Graphic a Day in May 2012 – Day 17

Welcome to Thursday! 😀

Today’s Richard Armitage BAFTA picture from 2010 was selected by pamsingh, who specifically requested a black and white version. She added, “And the song choice is ‘Unforgettable’ by Nat King Cole which is so apt seeing how RA has taken up permanent residence in my brain: http://youtu.be/S1UEzL9poPM.”

A classic song and a classy photo! Thank you, pamsingh.

Here’s your base image which is converted to black and white:

BAFTA picture courtesy of RichardArmitageNet.Com

Here’s your graphic:


Unforgettable Richard Armitage

Once again, the song was a real influence. ♫ ♪ ♪ Who can forget Richard Armitage in a tuxedo? ♥

To start off this graphic, I clipped out the figure and added a drop shadow and an inner shadow. I found another image to add and also converted it to black and white:

I clipped out this figure too. I tried to put in the full image for a rare “full body” shot but he was too tiny. I even tried putting him next to an Academy Award scaled to the same size, but that didn’t work since I was going for a more serious tone in this graphic. 😀

There was space to fill and I tried various things including the aforementioned Academy Award as well as a Golden Globe and a BAFTA but none of them seemed to suit. Finally I thought of the comedy/tragedy masks and found a cool version created by a sculptor:

I set the comedy/tragedy masks layer to the Lighter Color blend mode so it would melt into the background. The word “UNFORGETTABLE” is written in the Orator Std font and Richard Armitage’s name uses the Sweetly Broken font. The red line was just drawn in with a brush. I made the line straight by clicking and releasing the mouse, then shift-clicking the other end of the line. As some of you may know, I literally can’t draw a straight line, LOL!

For the background, I used some very subtle textures set to low opacity over a solid black layer.

The song made for great listening as I played around with different ideas for this graphic! 😀

Do you think Richard Armitage will win any major acting awards for The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey? If so, which ones?

This entry was posted in Collaborative Project, Graphics, richard armitage and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Graphic a Day in May 2012 – Day 17

  1. Faboamanto says:

    Great choice of photo and song pamsingh and unforgettable graphic Bccmee. There’s something special about B&W photos and love the masks.

    My dream would be that he wins best actor for The Hobbit, but hoping for Best Supporting Actor a the BAFTA’s and yes, at the Oscars.

  2. Wow! Just wow! He is really unforgettable. Bravo pamsingh for your wonderful choices and Bccmee for your amazing work.

  3. Emma says:

    Very, very good choice, pamsingh! Lovely combination of pictures, B.

    We’ve all read about the detail that Richard is putting into Thorin. I certainly hope both BAFTA and the Oscars recognize that. With all those dwarves, I’m guess Best Supporting Actor would be the category. Here’s hoping!

  4. Chrissy says:

    Lovely choice of photo pamsingh … and beautifully made into a gorgeous sig, bccmee. This particular look is probably my favourite RA look …. hope he reverts to it after The Hobbit!!

  5. cdoart says:

    What a wonderful siggie, bccmee and pamsingh! I love the seriousness and hope RA will win lots of awards. Your grafic certainly deserves quite a number of highranking awards ;o)

  6. Snicker's Mom says:

    Beautiful!

  7. titianminx says:

    Love the music choice, honey voiced late great Nat King Cole. PERFECTION!!

  8. jeanniegisborne says:

    Black and white photos have a very classy appeal. Lovely song choice and photo pamsingh.
    Well put together B 🙂

  9. ItsJSforMe says:

    “Unforgettable,” indeed! A classic song, a classy photo, and a classy siggie – a trifecta!!! I guess if you add in “a classy man,” you could call it a superfecta. 😀 Yeah, I like this one!

    Thanks bccmee and pamsingh!!

  10. phylly3 says:

    He certainly is “unforgettable” and what a lovely inspiration for your beautiful graphic! I fully expect RA will be nominated for Best Supporting Actor, if not in the Oscars, than perhaps in the People’s Choice or Golden Globe Awards.

  11. pamsingh says:

    Thank you Bccmee for this outstanding graphic! You’ve captured that enigmatic element that sets him apart from the rest. And thanks everyone for your lovely comments 🙂 I don’t know how else to put it but to say that RA affects me at a cellular level and I wish great success and happiness for him and hopefully an Academy Award or Bafta in the mix 🙂 Thank you once again Bccmee, I really love the graphic!

    • bccmee says:

      @pamsingh: Thanks for your contributions of a black & white BAFTA picture and the wonderful song to go along with it! RA is really gorgeous in his tuxedo and he did a great job in presenting an award. Can’t wait until the day he is on the receiving end of an award!

  12. Carolyn says:

    Very classy siggie, very classy man and very unforgettable man!

  13. beengizzied says:

    And the Oscar goes to …. Team Day 17.
    The masks make me think I’d like to see him win an award for a Greek toga role.

  14. I am looking into Richard Armitage’s kind face again just now–the pose with him looking straight into the camera–and it is a balm for my weary soul. Thank you.

  15. Ania says:

    Wonderful! Absolutely brilliant!♥
    I wish him the same awards which Faboamanto mentioned!

  16. IngeD3 says:

    Sexiest man alive 2012? He’s got my vote!!
    Another beauty, Bccmee!

  17. Holliday says:

    Love the song and it does fit so well with your siggie. It turned out really well.

    Richard is such a fantastic actor. He puts a lot of thought and preparation into each part he plays, even the small ones. I fully expect him to get an Oscar and a BAFTA for his part in The Hobbit.

  18. tyme4t says:

    This girl’s crazy for this sharp dressed man!

  19. Beachbaby says:

    I love this pic and the song – great choice Pamsingh – made into a beautiful sig 🙂
    As for an award – I am so biased I think he deserves an Oscar for just standing around looking gorgeous!

  20. I agree. Black & white is an amazing effect on this official photo from the BAFTA event.
    The ancient theatrical masks remind me of performances on stage….maybe one day….

  21. magwi says:

    Good choice of pic Pamsingh and that graphic is simply stunning bccmee. ♥

    Yes I would like to see RA up to win an Oscar or BAFTA, but then I want him to win Rear of the Year too! 😉

  22. bccmee says:

    @Everyone: Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts! You came up with some awards I hadn’t considered, such as Sexiest Man Alive and winning an award for standing around looking gorgeous. Yes! ♥ Thorin could be RA’s next breakout role and hopefully we’ll see him in more and more films. His looks and talent certainly belong on the big screen, even if he’s wearing a toga, LOL! He truly is unforgettable as the song says.

    RA certainly did an excellent job presenting at the BAFTAs and I’m looking forward to the day he’s on the receiving end of an award.

  23. Teuchter says:

    EEEK!! I see I failed to comment so far!! Must have been the gorgeous B&W picture of Richard that did my head in!! 😉 Stunning man, stunning graphic and to top it all, the “Unforgettable” Nat King Cole! Perfection ladies!

  24. Judit says:

    He’s certainly the Sexiest Man Alive as far as I’m concerned, no one even comes close! 🙂 I’m afraid though that no Oscar nomination will come his way for Thorin- even though I’m sure he will be awesome- actors very, very rarely get nominated for awards for roles in fantasy films.

  25. april73 says:

    Pamsingh, I love your pics choice. ❤

    Bccmee, your siggie is… wooooooow !!! 🙂

    I expect him to get an BAFTA or an Oscar because he deserve it. 🙂

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.

