Graphic a Day in May 2012 – Day 16

Happy Wednesday! How’s your week going so far?

Today’s image of Richard Armitage as Harry Kennedy was selected by Gratiana, who has a blog of her own: Something About Love. Thank you very much for your contributions, Gratiana! As most of you know by now, Harry Kennedy was my first Richard Armitage character. ♥

Here’s your base image:

Screencap courtesy of RichardArmitageNet.Com

Here’s your graphic of the day:


Harry Kennedy

Gratiana suggested the song “You’re My Best Friend” by Queen which definitely gave me a smile while I played with this graphic. 🙂

For starters, I clipped out the Harry Kennedy figure and added an adjustment layer to brighten him up a bit. I tried changing the color of his sweater but decided to keep the brown tones. Then I got to thinking of the accoutrements for an accountant and came up with the ledger book, calculator, pencil, briefcase and eyeglasses.

I wanted a sense of movement and connection so I drew some lines, including curves and a square root symbol, with the pen tool. I right-clicked on each pen path and chose Stroke Path. I also added some drop shadows.

For more depth I added some manilla folders. Using the pen tool, I cut them out manually and added a small amount of noise using the Filter > Noise > Add Noise command. I then gave each folder layer a drop shadow. The text “Harry Kennedy” was written in the MV Boli font and I applied a stroke (outline) to match the sweater.

There you have it! Harry Kennedy looks nothing like any accountant I know.  😉

Can you think of any other accountant symbols? What would you do if Harry Kennedy moved in next door and you’re both single?

This entry was posted in Collaborative Project, Graphics, richard armitage and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Graphic a Day in May 2012 – Day 16

  1. april73 says:

    Richard is soooo cute as Harry.

    Lovely pic choice Gratiana and bravo Bccmee for the siggie. .-)

  2. Elaine says:

    Great choices by both of you, Gratiana and Bccmee. Isn’t Harry a cutie?!

  3. Mezz says:

    Darling Harry was my first chaRActer love too. Great choice of pic, Gratiana, and another lovely graphic, bcc.
    If Harry moved in next door, I’d do the neighbourly thing and take him in a bottle of wine and pasta, and hope like hell that he asked me to share the meal with him. 🙂

  4. Emma says:

    So fun, B! Great choice, Gratiana! It’s fun to watch Richard play Harry Kennedy, as it’s so different from his usual tough, dark, broody characters.

  5. Nice addition to the image!

  6. Chrissy says:

    Beautiful sig of the gorgeous Harry. It was “Harry” who created my “first falling for Richard” moment!! Then when I realised he was also Sir Guy …. I was overjoyed.
    If he moved in next door, Id be convinced Id woken up in heaven!!

  7. Awwww this is so cute!!! I’m sure Geraldine would love it too 😀

  8. Harry!♥♡ You’ve made me happy with all these fab works!
    Thanks for sharing!

  9. jeanniegisborne says:

    Grati, your choice of smiling sweet Harry is wonderful and you picked the right song too. 🙂
    B, I love what you did with it! 🙂

  10. magwi says:

    Well chosen Gratiana and well done bccmee. You’ve made accountancy look quite dynamic. 😀

    If Harry moved in next door to me I’d be the first to offer to help unpack his boxes. 😉

    I think nowadays Harry would be using spreadsheets on an i-Pad, and I’d be offering to help him with that too! ROFL!

  11. ItsJSforMe says:

    Great choice, Gratiana! Bccmee…very clever!!

  12. I love preppy Harry 🙂 !

  13. Brooke says:

    Great choice, Gratiana. Bccmee, you always seem to put the details well together without it looking tacky or thrown together. The colors and the choices of images were done well.

  14. cdoart says:

    Your little added things are just a perfect characterization of Harry Kennedy, bccmee. Thank you!

  15. Teuchter says:

    Aaaah!!! The sweet and ever lovable Harry! Wonderful choice of picture Gratiana and the music was a perfect match! As usual Bcc you floor me with your incredible talents.

    What would I do if Harry moved in next door?? I’d have to be HALF the age I am now for a start, for anything to come of it!! 😀 As an icebreaker perhaps borrow a book?? Oh dear! I’m way too old to even contemplate anything else! Lol!! It’s nice to dream though!! 😉

  16. titianminx says:

    Ooo he looks so cute. Great pic.I’d love to have Harry as a neighbour. Be perfect, so much nicer than the grumpy farmer I have got!!

  17. Leigh Vondereau says:

    Lovely image, Bccmee. I’d love to have Harry as a neighbor. (As a matter of fact, the casita next door is for sale…) I’d do the neighborly thing, of course, and offer him tea. tapas, a bottle of wine, a list of the local phone numbers, a train schedule, etc., as well as access to my library. Not likely he’d fall for me, but just having him around would make me smile.

  18. beengizzied says:

    On balance I see that Team Day 16 are well in credit. If Harry was next door I’d invite him in to see my collection of slide rules.

