October animated gif challenge – day 14

Smolder, smolder, smolder! Nobody can smolder like Richard Armitage’s John Thornton.

Richard Armitage as John Thornton

Screencap courtesy of RichardArmitageNet.Com

Hard to believe how incredibly different the actor looks and sounds compared to his character when watching the DVD extras on North & South.

Richard Armitage DVD extras

Screencap courtesy of RichardArmitageNet.Com N&Sextras

Today’s animated gif comes to us at the request of my real-life sister, love4ot. She makes me proud! I couldn’t have ordered a better sister even if I had a catalog to choose from. ♥

Here is your animated gif:

Richard Armitage as John Thornton

John Thorton lived life with passion and never more so than in his pursuit of Margaret. I love this scene of JT walking purposely through the cotton mill.

Thanks, sis!

This entry was posted in Animated GIFs, Graphics and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to October animated gif challenge – day 14

  1. April says:

    Great gif Bccmee !!!

  2. ayyp says:

    I love your animated gif!! Thank you, bcc mee!! 🙂

  3. jules says:

    Wow!!! what a contrast…yet again the eyes have it…John Thornton’s eyes are so dark and smouldering but in the interview we see Richard with his cheeky smiling eyes…Your sister has excellent taste ‘B’ wish I had a sis…I may have to order one…on the other hand I wouldn’t mind ordering a Richard instead xxxx

  4. jazzbaby1 says:

    Love the gif!

    Re: Ordering people from catalogs…the Sears catalog archivist has at least one letter from someone trying to order “the gentleman on page 13.”

    • jules says:

      giggles jazzbaby1….I thought I was cRAzy…I would love to know who the gentleman on page13 was…oh my imagination is starting to run wild again…could you imagine a Richard catalogue..sorry ‘B’ that maybe your next challenge

    • bccmee says:

      @jazzbaby1: Brilliant story! Should be a movie like The Shop Around the Corner or something. ♥

  5. GratianaDS90 says:

    Another great animated gif, BccMee!
    I love JT’s purposeful and commanding stride. John Thornton was my first introduction to Richard Armitage–and I was quite swept off my feel. Ha! Richard does transform himself for his characters. He is such an exquisitely chameleon like and authentic actor and an amazing storyteller–of which we are all so grateful.
    Cheers! Grati ;->

    • bccmee says:

      I can’t improve on what you said, GratianaDS90! John Thornton was very powerful and yet vulnerable… the perfect blend. *sigh*

      Thank you so much for comment and your support of the RA community. 🙂

  6. Elaine says:

    There is such a lovely flow to this gif! I happened to be listening to “Ain’t No Sunshine” being played by David Garrett (speaking of HOT) on my iPod as I watched this gif – and thought of JT missing Margaret. Poor baby. But then it all worked out so nicely, didn’t it?! Happy weekend everyone.

    • bccmee says:

      Oh interesting song, Elaine! I’m going to hunt that down and play it while watching the animated gif. Thanks for the suggestion. 🙂

      Happy weekend to you too.

  7. Ana Cris says:

    Congratulations Bcc, this scene is classic!
    I also have a sister of gold. She is my best friend. ;0)

  8. Lady Prisca says:

    This scene is so romantic and mysterious ( a black shadow in the white mist of cotton) that it’s a great idea to use it in a gif. Me too I’m amazed to see how Richard can be so different men (always with credibility). I love him more because of that. Richard don’t perform Richard he perform his character…he is his character from his toes to his hair. Good request Love40t , wonderful animated gif Bccmee , thank you.

  9. Ania says:

    Oh I love Mr. Thornton♥ and I love this gif♥
    P.S.
    love4ot thank you for an excellent suggestion, and Bccmee for magnificent gif, you are an amazing duo 🙂

  10. What a fabulous gif! And your contrast pics of John and Richard are truly inspired. I have three sisters and love them all! Two of whom understand my passion for Mr. Armitage, so I get what you mean! There should be a Sister’s Day:-))

    • bccmee says:

      Well two out of three ain’t bad, Jeannie! 😉 I’m in agreement that there should be a Sister’s Day. I feel fortunate indeed! Thanks so much for all your support.

