Graphic a Day in May 2012 – Day 29

Hope you’re having a great Tuesday. Here we are on our 29th graphic of May.

Today’s screencap of Richard Armitage as Ricky Deeming was chosen by beengizzied. She also recommended the song “Bathtime” by Tindersticks. Thanks very much, beengizzied!

Here’s your base image:

Promo picture courtesy of RichardArmitageNet.Com

Below is your graphic of the day. It’s a 1600×900 pixel wallpaper. Please click for full size.


Somewhere between sunrise and sunset

This graphic is another example of trying things out until I liked the final result.

First, I clipped out the Ricky Deeming character from the base image. For the background, I used this screencap from RichardArmitageNet.Com:

I broke my own rules and enlarged this image to fit the scale of the wallpaper. I’m a rebel, like Ricky Deeming! I cut out the silhouettes, resized and moved them and added shadows.

Instead of trying to fill in the large gaps left by removing the silhouettes, I added the sandy part of the image below and applied the Luminosity blend mode so it would pick up the background colors:

I decided I wanted to explore the initiation of the Billy character so I added the screencap below. I wonder if this had anything to do with the title of the song beengizzied suggested?

Screencap mine

After some experimentation, I set the above layer to the Darken blend mode.

I created a rounded rectangle shape and gave it a Drop Shadow, black Outer Glow and Inner Glow. Then I set this rectangle shape to 0% fill so the effects would appear but the rectangle itself would be invisible.

Then I found an image of seagulls and extracted two of the birds to add them to the wallpaper:

I added the text “somewhere between sunrise and sunset” using the [z] Arista Light font. I applied the same effects as I did the rectangle shape: Drop Shadow, black Outer Glow and Inner Glow and set the text to 0% fill so it would become reversed.

As a final touch, I cut and pasted the fringe from the scarf in this promo picture and added it to the graphic:

Promo picture courtesy of RichardArmitageNet.Com

That’s the story behind today’s graphic. Thanks for playing along!


If you went swimming with Ricky Deeming, what would you do if he dunked you underwater? Do you suppose he wears a leather Speedo?

This entry was posted in Collaborative Project, Graphics, richard armitage and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Graphic a Day in May 2012 – Day 29

  1. april73 says:

    Wonderful pic Beengizzied. 🙂

    Bccmee, your siggie is… swoooon… 🙂

  2. april73 says:

    A leather Speedo… Great idea lol.

    If he dunks me underwater… I will do the same, lol.

  3. tyme4t says:

    WOW! a wonderful image!
    Being dunked by Ricky – Oh baby it’s on…he’s coming under with me 😉
    But then I might fake being unresponsive so I can get some mouth to mouth time 🙂

  4. Faboamanto says:

    Oh Ricky you’re so fine, you’re so fine you blow my mind! Sorry, different song 😉
    Love the wallpaper Bccmee, lovely with the sunrise, and doesn’t he look marvelous with that white scarf, thank you Beengizzied.

    I would do the same, would dunk him as well! Leather Speedo….mmmm….he looks good in leather!

  5. cdoart says:

    Thank you, beengizzied, for a wonderful choice, and bccmee, your arrangement is beautiful and stunningly beautiful. The combination of elements – I am fascinated by the fringes of the scarf, everything just absolutely beautiful. What a delicious treat for us. Thank you, bccmee !

  6. Wow just wow! Magnificent B! Thank you very much ! Great photo beengizzied 😉
    The thought of a leather Speedo made laugh so much I almost spilt my coffee! I can’t think of anything more uncomfortable than that … oh wait, that could be an excuse to send him some underwear with pockets for ice cubes, like the shirt that someone sent him for RH … oh I’d better shut up now. 🙂

  7. ItsJSforMe says:

    Love all the details! Well done, bccmee! Excellent choice of pic, bgz 🙂

  8. Elaine says:

    Beengizzied, excellent choice of photo and you must be really pleased with the treatment by Bccmee. I think this is my favorite so far. I saw this episode of Inspector Gently about a month ago and marvelled at RA’s nuanced portrayal of Ricky Deeming.

    I can’t believe this month of fun is almost over……sniff……

  9. kathryngaul says:

    They are speedos, not speedo! (It comes from “a pair of speedos”)

  10. heurodis says:

    BEAUTIFUL!!

  11. Ana Cris says:

    Hi Bcc,
    I like know how much work and experimentation, and creativity, are in your graphics!

  12. jazzbaby1 says:

    Wow! You two should work together more often!

  13. jasrangoon says:

    I always enjoy your graphics, but this one is particularly beautiful!

  14. Ania says:

    Oh Bcc, I love your wallpapers ♥ and this one is so delightful ♥ 🙂 thank you!!!

  15. Carolyn says:

    You continue to amaze me with the details you put into your graphics. I love reading how you came to the final product. This wallpaper is beautiful!

