Graphic a Day in May 2012 – Day 18

The weekend is fast approaching! Hope you’re having a lovely Friday.

Our sceencap today comes to us from jazzbaby1 who has her own music and poetry blog: FunkyBlueDandelion. She chose an image of Richard Armitage as Ricky Deeming from George Gently. Jazzbaby1 also recommended the song “Hot, Hot Papa” sung by David Wilcox. Thanks so much, jazzbaby1!

Here’s your base image:

Screencap courtesy of RichardArmitageNet.Com

Here’s your graphic of the day:


Riveting

First, I fired up the song suggested by jazzbaby1. I placed the base image in a layer and duplicated it. Due to the riveting and topsy-turvy sounds of the song, I chose to apply the SpinRadialBlur effect using Adobe’s Pixel Blender plug-in to the second Ricky picture. There was a blank space and I tried filling it with another full-face image and it just didn’t work for me. Then I got the idea of a different perspective of Ricky Deeming and so I went to RichardArmitageNet.Com and found the following promo picure:

I clipped out the second figure, darkened it a bit and added a drop shadow. As an experiment, I duplicated this layer and added a SpinRadialBlur and Motion Blur. I often try things out that don’t work and then I undo them, but this time I liked the additional effect. Finally I added the text “RIVETING” using the AR DESTINE font with the Drop Shadow and Satin effects applied. The song was a really great fit for the Ricky Deeming character!

If you had a motorcycle and lots of riding lessons with Ricky Deeming, where would you ride?

This entry was posted in Collaborative Project, Graphics, richard armitage and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Graphic a Day in May 2012 – Day 18

  1. Faboamanto says:

    I’m off to work today singing “Hot,Hot, Papa”….a graphic that is as dynamic as Ricky – love it Bccmee and thank you jazzbaby1 for the great song and for picking Ricky Deeming.

    Don’t know if I would ride in that motorcycle – don’t want Ricky to have an accident. But he better watch out, I might steal that white scarf!

  2. magwi says:

    Love that pic jazzbaby1 and the song certainly brought out the artist in you bccmee. 😀

    All that movement reminds me of my favourite Futurist painting Dynamism of a Dog on a Leash by Giacomo Balla.

    http://bittleston.com/artists/giacomo_balla/

    Me and Ricky Deeming on a bike? I would have to get him to take me a trip through the Glencoe. http://scottishgeology.files.wordpress.com/2012/02/cs_glencoe.jpg

    Well done again bccmee.♥

  3. Chrissy says:

    Wow!! I love Ricky Deeming …. what a great siggy Bccmee!! Well done.

  4. Snicker's Mom says:

    This whole package is perfect, the siggie and the song!!!! Great choices jazzy and bccmee!!!!

  5. jazzbaby1 says:

    Wow, what a great sig, B! Glad you liked the song, too!

  6. Holliday says:

    I’ve been picking up some cool new music through this project. Love the siggie and the song too.
    I’m not a big fan of motorcycles, but if I was riding with Ricky in front of me, I wouldn’t care where we went.

  7. Hi Bccmee!
    Kudos to you and Jazzy for your siggie with her image choice! I love the blur. The blur for me is evocative of motion, tension, and the discontent that is at Ricky Deeming’s core.
    Here was yet another of Richard Armitage’s layered character portrayals in which he transformed what could have been a stereotypical “hood” character into full multidimensional reality.
    Well done! Grati ;->

  8. Nice! I love the blurring effect! Ah, RA looks soooo nice in leather.

    • My thoughts exactly! And I love the musical suggestion. I can definitely imagine that playing through my earbuds as I take a ride on the back of that motorcycle – preferably to somewhere far, far away so the drive would take a long time! LOL,

  9. Teuchter says:

    Yet another guest appearance in a series where he acts his socks off!! This is a great “marriage” of picture and music, jazzbaby1 and what you did with it Bcc, is inspired as usual. Love it!!! I’m actually scared of motorcycles, having been only on one once in my lifetime but if it meant riding with Ricky I’m sure I can summon up the courage to sit behind him!! Such a great excuse to hug that leather-clad body as tightly as possible!! 😀 He can take me wherever his heart desires! 😉

    BTW – I love the promo picture and how the leathers seem to emphasize the breadth of his shoulders and his slim hips!! *sigh*

  10. servetus says:

    This is *so* jazzbaby. Beautiful 🙂

  11. Ana Cris says:

    Hi Bcc, There are so many new songs with your project!
    And as always your amazing talent!

  12. Kathleen says:

    Great choice of picture and music ladies! Ricky is indeed a hot, hot papa as Bcc so well illustrates.

    As for the trip, I don’t know about riding a motorcycle by myself. I think I would be required to ride on the back if Ricky’s. We would head out west and visit all the well known and lesser known national parks. On the way back we would stop in a diner in Wyoming and find Hot, Hot Papa on the jukebox and dance to it.

  13. beengizzied says:

    All I can say Team Day 18 is
    Wooooooooooooooo Hooooooooooooooooo

  14. Ania says:

    Gorgeous graphic! Oh, I love RA in the leather.:)

  15. Jennie says:

    Yet another wonderful graphic B! You have such imagination…….and the whole is executed with precision and flair. I am still following this project daily and learning lots from it! Thanks for your “method.”

    Ricky’s time was my teenage heyday, and I had my own bike (not a Norton, but my then boyfriend had one which I did ride…very heavy!)……I sold my last bike in 1987. RA on a bike would be a dream, and we’d go to the Isle of Man and ride the TT course……..where else!

    Thanks again B!

  16. Mezz says:

    What a great match with pic and music jazzbaby! Love the siggie, bcc. Thankyou for continuing with your explanations, I’m taking notes now that I have the software!

  17. Beachbaby says:

    Fab pic & music Jazzbaby 🙂 Amazing graphic Bccmee – riveting indeed!
    If I was riding with Ricky I would want to be on the back of the bike pressed up tight against him – then it would be hot hot Mama me!

    Talking of blokes in leather on bikes…….. .

    🙂

  18. bccmee says:

    @Everyone: Wow, you have such great ideas for where to go on a road trip with Ricky! Riding behind him sounds rather pleasant, hehe. Maybe he’ll loan you his white scarf if you get chilled. “Riding with Ricky” sounds like it could be a documentary style reality show. I’d tune in for sure and would mail a postcard if that would mean a chance to join him in an episode. 😉 I love the idea of stopping at a diner and playing “Hot, Hot Papa” on the jukeox and then again through earbuds for a soundtrack while riding.

    Wow, I love the art of Gicamoa Balla with the sense of motion! Great song by Blur even though the reference to the name of the band was lost on me at first since I was intrigued by the font! LOL re: Little Guy on a Vespa! Do you think he could keep up with Ricky Deeming?

    If you’re embarking on graphics editing, have fun! To me, that’s the most important thing. I am so enjoying the exposure to different types of music and experimenting with new ideas. 😀

  19. Judit says:

    Wow, what a cool combination of song and picture! Music suits Ricky to a T! Congrats jazzbaby and Bcc! Have to say I have a morbid fear of riding on a motorbike, I only did it once (riding on a motorbike behind a guy) and it was one of the scariest experiences of my life…So I’m afraid I’d say no even if it was Ricky who asked me to ride with him! 🙂

  20. april73 says:

    Lovely pic of Richard as Ricky Deeming Jazzbaby1. 🙂

    Bravo Bccmee for the sweet siggie. 🙂

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.

