Graphic a Day in May 2012 – Day 27

Welcome to our 27th Graphic a Day in May! 😀

It’s Sunday again so let’s enjoy another John Thornton graphic. Please remember that there is a worldwide group watch of North & South starting June 1 and details can be found here: N&S Group Watch. I am planning to take part. Hope you can join in!

Today’s image and song recommendations come to us courtesy of Pospíšková Irena. Thank you so much for your contributions, Pospíšková Irena!

Here’s your base image of Richard Armitage in North & South:

Screencap courtesy of RichardArmitageNet.Com

Here’s your graphic for today:


I give you my love

Pospíšková Irena suggested the song “What is Love” by Haddaway. The caption in our graphic was taken directly from the lyrics.

To start things off, I cut out the John Thornton figure and applied the Porcelain filter from Xero Graphics. Then I added a Curves adjustment layer to brighten him up quite a bit.

For the background, I filled a solid gray layer. Above it, I added the following texture which I set to the Luminosity blend mode after some experimentation:

The corners were created using the Pen tool. Then I added a drop shadow. Finally, the text “I give you my love” was written with the Moderna and Palace Script MT fonts.

That’s the story behind today’s graphic! It’s a short story, LOL!

If you were Margaret, would you have accepted John Thornton’s first proposal of marriage?

Bonus question: What do you think of John Thornton’s eyelashes?

This entry was posted in Collaborative Project, Graphics, richard armitage and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Graphic a Day in May 2012 – Day 27

  1. Chrissy says:

    Beautiful graphic Bccmee and a lovely choice of photo Pospíšková Irena.
    Simple answer to the question regarding the wedding proposal ………YES!!!!!!!
    And as for those eyelashes …. they’re one of his many features that completely melt me!!

  2. Leigh Vondereau says:

    Lovely graphic! If I were Margaret, yes, I wouldn’t have to think twice. My heart would be doing a happy dance just because he asked.

  3. Lovely graphic Bccmee. Great choice Pospíšková Irena 🙂 Beautiful profile Richard 😉
    As for the proposal I would say no.
    .
    .
    .
    Ahhhh who am I kidding? Of course I would say yes!!!! The pity is that I would miss the kiss at the train station … but I’m sure Mr. Thornton would make it up to me 🙂
    Have a nice Sunday B!

  4. Fanny/iz4blue says:

    Short but sweet! Hard to believe Margaret took so long to decide! LOL thanks Irena a lovely suggestion & thanks Bccmee for promoting the watch; it should be fun!

  5. mersguy says:

    Stunning choice Pospíšková Irena and graphic Bccmee ☺ In answer to you’re question, a short answer NO! Oh thud those lashes…..dreamy ♥

  6. lovemrthornton says:

    You already know by my user name that this would be my absolute favorite.

  7. Oh. My. Goodness! Drop dead gorgeous. Not sure Hubs would appreciate me accepting yet another marriage proposal, but if I was still single…heck yeah!! Of course that make me 20 years younger and totally not appropriate. JUST kidding.

    I’ve been swamped lately so haven’t had much time to comment but I’ve been tuning in daily! Thanks for a fantastic job, B!!!

  8. titianminx says:

    Latest piccie great, love the “canvas” background making it look like a painting! OMG marriage proposal think I’d have leapt on him!! Got to calm myself down now….LOL

  9. Faboamanto says:

    I’m an RA eyelash woman myself! Gorgeous and romantic graphic Bccmee. Thanks Prospiskova Irena for the beautiful Thornton.

    The answer to the first question is YES! Would have accepted his proposal in a second and never let him go. (Since I’m more of a Geraldine Granger than a Margaret, that would be a double yes).
    I am very much an eyelash woman and I think Thornton’s eyelashes are not only beautiful but so very expressive.

  10. tyme4t says:

    lovely graphic again! you amaze me (even though I haven’t commented in a few days…the other graphics were great too – especially Lucas & London night sky!!!)
    Here’s my thinking on the proposal…if I had accepted the first one…then there would not have been THE kiss at the station 😉 And girls – that was a kiss I would not want to miss out on!
    as for his eyelashes – they make my ❤ flutter!

