The Sound of Richard

Note from bccmee: Welcome to Thursday! Today I’m honored to have a guest composer. She is a regular commenter on our blog and you know her as beengizzied. Thank you very much for your musical and whimsical interlude, beengizzied.

Hope you enjoy her Richard Armitage photo essay! 😉


When the dog bites
When the bee stings
When I’m feeling sad
I simply remember my favourite things…

My Favourite Things

Raindrops on roses

Whiskers on kittens

Then

Now

Bright copper kettles

Warm [leather] mittens

Brown paper packages tied up with strings

These are a few of my favourite things

Cream coloured ponies

Crisp apple strudels

Doorbells

Sleigh bells

Schnitzel with noodles

Wild geese that fly with the moon on their wings
Richard Armitage as John Porter helicopter gif

These are a few of my favourite things

Girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes

Snowflakes that stay on my nose and eye lashes

Silver white winters that melt into spring

These are a few of my favourite things

So …

When the dog bites
When the bee stings
When I’m feeling sad

I simply remember my favourite things

… And then I don’t feel so bad.


From bccmee again: Big thanks to beengizzied for this special treat. I have a question for all of you: What is a song you know all the lyrics to? Can you think of a line that would apply to Richard Armitage or one of his characters?

This entry was posted in richard armitage, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to The Sound of Richard

  1. jazzbaby1 says:

    Love this, beengizzied! Hmm, a song I know all the lyrics to…the first one that comes to mind is “Sheena is a Punk Rocker” by the Ramones but I don’t know that any of those lyrics would apply to Richard unless he is, in fact, a teenaged girl from 1970s NYC who hates disco.

  2. kathryngaul says:

    What a wonderful post! Thank you…I’m grinning from ear to ear 🙂

  3. april73 says:

    What a wonderful post Beengizzied, bravo !!! 🙂

  4. Judit says:

    Awwwww… how cute is this post, beengizzied! Thank you so much! I know all the lyrics to “Be My Valentine” by Tim McMorris, Bccmee, because I must have watched the video you made to it like a million times and I think the song suits Mr. A to a T! “Life is wonderful ’cause you shine through/There’s no one that makes me feel like you do”, “And I’ll sing because you’re beautiful in all that you are/Like a clear night sky graced by a shooting bright star” I absolutely adore both the song and the video! 🙂

  5. Emma says:

    So fun and clever, beengizzied. Thank you for sharing!

    bccmee – When i first heard the lyrics to Taylor Swift’s “Long Live”, I immediately thought of Richard as Thorin in The Hobbit, with his merry band of dwarves, hobbit, and wizard. – “Long live all the mountains we moved/ I had the time of my life fighting dragons with you”

  6. jasrangoon says:

    Great post Beengizzied! Now anytime I end up with this song in my head (it does happen) I’ll think of Richard! 🙂

  7. ItsJSforMe says:

    Brilliant, bgz!!!!! Very cute. 🙂

  8. cdoart says:

    Wonderful song-RA connection, beengizzied! Thank you!
    Bccmee, sorry, I can’t help with the song. I was whistling all my childhood and just did not so much care for lyrics, so the only songs I know the full text of, are either choir songs for church or short children’s songs and I can’t associate RA with either of them ;o)
    But I heard a song lately, which reminded me of Guy of Gisborne and his difficult relationship to Marian ;o)

  9. Chrissy says:

    Well that’s certainly brightened my day BccMee …. lovely!!

  10. Well that is just too funny @beengizzied! A very good take on S&M as Christopher Plummer likes to call it 😉 Makes me wanna run in the hills with Standring unless @ItsJSforMe beat me to it 🙂

  11. Snicker's Mom says:

    very cute!

  12. Lady Prisca says:

    Very delicious post beengizzied! Good choice of pics and words. Thank you for this sweet and poetic moment.

    There’s a lot of songs that would apply to Richard or one of his characters. Actually I try to associate songs with my drawings.
    For example for Guy and , as cdoart has said , his difficult relationship with Marian , I thought of “If is there any justice in the world” by Lamar.
    This is the link to the drawing and the lyrics of the song.
    http://imagesia.com/save0048g_m6z

    For this pic I’ve immediately thought of the song “I just want to make love to you” by Etta James.
    http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/Spooks/spookspromo/album/slides/series9-33.html
    This is the lyrics (and my drawing) :
    http://imagesia.com/6ch8njdqbt-b_m83

    I think about french songs too.

  13. Delia LaFanetta says:

    Brilliant post beengizzied!
    BccMee: the song that came in my mind is Simple Man (Lynyrd Skynyrd but the Shinedown’s cover) and I imagine Mrs Thornton say all those thing to John…He is a simple but charming man!

  14. titianminx says:

    This is soo beautiful, lovely, gorgeous and cute! Wonderful post beengizzied thank you. The only song that comes to mind is “Do I Have To Say The Words” by Bryan Adams.

