Graphic a Day, 19 May 2011

Today’s Picture of the Day (POD) at RichardArmitageNet.Com is dedicated to Lizzie’s birthday:

Picture of the Day, 19 May 2011

Picture of the Day, 19 May 2011

Here is your Graphic of the Day:

Thorntons Scratch and Sniff Stickers

Perhaps you came here expecting a serious siggie, but the silliness is still not out of my system! For those outside the UK, you may or may not be aware that there is a 100-year-old chocolate company there called Thorntons.ย  And I’m not sure how universal Scratch and Sniff stickers are, but I loved them as a kid growing up in America.ย  I decided to merge the cultures in one graphic. ๐Ÿ˜‰

In this siggie, I started out by removing the snow from John Thornton’s face which only took a couple of minutes at most using the clone tool and the content-aware fill.ย  Then I had the joyous task of browsing the North & South Gallery at RichardArmitageNet.Com where I snaffled two more screencaps.

John Thornton TOCย  John & Margaret Train Station Scene

I brightened the darker picture with a curves adjustment layer.ย  In the train station scene, I cropped out Margaret and then smudged the background so it didn’t look like a pole was going through John Thornton’s head.

For the sticker effect, I could’ve done it from scratch, but in the interest of time I used an action from PanoxFX.com.ย  The cool thing about actions is that they do most of the work for you!ย  It’s like watching a player piano.ย  ๐Ÿ˜€ย  I simply removed the curl from two of the stickers.

Then I found this quite scrummy looking photo of some Thorntons chocolate and incorporated it.

Thorntons Chocolate

Finally I added the text using the Copperplate Gothic Bold font for “Scratch ‘n Sniff Stickers” and Citadel Script for the text “Thorntons” and “Lick back at me.”

Yes, it’s true: I actually like puns!ย  ๐Ÿ˜€ย  There are many things I like better though.ย  ๐Ÿ˜‰

By the way, if you would like to see a real artist at work, check out Franziska San Pedro’s blog.ย  In this post, she explains her process in creating a painting.

This entry was posted in Graphics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to Graphic a Day, 19 May 2011

  1. Hahaha, that’s too funny! Love your sense of humor, makes me wanna lick my computer.. Well done, looks really cool. And thanks for mentioning me in your post, that’s even sweeter ๐Ÿ™‚

    Franziska San Pedro
    The Abstract Impressionist Artress

    • bccmee says:

      Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting! I wonder if you’re familiar with Richard Armitage’s body of work. He’s very inspirational, LOL!

  2. Lizzie says:

    Ha ha! I like it! That was my birthday pic/pick – thank you!

  3. Lizzie says:

    Problem is, I am now thinking about Richard and chocolate, together . . . . . . . . . !!!!!!!!!!

  4. Jeannie says:

    You are too funny. Ah, Mr. Thornton! Eileen’s going to love this, B. Great job!

  5. Alfie says:

    Yummy – I want some:)

  6. smitkit says:

    Loving the ‘Graphic A Day’, B. And love your explanations to each one too.

    BTW Did you know one of the grandsons of the founder of Thornton’s is called John Thornton? He was MD at one point , now retired (found this info on Wikipedia on a quiet afternoon).

    • bccmee says:

      That’s very interesting, smitkit. I took a picture of a Thorntons chocolate shop when I was in London a few months ago. It’s too perfect a name! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Ania says:

    looks so delicious yummy ๐Ÿ™‚
    p.s.
    I love your sense of humor ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. Heather says:

    You are very talented. I wish I have half of the creative energy that you have. Brilliant as always!

  9. PoliCBA says:

    Haha! Very funny!

    I loved the sequence of pics. The POD is just my very favourite screencap from North & South (ok, I also love the caps from the final scene; from the entire show, actually), and that second pic, with Richard’s tongue… *deep breath in* …it really makes me wanna lick my computer too *laughs* There’s even no need of the chocolate bar.

    (silliness is not out of my system as well) ๐Ÿ˜€

    I didn’t know the chocolate companies. Thanks for the explanation.

