Thorin Oakenshield and Orcrist wallpaper

Hello again. I can’t seem to stay away. ๐Ÿ˜€ Thanks again for joining me in our little challenge which ended yesterday.

Last night a new Thorin Oakenshield image appeared on Entertainment Weekly’s website along with several other promo pictures from The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey. I wonder where Richard Armitage’s beard ends and Thorin’s begins.

Below is my own capture but it’s also the Picture of the Day at RichardArmitageNet.Com.

I couldn’t help myself so I made a new wallpaper of Richard Armitage as Thorin with his sword, Orcrist. Please click for full size.

Below are the components.

On a visit to the island of Madeira, I went up into the mountains and the clouds rushed down the mountainside like a waterfall. I’d never seen anything like it before or since.

Have to confess, for the wallpaper I just piled on layers till it looked like a story of Thorin’s quest for treasure. That’s how I cook too, LOL! ๐Ÿ˜›

The man is beautiful, even as a fictional dwarf. โ™ฅ

How many times do you plan to see The Hobbit? I’ll see it once or twice in the theater and I’ll definitely buy the Blu-ray disk for vidding and screencapping. ๐Ÿ™‚ What types of extras do you predict will be on the disks? What extras do you hope to see on the disks?

This entry was posted in Graphics, richard armitage and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

79 Responses to Thorin Oakenshield and Orcrist wallpaper

  1. RAFrenzy says:

    Love the wallpaper!

  2. Luciana says:

    Fantastic!!! Your criativity is amazing!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. april73 says:

    Woooow !!! What a lovely and beautiful wallpaper… Bravo ! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Thank you, thank you, thank you!! You are a genius, bccmee!

    I think I’ll watch The Hobbit film at least 10 times at the theater, and then will watch the Blu-ray over and over again while waiting for your art works!(^_-)-โ˜†

    PS, thank you so much for the latest fun challenge!

    • bccmee says:

      @grendel’s mum: Wow, 10 times at the theater? Do you live next door to one? Or work there? ๐Ÿ˜‰ Twice will be my limit, hehe. Thanks for your kind words and your great blog!

  5. Faboamanto says:

    Love the Thorin wallpaper, gorgeous. Now on my laptop desktop!!
    That’s a big sword, isn’t it?

  6. jasrangoon says:

    Bccmee, this is so very lovely! It is definitely going in my wallpaper rotation. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Thank you, thank you!!!! It’s beautiful Bccmee ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Geez, I got so excited with the wallpaper that I didn’t notice the questions! Well, I plan to watch The Hobbit on theatres at least twice and most probably a 3rd time (I watched The Avengers twice and I wasn’t so eagerly waiting for it). As for the extras I’d like to see the dwarves bungee jumping, a lot of behind the scenes but what I’d love to see the most is Richard filming his last scene as Thorin. I remember that Viggo Mortensen cried when he shoot the last scene as Aragorn and I’m pretty sure it has to be very intense for Richard, being the kind of actor he is.

    • bccmee says:

      @Ana Cristina: Thanks for your kind words. I sure do hope we get more than glimpses of Richard Armitage in the extra features! ๐Ÿ˜€

  8. Stunning and exquisite!

  9. Chrissy says:

    Wow!! This is fantastic bccmee!! I shall use this as my background!! Thanks so much for sharing your amazing work ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Kathleen says:

    Exceptional work with this wall paper!

    For the extra on the DVD, how about an hour long interview with Richard where he answers all of our (PG rated) questions?

  11. That is absolutely fantastic B! Will Make a great cover photo for FB ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Holliday says:

    I saw the picture of Thorin and Orcrist(or Biter as the goblins call it) this morning on richardarmitagenet.com. When I saw it I could definitely believe Mr. Six-Foot Two as a dwarf. I love what you did with it, B. Looks better than the original.

    I will probably see The Hobbit once in the theater and not until it’s been out a few weeks. I never go see a movie when it first comes out. I’ll definitely get the DVD. Hopefully they’ll have all the video blogs on there. Some of them I wasn’t able to view. I’m definitely hoping for an interview with Richard.