  15. Luciana says:

    How nice to be back home from my vacation and enjoy this blog again!!!
    Lovely post!!! Thanks Bcc and beengizzied!!

  16. “One Headlight” by The Wallflowers always makes me think of Guy in season three.
    “I’m so alone, and I feel just like somebody else/Man, I ain’t changed, but I know I ain’t the same/But somewhere here in between the city walls of dyin’ dreams/I think her death it must be killin’ me”

  17. beengizzied says:

    I think the N&S group watch put me in such a “cute” mood. Once the line “Whiskers on kittens” popped into my head with beardy Richard (he’s such a kitten!) it was a short mental leap to the warm leather mittens etc.
    Think of a line from a song that applies to RA, bccmee? Now that’s a red rag to a bull lol:
    John Thornton: I’m puttin’ on my top hat … I’m duding up my shirt front … (Irving Berlin)
    Ricky: Take the world in a love embrace. Fire all you guns at once. And explode into space … (Steppenwolf)
    John Standring: And on that farm he had some sheep, Ee-i-ee-i-o … (ItsJSforMe I presume)
    Lucas: But it’s plain to see, I’m not the man I used to be … (Fine Young Cannibals)
    John Porter : I am the Great White Hunter and you know I’ve come to search … (Zounds)
    Guy of Gisborne: Sittin’ here eatin’ my heart out baby … Lookin’ for some hot stuff … (Donna Summer)

    • bccmee says:

      @beengizzied: You are such a cutie-pie! 😉 Your songs would make a great concert. Where’s my pitch pipe? I think Thorin has it.

    • phylly3 says:

      I am so jealous! I love this post so much I wish i’d thought of it myself — or had you post it on my blog! 😉
      i know so many lyrics and a lot of them could remind me of RA but the one that springs to mind is “You make me feel brand new” by the Stylistics. (I guess I’m hopelessly stuck in the ’70s! The chorus is what reminds me of him, the rest of the song could be dedicated to this wonderful fandom!

  18. Ania says:

    What a lovely post, Beengizzied!

  19. Holliday says:

    Thanks for the cool song, beengizzied! Looks like you had a blast putting it together.

    I think “The Sound of Silence” by Simon and Garfunkel fits either Lucas or Guy. I think it probably fits Lucas more than Guy.
    Hello darkness my old friend/I’ve come to talk with you again/Because a vision softly creeping/Left its seeds while I was sleeping/And the vision that was planted in my brain/Still remains/Within the sound of silence.
    That’s one of my favorite songs.

  20. Ana Cris says:

    Lovely! We have a favorite thing in common! :0)

  21. Teuchter says:

    This is really fun, beengizzied!! We can relate to these words, “Some of MY favourite things” for sure!! 🙂

    I remembered reading Richard’s comments in an article some time ago, that he could find himself running out of clothes to wear as he hadn’t done a wash or cleaned his house as he hasn’t got a cleaner and the song, “Seven Day Fool” came to mind with lyrics that include “Scrub your dirty floors” and ” I wash your dirty clothes”, it made me laugh!! You can check them out here –
    http://www.metrolyrics.com/seven-day-fool-lyrics-jully-black.html

  22. Carolyn says:

    I love it, beengizzied!

  23. Beachbaby says:

    Beengizzled, that cheered me up no end.

    As for a song – I always think of Guy when I listen to Pink’s “F**kin Perfect” 😉

  24. Joanna says:

    Thanks for the laugh ,Beengizzied! 😀
    So many songs comes to my mind….from Sabrina(“Boys,boys,boys”-great lyrics”))…to Kate Bush(“The Man With The Child in His eyes”:))

  25. Hi Bccmee and BG!
    This was FABULOUS! Thanks for making me smile.
    Cheers! Grati ;->

  26. Well done beengizzled! Richard is MY favorite thing 🙂

  27. How wonderful this post Beengizzied! I love to see how your, ladies, are so creative! Thank you Judith for posting this adorable Bcc vid.I could stay seeing it hours and hours! So wonderful!
    With regard to a song that remind me RA, there´s one sung by Shakira. ” Ojos Asi “. I don´t know all the lyric, just the chorus. It´s in spanish. It says :
    Fue de Bahrein hasta Beirut
    Fue desde el norte hasta el polo sur
    Y no encontré ojos así
    Como los que tienes tu
    I tried to tranlate it to English. I think it is more or less like that:
    I went from Bahrain to Beirut
    from North to South Pole
    I didn´t find eyes like that
    Like these one you have.
    There´s one another song that every time that I listen to it, I remember Guy.It´s Big, bad, handsome man, by Imelda May.

  28. bccmee says:

    @Everyone: Thanks for your comments. Such great song choices. Richard Armitage is very lyrical, isn’t he?

  29. Pingback: Legenda 30: Stuff worth reading « Me + Richard Armitage

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.