    P.S.: since I’m still learning English (I’m Brazilian, as you probably know), I inevitably make some grammar errors. So, please, forgive me if I don’t express myself properly. Anyhow, I like so much to talk to the ‘RA (lovely) ladies’. And it’s a very nice opportunity to practice my English ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • bccmee says:

      I understand what you mean about trying to pick favorite screencaps…it’s like trying to choose the best chocolate from a wide selection. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Richard Armitage transcends languages and tastes, PoliCBA! I did not know you were Brazilian actually. I live in New York, the most international city in the world, so everyone seems like a close neighbor!

      • PoliCBA says:

        Really? I thought you knew I’m Brazilian.

        Indeed. I just can’t pick only one favourite screencap from N&S. I do love the miniseries and every single shot.

        I knew you live in NY. Glad you see things that way. But it’s true, Richard Armitage transcends languages and tastes. And if you’re able to understand me, I become less concerned. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  10. tyme4t says:

    Wow! I want to buy some lickety-split!

  11. NovemberBride says:

    Well, I think you know I adore this POD also!! Takes my breath away!

    Love your take on the “lick” thingy. Too funny!! Wanna bet that Thornton’s Chocolate Co. has a run on orders today?!!

    @Lizzie, Birthday greetings to you!!! You have really good taste in PODs! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  12. Carolyn says:

    Richard and chocolate! Life doesn’t get any better! I love the graphic!

  13. Meryl says:

    I know which Thornton I’d rather have B~ the chocolate is good too though!

  14. CDoart says:

    Deliciously great !!! Thank you also for your explanations. I would not have recognized the hint with the stickers.
    What a funny and beautiful picture combination. I just love your sense of humor.
    But now I think you have a new career coming. Thornton chocolates now absolutely must engage you to do their future packaging designs ;o)

  15. tyme4t says:

    How about scratch n’ sniff Richard Armitage stickers!!!!!
    Just think….
    John Thornton – “Fresh Cotton” or “Wild Yellow Rose”
    Ricky Deemings – “Beaches”
    Lucas North – “Morning Coffee”
    John Porter – “Desert Sands”
    Harry Kennedy – “Red Wine Musings”
    Guy of Gisbourne – “Black Leather”
    John Stranding – “Fresh Country Air”

  16. RavenRoseBeetle says:

    tyme4t – that is a fabulous idea. Like the man-cans scented candles for men (http://bit.ly/jz8FzH).
    Btw, I agree with Meryl. I’m sure RA is better than chocolate, if anything could be.
    Well done, BccMee.

  17. Teuchter says:

    Love the “tongue” shot. Maybe I”ll ask my granddaughters who are in the UK at the moment to look for some Thornton’s chocolates for me!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. Musa says:

    Thanks! I’ve always wanted to lick John Thornton – LOL

  19. phylly3 says:

    LOLs! You have a delicious sense of humour. ๐Ÿ˜›

  20. judiang says:

    Just wanted to drop a comment that I’ve been following your siggies all month and have been avidly studying them. It’s true. It’s fascinating reading how a talented artist like yourself utilizes graphics. BTW, I love the way you use humor in your work.

  21. AnaKris says:

    I only came across the Thornton’s brand when I went to London last month for the first time (the first of many, *evilgrin*). Fortunately for me the store was closed, otherwise my visit to that lovely city would have stopped there. I’m obsessively addicted to chocolate and mixing it with RA works perfectly to me ๐Ÿ˜‰ …. In fact, I soooooooo want to have ……. *sigh* chocolate right now *thud*

  22. Lizzie says:

    Hey everybody – guess what I got for one of my birthday presents???
    Thornton’s chocolates!!!!!!!!!!
    Yey!!!!

    • bccmee says:

      Seriously?! That’s totally brill!!!

      ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ˜€

      • Lizzie says:

        Oh yes! There are at least two Thornton’s shops where I live – and they are seriously gorgeous chocolates – so they are regularly given as gifts.
        Lukcy me!!!

  23. Jonia says:

    I LOVE IT!! I LOVE IT!!! I LOVE IT!!!!!

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.