  16. titianminx says:

    What a lovely image. So beautiful with the sunset. Laughed at the idea of leather Speedos . Think they would be disappearing up the “nether regions”, very uncomfy!! LOL.
    Can’t wait for tomorrow’s siggie…Have loved May.

  17. beengizzied says:

    Oh bccmee, I am thrilled if Bathtime gave you any inspiration for this. I’ve thought of it as Ricky’s song for a long time. He needs drama in his song. I think Ricky is fascinating-a philosophising punk (who wouldn’t wear any trunks when swimming).
    Your wallpaper speaks of renewal. The tide comes in and takes away your old identity. You resurface part of the gang. No shower tonight for me … I’m having a bath!
    And I think Lucas can have a rest after a couple of years of faithful service as my wallpaper. This one’s going up.
    P.S. Thanks for adding the glorious fringe – it reminds me of a childhood haircut I had, lol.

    • bccmee says:

      @beengizzied: Couldn’t agree more that Ricky is a complex character. I still haven’t seen the entire episode of George Gently so maybe I can find a friend to watch it with me. But I definitely enjoy the Ricky bits! 🙂

      I really appreciate your interpretation of the graphic. Thanks so much for the great raw material for this wallpaper. It just threw itself together! Even the fringe was effortless. 😀

  18. Brooke says:

    Leather speedos–LOL. I need to see George Gently. I am not familiar enough with Ricky. You always seem to have the right vision for you graphics and videos.

  19. Hi bccmee and BG,
    Ricky is such a bad boy. I have only seen snippets of GG, but RA’s performance was riveting. These images and the resulting siggie are stunning!
    Cheers! Grati ;->

  20. Holliday says:

    Very nicely done. You always seem to know what goes well with the pictures.

    Richard in a speedo, (fanning myself), I have several screencaps saved to my computer of Richard looking smokin’ hot in a speedo. Don’t know about leather though. That sounds like it would chafe. Especially if he went into the water.

  21. Teuchter says:

    Great screencap and an interesting music choice, beengizzied. One of the things I have loved about this project is being introduced to music we might never have listened to otherwise!! 😉 I also really appreciate the way you explain you put these amazing graphics together, Bcc! That’s a beautiful sunrise and a lovely back-drop for leather-clad Ricky!! The scarf just seems to light up his face.

    If I was to go swimming with Ricky it sure hope it wouldn’t be in those frigid waters! I’ve experienced them first hand (well not exactly in Ireland where I believe the pilot series was filmed but in other places round the UK coast) and believe me they are cold! Brrrr! I can’t imagine leather Speedos being very comfortable either! 😦 Leather tends to stiffen when it gets wet or in some instances can even feel a bit slimy! Yuk!!

  22. Emma says:

    Great choice, beengizzied. Richard made such a cute biker boy!

    Wow, bccmee, so much detail went into this one and it’s very lovely! Your suggestion of a leather speedo put images in my head, silly girl! Something like this:
    http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/ColdFeet/ColdFeet5/album/slides/coldfeet_017.html
    LOL! 🙂

    • Teuchter says:

      I was so tempted to comment on that picture Emma, but it made me blush so much I decided I’d better keep my thoughts to myself!! 😉 *fans self*

  23. Wow! Lovely graphic, Bcc.Nice choice of pic Beengizzy. I liked so much RA as GOG ,that Rick Deemens came up to fill the lack left by him, wearing a leather, just like our charming black knight.Now, if Rick dunked me underwater I would pretend that i was drowning, so he would have
    to do mouth to mouth resuscitation… several times …and then… he would have warm me embracing me. Lol! A girl can dream, can´t she?

  24. Thais says:

    Gorgeous! Beautiful composition! You have a really good taste, Bccmee. Nice choice beengizzied. 😀

  25. Beachbaby says:

    Ricky at the beach. OMG I just LOVE the thought of that :-). But leather speedos??? Blaaah.
    Mmmm, I can picture him in a nice pair of low slung boardies – with laces.
    Lovely choice of pic & music Beengizzled and beautiful wallpaper Bccmee.
    And if he dunked me under the water? I go for the laces 😉

  26. magwi says:

    Great choice of pic beengizzied, obviously you have a thing for a man in leather 😉

    Absolutely superb bccmee. Ricky has never looked so good. ♥

    If he dunked me under water I’d take the Leather Speedos with me 😉 So he’d probably be safer in an old-fashioned all-in-one! 😀

  27. bccmee says:

    @Everyone: I’m literally laughing at your Speedo and dunking comments! Hmmm, interesting ideas. I’ll have to remember them in case of emergency. Laces, eh? I’m envisioning something based on season 3 Guy pants.

    Since I’m a good swimmer, if Ricky dunked me I would sneak behind him underwater and attack! Maybe I’d fashion a leather shark fin and hum the theme song from Jaws although it would be rather garbled and unrecognizable since my face will be in the water. 😉

    Then when we’re done in the water, we can play Tarzan and Jane in our leather swimming costumes.

    Thanks so very much for your lovely and funny comments! 😀

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.