  19. Beachbaby says:

    Aww – such a cute pic & great choice Gratiana. And the graphic – OMG this accountant just LOVES it! Feeling quite nostalgic (almost!) Back in the day Harry would also have needed a diary, a note pad for working papers and as he is a tax accountant some kind of Master Tax Guide ;).
    As for being my neighbour? Wander over with a bottle of red……….. 😉

  20. jacqui_coinyard says:

    “What would you do if Harry Kennedy moved in next door and you’re both single?”

    Hmmm tricky.. suppose I was as funny as Geraldine and Harry came to say hello the ice may have been broken..
    Another lovely RA smile and a lovely sig! 🙂

  21. Carolyn says:

    Perfect siggie for Harry! He’s such a cutie!

  22. Holliday says:

    Technically Harry was my first full exposure to Richard. I’d seen him briefly at the end of an episode of Robin Hood as I was channel surfing. It was that brief glimpse that made me want to know more about him(how did we live before Google and Wikipedia?). I watched Vicar of Dibley on youtube and thought Harry was adorable(Richard too). I’ve been hooked on RA ever since.

    When we first moved into our house our neighbors made us a cake to welcome us to the neighborhood, so I would probably do that if Harry moved in next door. Then invite him to dinner.

  23. tyme4t says:

    love love love this siggie….Harry Kennedy is just perfect in every possible way.
    I would of course welcome him to the neighbourhood and let him know that he could come to me with any questions about where things were in town. Maybe eventually ask him to do my taxes, over dinner and some wine……….. 😉

  24. Thais says:

    Oh, lovely Harry!!! Nice ideas for the siggie, Bccmee. Well done! 😀

  25. Ania says:

    I love Gratiana’s choice of pictures and I love your graphic B.♥!
    If Harry would be my new neighbor I’d show him my city, and especially beautiful park because ..hmm… you know there are a few benches in a pretty quiet place. 😉

  26. Mariana says:

    I like very much your graphic Bccmee and also Gratiana’s choice of picture! Harry is so charming!

  27. Dear Friend Bccmee,
    Thank you so much for the lovely Harry Kennedy siggie! Sighhhhh! I just love his uncomplicated and cheerful manner–such a contrast to Richard Armitage’s other characters. Ha! And you’ve captured the focused technical business side of Harry with his calculator, ledger, and briefcase. Ooh! And we must not forget your including his glasses and pencil–since they are important plot points. Tee hee!

    And thanks for everyone admiring my image choice. Richard Armitage as Harry Kennedy is such a sweetheart. I just want to bake him some brownies (with powdered sugar on top) and sit by the fire munching them with him. Sighhhhh! Chocolate and Harry–could life be any more perfect? Ha!

    And thanks so much for providing a link to my blog. You’re the best! And gals, between Bccmee’s continually encouraging me to start my blog last year–she felt my word count was more blog length than just FB, Ha!–and Judiang talking me through setting up my blog’s settings, I owe both of them a great debt of gratitude. Thank you ladies! You’re both wonderful friends and mentors. I’m having a blast!

    Thanks again and Cheers! Grati ;->
    P.S. Here’s hoping that Richard Armitage chooses to do a lighthearted romantic comedy sometime in his future. I want his character to: live, get the girl and live happily ever after, and not need to use weapons of any kind. Sighhhh!

    • bccmee says:

      @Gratiana: Your words are so true! Harry Kennedy is a sweet uncomplicated chap. LOL re: chocolate and Harry! A gReAt combination! 😛 Let’s hope your wish becomes ReAlity for a romantic comedy role someday as it’s my dReAm too!

  28. What a beautiful smile harry has!Thank you Gratiana for to suggest this picture and you BCc for this lovely siggie.

  29. bccmee says:

    @Everyone: Such nice ideas for meeting Harry Kennedy if he should move in next door. I’d probably just steal all your ideas and steal the man. However, I don’t have any slide rules, LOL! I’d also avoid any puddles. 😉 Have to admit, in real life I have possibly the best next-door-neighbor in New York City.

    Also, you definitely came up with more accountant tools than I thought of: an iPad for creating spreadsheets, diary, notepad and a tax guide! They may make great gifts for Harry Kennedy. Too bad he’s not real. 😉 Since he’s fictional, I guess we can all share him so I redacted my earlier statement of stealing him. *giggle*

    The Harry Kennedy character demonstrates that Richard Armitage can do comedy! Hope to see some more….

  30. Judit says:

    Ohhh, what a sight, Harry on a charm offensive..*sigh* Gratiana, I really adore your choice of pic as Harry was my first chaRActer love too! Amazing, is he not? What would I do if he moved next door- well, you guys came up with such fantastic ideas, I really have nothing to add! 🙂 Love the siggie, Bcc, but that goes without saying! 🙂 I’ll be sad when May comes to an end!

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.

