Graphic a Day, 20 May 2011

Today’s Picture of the Day (POD) at RichardArmitageNet.Com is dedicated to RavenRoseBeetle:

Picture of the Day, 20 May 2011

Picture of the Day, 20 May 2011

Here is your Graphic of the Day:

Ricky Deeming

Another first. This is the first time Ricky Deeming from the pilot episode of George Gently has been requested for the month and it’s also my first Ricky siggie.

In this scene, Ricky is rather static so I wanted to add some motion because his character as the leader of a biker gang represents rebellion and anarchy. Therefore I incorporated the promo picture below:

Ricky on motorcycle

I added a motion blur to the motorcycle image and I extended the headlight very simply with the Smudge tool.

The font is called 60s Pop and I chose it for a few reasons. One, the show is set in the 1960s, also it reminded me of curvy roads, and finally it loaned itself well to a motion blur. I even took the letter “i” and put it on a separate layer, rotated it, and blurred it to add to the headlight to provide a sense of cohesion between the images and the text amidst all the anarchy. 😉

The POD was very good quality but I applied the Nostalgia filter from Xero Graphics to give Ricky an added touch of grittiness.

At the last second I decided to include a bit of a wheel from another image for Ricky’s motorcycle:

Norton Manx Motorcycle

I’m still having fun! This graphic was a quickie…it probably took me longer to write up the blogpost than to create the siggie. 😀


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you haven’t already done so, please go to servetus’ blog and leave a comment on this post:

http://meandrichard.wordpress.com/2011/05/17/informal-fan-challenge/

Each unique user’s comment can result in a donation of up to $5 to help the earthquake victims in New Zealand. If you are pressed for time, please leave a comment there instead of here. It will only take a moment but will have a positive impact on someone’s life.

This entry was posted in Graphics and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Graphic a Day, 20 May 2011

  1. NovemberBride says:

    Oooo, I really like the “motion blur”…it does add lots to the graphic!! After spending the better part of an afternoon fooling around the graphic/photo program that came w/computer deal aka Photo Management for Dummies 101, I have a renewed admiration for your skills. Could I just stop by for a couple of hours and sit and watch you do this stuff?!! =0)

  2. Ania says:

    I like it! I know that most guys look great in leather, but RA looks so perfectly, simply unearthly *thud*
    p.s.
    I love your graphics, for me they are the daily contact with art and a great sense of humor 🙂
    What a pity that in May there are only 31 days 😦

  3. NovemberBride says:

    Weird what black leather does for a guy isn’t it? First time hubs wore his black leather jacket, I thought, “WOW!!!” Cool dude for an old guy! 😉

    Yeah somewhere I heard that there’s a movement to extend May to 40 days. Think I’ll sign the petition! :))

  4. CDoart says:

    @NovemberBride – I would immediately sign that petition as well, as long as bccmee continues to make those wonderful graphics ;o).
    @bccmee – What congenial idea how you put the picture together. Wonderful and with lots of speed … What advertisement for a free-spirited man.

  5. Ania says:

    @ NovemberBride – I’d like to sign that petition, too (by both hands 😉 )

  6. tyme4t says:

    Well done again my friend! *vroom vroom*

  7. Meryl says:

    leather and Richard ~”go” like a hand in a glove, as we know!!!!!
    thanks B

  8. Jeannie says:

    Go Team Leather! Great graphic. Reminds me of Guy. I’m so obssessed. Someone help me please! I’m out of control:-))

    • Meryl says:

      seems like you are a gonna Jeannie~and there isn’t any help for it as far as I know! oh well…………………………………….

  9. Carolyn says:

    Another great graphic, B!

  10. Pamela says:

    The graphic has a wonderful nostalgic vibe to it and RA’s hooded eyes always have me mesmerised.

  11. RavenRoseBeetle says:

    Yay!! Looks great! Thanks, BccMee!! You have outdone yourself.

  12. bccmee says:

    Thank you again for your delightful and generous comments. Richard Armitage in leather makes my heart go “vroom vroom” indeed! As for watching me work, that would be fun but if anyone comes to visit New York City, get in touch so we can see the sights–outdoors, LOL! Totally agree about the mesmerizing eyes too. *sigh*

    As for extending the month of May, that’s out of my hands. 😉 😉 😉

    Go Team Leather!

  13. RavenRoseBeetle says:

    I’ve been thinking about visiting NY. I’ve an offer to stay at a friend’s place. May make it there sometime!

  14. Summer says:

    WOW Ricky Deeming! RA knows how to wear leather! He looks stunning!
    Love the graphic!

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.