    • bccmee says:

      @Holliday: Oh yes, I’m reading The Hobbit now and you’re right, the goblins call it Biter. Richard Armitage looks positively stunning as Thorin. โ™ฅ Thanks for your kind words on the wallpaper.

      Personally I love going to the theater when the movie is first released to absorb the energy from the rest of the audience. ๐Ÿ˜€ Can’t wait for the Blu-ray too so I can focus on the RA bits, LOL! I sure hope for an extended interview of Richard Armitage too! ๐Ÿ˜€

  13. titianminx says:

    Amazingly brilliant image. Love it. Love it. LOVE IT. Made my day LOL

  14. vec170203 says:

    I plan on going to opening day (here will be on Christmas Day). So far, I have planned to go only once, because I invited my mom and my nephew, so the budget rises…
    Thanks for the wallpaper already put it on ๐Ÿ™‚

    • bccmee says:

      @vec170203: The Hobbit sounds like a fun Christmas gift for your family. How very sweet of you! I’m delighted you enjoyed the wallpaper too. Thanks for your comment! ๐Ÿ˜€

  15. Teuchter says:

    This is fantastic and already part of my desktop slide show!! ๐Ÿ™‚ I had found the picture on various sites yesterday and also on FB both from The Hobbit and The One Ring and finally on RANet as it was well after midnight when I went to bed! What a magnificent King under the Mountain he makes standing there brandishing Orcrist! Wow! He is one hot alpha male dwarf and in leather again too!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • bccmee says:

      @Teuchter: Oh he looks so great in this pose and costume. *drool* *sigh* I was so delighted when this picture popped up last night. Wasn’t sure if a graphic would happen but once I started, some other force took over, LOL! Oooh, I like the phrase “hot alpha male dwarf.” Yummy! Thanks so much for your thoughtful comment. ๐Ÿ˜€

      • Teuchter says:

        I just realized I forgot to answer your question! I hope to see it as many times as I can in the theatre, depending on how many of my friends and family want to see it with me! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll definitely buy at least one copy once it come out on DVD. My machine can’t play Blu-ray, but if that is the only format in which it will be released I might just have to buy one that does! ๐Ÿ˜€

        • bccmee says:

          @Teuchter: As I said to Ania, maybe someone will sponsor a contest with a prize for whichever Richard Armitage fan sees The Hobbit the most times in the theater, LOL! I think DVDs will be around for awhile still. When I bought my Blu-ray for Captain America it also included a DVD. ๐Ÿ˜€ Two for the price of one!

        • april73 says:

          My dvd player doesn’t play blue-ray dvd either. But I have a very big TV, so it’s ok, lol.

  16. Ania says:

    This beautiful wallpaper is my now! Thank you so much!!! Tomorrow at work will change your earlier Thorin’s wallpaper on this one. ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s funny because my friends when they look at my monitor sees some warrior, but I see the beautiful eyes of RA. *sigh*
    I had planned a one-time watching The Hobbit, but the cinema in my small town renovating now and we will be able to watch movies in 3D, so… hmm I don’t know how many times I’ll be watching TH. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • bccmee says:

      @Ania: I’m delighted you will get to enjoy The Hobbit in 3D! I saw the trailer in 3D and it was breathtaking to see RA as Thorin on the big screen even for a few seconds. Please let us know how many times you see it. Maybe someone should sponsor a contest with a prize for whoever has the most views in a theater, LOL! Thanks for your kind words on this wallpaper too. ๐Ÿ˜€

  17. Meryl says:

    hi B, this is a really great, I love it! I have a “thing” about clouds~ well a sky in general~ and the moon, and needless to say~ sayin’ it anyways!~ about the gorgeous Richard!
    thank you to you and your imagination

    • bccmee says:

      @Meryl: Maybe I was “channeling” you while making this graphic, LOL! Ooh yes, RA looks so lovely in this new promo pic. Thanks for your comment! ๐Ÿ˜€

  18. ItsJSforMe says:

    RA is simply scrumptious in this new pic and you gave it a terrific background, bccmee! Your graphic is amazing. Thank you for sharing!

