to make a bit of a storyboard siggie. When I watch North & South, I notice how often characters stand in front of windows.

I used the following screencap for the window panes:

I cut out all four panes of glass. Then I placed the base image in one pane and found the following three images to fill out the rest:

Using the Clone tool, I removed Mrs. Thornton. With the Match Color command, I did some color correcting. The word “Reflections” was written in the ChopinScript font. I then duplicated the text layer, rasterized it, rotated and blurred it so it would appear as if it was reflecting on the glass. You may have noticed I also added the curtains to each of the four panes to give the graphic continuity.

If you were Margaret Hale, what would you do about the elder Mrs. Thornton once you married John? Also, whose tongue prints are those on the window glass? 😛 Those might be good questions for the N&S group watch, LOL! 😉

Thanks for all your input and I’ll see you tomorrow.

This entry was posted in Collaborative Project, Graphics, richard armitage and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Graphic a Day in May 2012 – Day 20

  1. Holliday says:

    Beautifully done siggie. I like the whole effect.

    Much as I hate to admit this, I haven’t seen North and South yet. I just bought it on DVD, but haven’t had the chance to sit down and watch it yet. I plan to rectify that today.

  2. Kate Patrick says:

    I’m loving it! His intensity is tangible in these pictures. Love it. Have a great week! 🙂

  3. Kathleen says:

    This is terrific, Bcc! What a great representation of John’s moods in one graphic. Thanks so much for all of your work but this one is really special.

    • bccmee says:

      @Kathleen: I do enjoy looking at John Thornton through windows. There’s something about it…. *sigh* Delighted you enjoyed your graphic. 😀

  4. Leigh Vondereau says:

    Lovely graphic, and the song choice is well matched to it. As for the elder Mrs. Thornton, I’d probably kill her with kindness and show her that her son hadn’t married a wuss or a ditz. The tongue prints are those of child(ren) of the person who cleans the office, playing at catching the first snowflakes before their parent notices what they’ve done. [In real life, how big was the director’s dog?]

  5. cdoart says:

    Thank you, Kathleen and bccmee, for the wonderful JT for Sunday. 4 times magnificent ;o)

  6. lovemrthornton says:

    I dig it, I dig it, I dig it!!! Hey. How do I download it? Is it a copy and paste or do you have a link to photobucket for your sigs? I’d love to use this as an email signature for my personal notes to friends.

    • bccmee says:

      @lovemrthornton: If you right-click the image, a popout menu will appear. Then you can select “Save image as” or “Save picture as” to save it to your hard drive. After that, you can put it in your email signature or upload it to your own photobucket account. 🙂 Glad you like it, thanks!

      • lovemrthornton says:

        Easy peasy, thanks! I’m accustomed to having to go to “Photobucket,” from my past experiences with siggy creators on cafemom.com. Thanks for making it so easy. This is wonderful.

      • lovemrthornton says:

        Um, I hate to point out the obvious, but were I in poor Margaret’s shoes regarding the elder Mrs. T …. I’d leave it up to my husband John Thornton to deal with his mother and broker the peace. One lesson I learned from experience — a real man worth his salt will always back his wife so there’s no question he no longer “cleaves” to Mommy. And from what we know about Dear John, I am certain he is more than up to that task. 😀

        That’s probably too much of a detour from discussing the beautiful graphic we have here, but BCC asked the question, so those are my 2 cents! (pence? 🙂

  7. Thaís says:

    I love John Thornton. Who doesn’t, right! Well done, Bccmee! My day’s better because of your siggie! 🙂 Answering your question, I’d try to be the best daughter-in-law I could be since John loves his mother and has a lot of respect for her. Have a great week everyone!!!

  8. Judit says:

    How extraordinarily gorgeous this sig is. Beautiful choice of picture, Kathleen. Bcc, your creativity never ceases to amaze me! How would I “tame” the older Mrs.Thornton? I’d try to have his son’s babies as soon as possible hoping that having grandchildren would mellow her attitude towards me! 😉

  9. Ania says:

    Stunning graphics, Bccmee! Love it!
    As for the elder Mrs.Thornton, I think I’d buy for her trip around the world. 😉 And as for the tongue prints on the glass, well, those are traces of Mr. Thornton’s forehead when too intensely watched Margaret and he probably forgot about closed windows. 😉

  10. titianminx says:

    So clever and so beautifully done. Stunning graphic B. Big thanks from me making May a RA month!!

  11. jeanniegisborne says:

    Beautiful selection, Kathleen, both music and man! Love the siggie, B 🙂

  12. beengizzied says:

    Team Day 20 gives us John Thornton – awwww, bless his extra large cotton socks.

    I think Frederick should find Mrs Thornton a nice bungalow in Spain for her retirement years.

  13. Emma says:

    Excellent choice, Kathleen. Bccmee, one of your best!

  14. What an excellent idea to use the window panes ! Thornton is so often looking through a window in N&S 😉

  15. Carolyn says:

    A very lovely siggie of our man Thornton! Thank you!

  16. Mezz says:

    This is beautiful. Fabulous result bcc and kathleen!

  17. april73 says:

    Great pic choice Kathleen and bravo Bccmee for the beautiful “North and South” siggie 🙂

  18. Beachbaby says:

    Another great sig today. It really is beautiful and great choice of pic (and music) Kathleen.
    Tongue prints? I hadn’t realised the marks were made “with tongues” 🙂
    And Mrs T the elder? Goodness what a dilemma!

  19. bccmee says:

    @Everyone: Hope you’re going to join the N&S group watch whether it will be your 1st time or your 100th! I think I’ve seen it about 4 times so it’s still pretty fresh. John Thornton really does convey an intensity!

    Great ideas for how to handle the mother-in-law situation! “Kill her with kindness,” let JT back up his wife, be the best daughter-in-law ever, buy her a trip around the world, or ship her off to Spain with Frederick are some possibilities. Having lots of babies is an interesting strategy, LOL!

    I enjoyed reading your theories on the tongue prints too. Not sure what they really are but it’s fun to speculate. I’m sure it wasn’t mentioned in the DVD extras. 😉

    Thanks again for all your thoughtful and kind comments!

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.

