Graphic a Day, 21 May 2011

Today’s Picture of the Day (POD) at RichardArmitageNet.Com is dedicated to Beachbaby:

Picture of the Day, 21 May 2011

Picture of the Day, 21 May 2011

Here is your Graphic of the Day:

Lucas North Good vs. Evil

Lucas is so agonized in this screencap. It really shows the talent of Richard Armitage when he can convey this much emotion in a screenshot which is 1/24 of a second of film time.

For this graphic, I used several adjustment layers to change the coloring and tone of the POD. One of the side effects is that Lucas’ eyes look bluer, but that was not intentional. The character’s left shoulder was cut off so I rebuilt it quickly and easily by copying and pasting another part onto a new layer and rotating it.

In addition to the Picture of the Day, I also used the following Harry Pearce promo shot from Spooks :

Harry Pearce in Spooks

For Harry Pearce, I applied the Color blend mode so he would fade out somewhat. Then out of curiosity, I duplicated the layer to see what would happen and decided to keep the slightly brighter effect that resulted because it matched Lucas a bit more while keeping Harry Pearce in the background.

I created a rough-hewn border and added some texture with brushes and lowered their opacity. Along the bottom of the graphic, I incorporated a London skyline silhouette.

London Skyline

All the text is in the OldNewspaperTypes font. I rasterized the text (converted it into an image) so I could modify it more easily. I blurred the words “GOOD” and “EVIL” to make them look like shadows. The phrase “I wish we met first” was too clean so I zoomed in and erased little chunks to make it more distressed.

Even the serious siggies are very enjoyable. As I’ve said before, it’s like putting a puzzle together the wrong way.

Still 10 more days of graphics to come. Hope you’re not bored yet–I’m not! There may still be space for a few more requests at RichardArmitageNet.Com. Send them an e-mail if you are interested in requesting a POD.

IMPORTANT NOTE (worth repeating): If you haven’t already done so, please go to servetus’ blog and leave a comment on the link below and tell your friends. Time is running out!

http://meandrichard.wordpress.com/2011/05/17/informal-fan-challenge/

Each unique user’s comment can result in a donation of up to $5 to help the earthquake victims in New Zealand. If you are short on time, please leave a comment there instead of here. It will only take a moment and will have a positive impact on someone’s life.

This entry was posted in Graphics and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Graphic a Day, 21 May 2011

  1. Calexora says:

    Ahhh…that’s so sad!!! And so well done! Beautiful!

  2. Anakris says:

    You’re brilliant-minded! Harry Pearce really seems to be looking at Lucas and regretting the labyrinth in which Lucas life has turned out to be 😦 Good vs Evil and the London skyline …. a touch of class 😉

  3. tyme4t says:

    My favourite so far 🙂
    (…yup even beats out Harry in glasses 😎 )
    Amazing & hauntingly beautiful

  4. Pamela says:

    Can I just say through my copious tears for Lucas/John that I’ve never seen anything quite so beautiful!

  5. Ania says:

    Beautiful graphics Bccmee! I really like the way you used all these elements.
    And I agree, Richard Armitage masterfully shows emotions.

  6. Carolyn says:

    Beautiful, B!

  7. Lesleyann says:

    So sad he really conveys the hopelessness of his situation. Beautifully done B

  8. Eressea says:

    I too think this is your best graphic so far. A splendid job on a beautiful and so sad moment/pic.

  9. Alfie says:

    wow – I am speechless. It is so lovely. LOOOVVVEEE the blue eyes.

  10. Meryl says:

    so much emotion in a blink of an eye……..and another great graphic B
    thanks

  11. Jeannie says:

    I agree with Anakris. It makes me miss Lucas:( But lively job<3

  12. Eileen says:

    Wonderful!!! This is my favorite…so far:) Things would have been so very different, indeed.

  13. PoliCBA says:

    Amazing!!! So, so stunning!

    Congratulations, Bcc Mee! I’m just loving your beautiful graphics. And, you know, I wouldn’t mind if you made a Graphic a Day from now until the end of the year 🙂

    *just kidding* (although, I repeat, I wouldn’t mind at all) 😉

  14. bccmee says:

    Perhaps one of the ever-popular mystery shows on the BBC can investigate how the heck this man has never won a BAFTA trophy.

    Thank you again for all your kind words of encouragement and support. This was another graphic that “made itself.”

  15. CDoart says:

    Thank you, bccmee. You once again created a whole story with one picture. I admire that in all your pictures. You make something exceptional with them!!!
    This photo of Lucas / John makes me feel his pain and it is hard for me to watch. It really is a mystery to me, that RA never got a BAFTA. For him it is not just a role, but I feel the pain he let’s his character go through.

  16. phylly3 says:

    That is one of my favourite pictures of Lucas, and I totally love what you’ve done with it! I wish May was longer…

  17. Beachbaby says:

    Oh Bccmee, the graphic of my Pic of the Day is truely beautiful. I chose this pic to mark the airing of the final episode of Spooks 9 here in Australia. The expression on Lucas’ face here is full of helplessness, hopelessness, self awareness of the enormity of what he has done and the incredible sadness of it all. You have picked up on what I think is the essential element of all the sadness, Harry’s remark “I wish we met first”.
    I also love the way you have blurred the words good & evil. Lucas did so much good and yet in the end it could not wipe out the evil.
    Thank you so much. “hugs”

  18. bccmee says:

    I have to chime in again. Once more, I am overwhelmed by your responses. Thank you ever so much for taking the time to share your thoughts. You are so lovely to stop by and make such gracious comments. *HUGS* all around!

  19. servetus says:

    Thanks for the publicity. I can’t believe I neglected to look at these basically all month. What was I thinking??!? They’re gorgeous.

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.