  19. Carol Tatarian says:

    As always, your work is amazing! Love this and so will my desktop!

  20. Teuchter says:

    I REALLY should read these posts carefully before I comment! I totally missed the ones about the Extras on the discs. I’m not sure what I expect them to show but it certainly would be nice to have spotlights on each of the characters or at least the main ones, with perhaps short Bio’s of the actors who portrayed them. (Dare I say Richard with perhaps his “designer stubble” visible again although I’m actually one of those who loves the beard!) Peter Jackson did give unprecedented access to what was going on during the filming via his video blogs so these could maybe be included so that people who had not previously had access to them could see them. One thing I really wish they would do is to have close captioning if they do Commentaries. They are invariably hard to understand – as has been discussed – before when they all talk at once which makes them really frustrating to listen to.

    • bccmee says:

      @Teuchter: I totally agree about closed captioning. I don’t want to miss a word, especially if it’s said by or about Richard Armitage. ๐Ÿ˜‰ With luck, they’ll have some nice extRAs on the Blu-ray and DVD sets!

  21. Thais says:

    What a wonderful wallpaper, Bcc mee! Yes, you’re right, RA is beautiful, even as a fictional dwarf… and you’re very talented to create something so amazing as this wallpaper. Congrats! I’m not sure how many times I’ll watch The Hobbit at theaters, but I’ll buy the Blu-ray disc for sure. I really hope there is a lot of interviews and backstage scenes on it. I just love this kind of stuff! ๐Ÿ˜‰ (It’s exciting that December 14th is getting closer, isn’t? :))

    • bccmee says:

      @Thais: Thanks for your comment! It’s truly amazing that time keeps ticking away and we are approaching December slowly but surely, LOL! Like millions of people, I’m looking forward to The Hobbit. Maybe I’ll even finish the book before seeing the movie. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  22. Lovely wallpaper Bcc, This Thorin is much more handsome than in any place I have already seen. Congrat. for another great job.
    I intend see The Hobbit soon it comes out. Iยดm going to buy my ticket by the internet to not to have stay in queues and so to choose the better place in the theatre. Ha,ha. And of course, Iยดm going to buy the dvd or blueray of it. I love the LOTR. Iยดve already watched it so many times that I missed the count, now with RA in Hobbit,imagine how many times Iยดll watch it?

    • bccmee says:

      @Tereza: Good thinking about the purchase of tickets in advance! I bought my tickets online for Captain America. It was a hot day and I fell asleep for a nap and almost missed it though, LOL! I just made it in time. ๐Ÿ™‚ I will take that risk again for The Hobbit but I’ll set my alarm. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

      Thanks for your comment!

  23. mersguy says:

    Simply brilliant B! Ok I’ll be seeing at least once in NZ, then in IMAX , 3D and 2D back home in Aust and buying blu ray for the dvd collection, think that’s most bases covered! Hope RA gets a chunk of the box office!!

    • bccmee says:

      @mersguy: How exciting that you’re going to NZ to see The Hobbit! I look forward to your trip report. If RA gets a cut, he’ll certainly have a nice tidy sum just based on those of us posting on the blogs, LOL! Thanks for your comment.

  24. lucylou says:

    Stunning gorgeous wallpaper thanks bcmee. The clouds are so apt as any new pics put me on Cloud Nine. Plan on seeing it at least twice in NZ and then once back home.

    • bccmee says:

      @lucylou: LOL re: Cloud Nine! I’m so thrilled with the new images which are sure to be popping up with some regularity from now to December. Ooh, you’re going to NZ too? I hope you share your trip report! Thanks for your comment.

  25. april73 says:

    Wonderful wallpaper Bccmee, bravo !!!