  11. mersguy says:

    Fabulous work again B, Richard constantly amazes me with his acting abilities, a true craftsman.
    I love to see Richard in full stride – he can make any action look incredibly sexy!
    John Thornton was truly a break through role for Richard. Enjoy the w/end everyone.

    • bccmee says:

      Even though we seldom see his whole body, perhaps because of his height, Richard Armitage characters carry themselves well. Look at the posture and the proud profile! He does look very sexy doing just about any everyday task, mersguy! Thanks so much for your thoughtful comment. 🙂

  12. CDoart says:

    What purposeful stride towards new roles to keep the female part of the world happy ;o)
    Thank you, bccmee and love4ot ! Wonderful choice !

    • bccmee says:

      John Thornton knows how to move and John Thornton knows how to move me, LOL!

      What a lovely sentiment to see this as symbolic of Richard Armitage’s ever-widening body of work, CDoart. 😀

  13. Ah! Thornton’s so niiiice. 🙂

  14. Teuchter says:

    John Thornton and North and South! I remember seeing him walking through his mill in profile for the first time and he fairly took my breath away. N&S was also my first introduction to Richard Armitage and I never tire of watching it. It’s been wonderful getting to “know” him in so many wonderful roles over the years. So thank you to two wonderful sisters for today’s gif!! Being an only child I often wondered what it would be like to have a sister or a brother.

    • Teuchter says:

      Sorry! I meant to add that I love watching scenes where he is either walking or running.! He moves his body in such an amazing way! 😀

    • bccmee says:

      Wow, I just audibly sighed, Teuchter! Yes, JT’s profile does look so amazing. And North & South is exceedingly well-written. It will live on for more and more people to discover.

      I’m sure there have been times when my sister and I wondered what it was like to be an only child, LOL! I love her to bits though and wouldn’t trade her for the world. Thanks so much for your sweet comment. 🙂

  15. This gif is extra special cause if not for MY sis my meeting of Mr. Thornton would have been even later (with a love of period drama I deem the meet an inevitability) Though I suspect she wishes at times she had kept him for herself. 😉

  16. Pamela says:

    He’s in a league of his own! Love it, Bccmee 🙂

  17. Alfie says:

    Yes there is really passion behind that stride. Adore your gif.
    Ra looks so young in the picture from the interview 😉

  18. Thanks bccmee for the wonderfully romantic gif! I failed to thank you for the past two days’ gifs due to the hectic schedule but I enjoyed them immensely, too!

    • bccmee says:

      Oh thank you so much for your continued support, grendel’s mum! You are very kind and I have been peeking at your lovely Japanese blog often. I appreciate all you do!

  19. This gif is beautiful!
    The cotton snow is one of the most evocative images of the TV series. I will never forget it.
    I will love JT forever for his brooding, for the unusual way of holding his teacup, but also for the passion he has for his job.

    • bccmee says:

      It really is a powerful visual image, Carla. Such a well-done mini-series in every way. I’m so glad they cast Richard Armitage as John Thornton. Such a lucky break for him and us! 🙂

  20. love4ot says:

    Hi! I finally made it to the site to see the gif you made me and the other 12 I have missed! I am getting ready for THREE mid-terms next week and resource book that I have to put together by Monday.

    I love the gif very much and love the saying below. It means a lot to me that you did this on such a special day to us both.

    I am so glad to have you in my life; you being my sister makes my life more joyful (and sometimes just bearable) every day. I’m glad we talk so much 🙂

    LOVE YOU LOADS!

    • bccmee says:

      Hey sis! I’m glad you were able to make it as I know how crazy busy you are. *HUGS*

      You will rock your exams and assignments, I’m sure of it!

      I’m thrilled to have you as my sister too…otherwise we may never have met, LOL! I am your obsessive fan as you know.

      I love you too!

  21. Lady Rose says:

    *squee*
    That scene gave me chills. Lovely job, as usual!

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.