  11. Teuchter says:

    Terrific graphic Bcc and a wonderful choice of picture – not one of the better known ones – Prospiskova Irena, so thank you! My answer to his proposal would have been a resounding YES!! before I swooned at his feet! (Obviously Margaret was made of sterner stuff!!) I have always found his eyelashes amazing and they seem to emphasize his manly beauty! I can’t help but stare at them.

    In keeping with the John Thornton theme, Bcc, I hope you don’t mind me including this link to an amazing video I found recently. The words seemed perfect and it made me all emotional so that I fell for him all over again!! 🙂

    http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xqa588_john-thornton-is-not-from-here-north-south_shortfilms

  12. Carolyn says:

    That is just lovely, Bccmee! Fits him so well!

  13. Sighhhhh! Richard Armitage as John Thornton always makes me swoon. Lovely image and siggie everyone.
    Cheers! Grati ;->

  14. I love the texture and filter you used. John’s silhouette is encompassed by light!!

  15. ItsJSforMe says:

    Terrific cap choice, Pospíšková Irena! Love the textured background, bccmee. And you know I’m a fan of the Porcelain filter!

  16. beengizzied says:

    You’ve shown John at his most beautiful, Team 27. I love how the bottom edge of his sideburn is parallel with his collar, his shell-like ear, the worry lines between his brows and the little tuft of hair that has sprung forward (perhaps in exasperation). Were Margaret’s eyes closed?

    I would take him up on his proposal but there’d have to be a contract covering:
    – Getting his work-life balance right (no more falling asleep on his desk)
    – An exclusivity clause re his luxurious eyelash batting (just for me)

  17. Judit says:

    Do you even need to ask that question, Bcc???? (I mean the first one! 🙂 I’d ask him, what have you been waiting for and where have you been all my life??? 🙂 As for the eyelashes, I’m rather envious of them as mine aren’t half as long as his!! NOT fair!!!

  18. Holliday says:

    I love this graphic. It’s so well done.

    Heck yeah I’d accept the first proposal. I wanted to slap Margaret for refusing him(one of the many moments I wanted to slap Margaret come to think of it). I thought she was kinder in her refusal to Henry than she was to John. John told her he loved her, Henry didn’t. And good heavens, yes, the man has gorgeous eyelashes to go with those gorgeous baby blues of his.

  19. Pospíšková Irena says:

    Bccmee ah, thanks for your time and work. I knew that my heart leaps when I see your artwork on the theme of John Thornton and love. Thank you, thank you! On the question of what I said at the Proposal …I just wonder as Margaret could refuse him. I would have been stunned and I would say yes and then he had to go to resurrect me delicately… hihi…And his eyelashes? What can I say – like wrinkles raven feathers that protect the sapphire well … I love it.
    Thank you very much once again!

    • bccmee says:

      @Pospíšková Irena: I’m delighted you enjoyed our little project. Thank you very much for your lovely contributions of a song and a John Thornton screencap!

      Perhaps when he resurrected you, he’d carry you to the couch, hehe. Mmm, I like the way you beautifully describe John Thornton’s eyelashes. ♥

  20. phylly3 says:

    Lovely and luminous artwork, Bccmee! As for your questions–l can’t imagine ever saying No to Thorton. Plus as I have always been an eye admirer, his eyelashes have long been a favourite with me!

  21. bccmee says:

    @Everyone: Wow, most of you would say “yes” to John Thornton’s first marriage proposal. I would say “yes” to those eyelashes at least. ♥

    Thanks to Teuchter for the link to a N&S fanvideo: http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xqa588_john-thornton-is-not-from-here-north-south_shortfilms I’d not seen that before and it’s lovely. I know the vidder and she’s a great Lara Fabian fan. 🙂

  22. Ania says:

    Oh, Mr. Thornton ♥ sigh.
    Beautiful graphic!

  23. april73 says:

    OMG OMG OMG…

    Wonderful siggie and pic choice Irena and Bccmee. ❤

    Answer to questions :

    1) I will answer yes, yes, yessssssssss !!!
    2) Everything is beautiful in him : eyelashes, yes, lips, etc. Swooooon…

  24. magwi says:

    Unusual but lovely choice of pic Pospíšková Irena and lovely, simple graphic bccmee. Love it! ♥

    Of course I would say Yes! Why risk the chance of someone else stealing him away first? (lovemrthornton I’ve talking about you! LOL!) 😀

    Those eyelashes are simply stunning. A girl could get blown over by them in just one flutter *swoon* 😉

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.