    I think I’m going to see “The Hobbit” at least twice. We have planned to see the movie in Switzerland when it comes out with some friends, but one of them, who lives in France near my city, cannot come before January. And because I cannot wait (lol), I will see it a first time in December with another friend. We will make our “girl outing” to see “The Hobbit” in beginning January. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  26. Teuchter says:

    OH MY GOSH!!!!!! Sorry for shouting but have you SEEN the new Thorin picture on RANet.com today??? Talk about a sexy dwarf!!! I just stopped breathing for a moment! It can even be enlarged! **double swoon** ๐Ÿ˜€

  27. love4ot says:

    This is completely awesome! Thank you!

  28. Teuchter says:

    My apologies! I meant to wish all of my friends “across the line” as we say, a happy Fourth of July! You do wonders for me as do those in other parts of the world. We are one great “little community”!!

    • bccmee says:

      @Teuchter: Thanks for your kind wishes for our noisy holiday, LOL! Once I saw the 4th of July fireworks in Washington, D.C. and they were the best ever!

  29. Mezz says:

    Beautiful wallpaper B, I love it. Added to my collection!
    I will be watching TH at the movies as often as I can in any format available, before my husband gets too suspicious about the amount of time I’m spending at the shopping complex where the cinema is. ๐Ÿ˜‰ At least that close to Christmas, buying presents will be an excellent cover!
    Then I’ll be hanging out for the dvd as soon as it’s released overseas, which is usually earlier than here in Australia, and hopefully there’ll be as many extras as they can cram in. There HAS to be a long interview with Richard first and foremost though!

    • bccmee says:

      @Mezz: I want to see The Hobbit in the best format available first, which will probably be 3D IMAX. Then I’ll go from there. With the newest pictures of Richard Armitage as Thorin, I’m more excited. I suspect Thorin will overtake John Porter as my favorite RA character. ๐Ÿ˜€ Yes indeed, I too am hopeful for a long, long RA interview on the extra features! Thanks so much for your comment.

    • Mezz says:

      For some reason I had it in my head that the release date was before Christmas here in Australia, now I discover it’s the 26th of December. I’m not surprised actually, since a lot of blockbusters are released here on Boxing Day. We usually have family here, hubby will be off work until after New Year and things are busy, so it looks like I’ll have to wait a couple of weeks before I can see it on my own.

  30. Pingback: New Thorin Oakenshield Portraits of Richard Armitage Dazzle in EW Hobbit Article Leading up to Comic Com! 7/05/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #223) | Something About Love (A)

  31. Mariana says:

    Beautiful Wallpaper1 You are very creative!

  32. Carolyn says:

    This is a beautiful wallpaper, Bccmee! Thank you! Such a gorgeous man, gorgeous dwarf!

  33. Judit says:

    I agree with Holliday, your wallpaper looks better than the original pic! Fan-tas-tic!! Thank you ever so much! I don’t know how many times I’ll go to see The Hobbit. I’ve not seen a feature film in 3D to date,and I’m not sure whether I will like it or not, to be honest I’m a little apprehensive about it. I’ll also have to find a cinema in Budapest where they play the original language version as I do NOT wish to hear the “Hungarian voice” of Richard (or in fact any of the actors!)! Don’t have a blu-ray player, only a DVD player, I may just have to upgrade to a blu-ray player if the blu-ray edition of the film has more extras than the DVD…Re extras: what the others have already said, audiocommentary featuring Richard,long interview with Richard, Richard filming his last scene, oh and a tour of Richard’s trailer (though I don’t think that’s going to happen ๐Ÿ™‚ )..Do I sound greedy? Hell yes, I am!

    • bccmee says:

      @Judit: Wish I could travel around and see the film with everyone here, LOL! I do like 3D and would recommend experiencing it at least once. Good luck in finding a version of The Hobbit with Richard Armitage’s own voice. That would be important to me too.

      When it comes to extRA RA features, I’m greedy also! ๐Ÿ˜€ I want it all! Hope our wishes come true. โ™ฅ

  34. Pingback: Legenda 34: Stuff worth reading « Me + Richard Armitage

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.

