Graphic a Day in May 2012 – Day 14

How was your weekend? I had a great time visiting the Metropolitan Museum of Art here in New York City. 🙂 There I saw about 40 Monet paintings! I like to pop in every few months and each time I make sure to drop by the Impressionist paintings.

Today’s promo picture of Richard Armitage as Claude Monet comes to us from Mezz. Thank you, Mezz!

Here’s your base image:

Here’s your graphic of the day:

To start, I applied the Artworx filter from Xero Graphics Plugins. Then I cut out Monet and applied the filter again with stronger settings to the background.

Early in the process, I had the idea of using an ornate frame. I found this with a Google image search:

Since I had cut out Monet, it was an easy task to have him pop out of the frame. I also added a drop shadow.

There was plenty of room to fill in the siggie so I went on the hunt for another image and frame. When I found “Venice Twilight” by Claude Monet, I chose it so I could have the tip of the building stick out the top of the frame. Perhaps Mezz’s music choice, Norah Jones singing “Sunrise,” had something to do with it!

Here’s the other frame:

For the background, I used this cracked wall image:

I set this cracked wall texture to the Subtract blend mode over a pale green layer. Finally I added Claude Monet’s signature:

I set the layer with Monet’s signature to the Multiply blend mode so the white would fade into the background. Should Monet be writing on the wall?  😉

At the museum on Saturday, I was admiring “The Monet Family in Their Garden at Argenteuil” (1874) by Édouard Manet when I read the little plaque. I transcribed it below.

In the late 1860s, Édouard Manet was Claude Monet’s hero. By 1874, they had become friends and Manet came under the sway of Monet’s approach to painting quickly, out of doors. This portrait of the Monet family–Camille Monet and Jean, with Claude Monet gardening at the left–is one of Manet’s most significant essays in this new style.

In 1924, Monet recounted the circumstances of the day in his garden at Argenteuil: “Manet, enthralled by the color and the light, undertook an outdoor painting of figures under trees. During the sitting, Renoir arrived…. He asked me for palette, brush and canvas, and there he was, painting away alongside Manet. The latter was watching him out of the corner of his eye…. Then he made a face, passed discreetly near me, and whispered in my ear about Renoir: ‘He has no talent, that boy! Since you are his friend, tell him to give up painting!'”

Renoir and Manet both gave their pictures to Monet. Renoir’s painting is now in the National Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.


I just learned something I’d not known before: Claude Monet’s son Jean married Alice Hoschedé’s daughter, Blanche. You may recall that Claude and Alice wed after they were both widowed. Sounds complicated!  😀

If you could interview Monet, what question would you ask?

This entry was posted in Collaborative Project, Graphics, richard armitage and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Graphic a Day in May 2012 – Day 14

  1. april73 says:

    Great pic choice Mezz. 🙂

    Bccmee, once again, congratulations for your very nice siggie. 🙂

  2. Mezz says:

    Thankyou so much for this fabulous siggie, bccmee. I love Monet’s work so to have that beautiful painting included in the graphic makes it extra special. 🙂
    What question would I ask Monet? Mmm, I’ll have to think about that!

    • bccmee says:

      @Mezz: I was not familiar with that “Venice Twilight” painting and I learned it hangs in a museum in Japan. I really appreciate your beautiful contributions! Thanks for choosing Monet…you were the only one! 😀

      • Mezz says:

        As I said at the time, I figured Claude could do with more lovin’! 🙂
        IMO it’s a role of Richard’s that tends to be overshadowed by Guy et al, yet in its own quieter, gentler way is just as powerful a characterisation.
        I loved how you spent time at the MMA looking at Monet’s paintings before doing the graphic, and added the extra information. It all tied in beautifully!! 🙂

  3. Very beautiful Bccmee! and lovely choice Mezz. I love the Impressionism as an art movement and obviously our beloved RAMonet 😉
    My question for Monet would be: If you were given the chance to paint again one and only one of your old paintings, which one would you choose and would you paint it differently?

  4. Leigh Vondereau says:

    Beautiful! I would ask, if you had to choose two of your paintings to hang in your house, that you would see every day, which two would you choose? If you could choose any two of your contemporaries’ works, what would you choose?

  5. Emma says:

    Lovely, B! Wonderful picture choice, Mezz! I like it because it looks like Richard, but not completely. You can believe he’s a young Claude Monet in this picture. If I could ask him a question? I think I’d ask if he had a favourite painting.

  6. Kathleen says:

    I love the Metropolitan Museum of Art, always some new surprise to see. Obviously you used that inspiration to our benefit with today’s graphic. Question for Monet – was there someplace you wanted to go to paint and never got the chance? Can you imagine paintings of the Acropolis or the Taj Mahal made on different days and in different light? Thanks again Bcc and Mezz.

  7. gracie says:

    I absolutely love Monet/ Renoir/Impressionists. I have always wanted to visit the Met Museum of Art and the Louvre. It is on my bucket list. This is the next best thing since we have RA too. Fabulous work as usual.And my, oh my, does he not look delicious as Monet????

  8. Lovely! You know how much I enjoy your projects!!!
    I adore that room at the MET where you are surrounded by Monet paintings of the water lilies. I would then sneak to the top terrace bar and have a Margarita in a plastic cup, looking over Central Park. Oh, happy days! That’s one of my most precious of memories 🙂

  9. Chrissy says:

    How very beautiful this siggy is. Thankyou also for sharing the article about Edouard Manet’s painting of the Monet family. If there was a question I could ask Monet, it would be if he liked Richard’s portrayal of him in “The Impressionists” – and of the overall documentary.

  10. servetus says:

    I would ask: why didn’t you destroy more of your work? (I am neutral to negative on Monet). Nice graphic, though!

  11. Faboamanto says:

    Just love this graphic Bccmee with Monet’s work and the great pic that Mezz selected. The Impressionist was the second time I saw Richard Armitage, after N&S. Thank you also B for the Manet story and painting.
    What I would ask Monet:
    You were a revolutionary in your day, yet today your paintings can be found printed on shopping bags and all sorts of consumer items. Does this shock you or are you happy that your work is so widely known and accepted?

  12. jeanniegisborne says:

    Excellent graphic, B! thank you Mezz, for you suggestion. 🙂
    If it were true that Monet would not have relations with Alice Hoschede until she was divorced or widowed, I’d congratualate him on his morals and ethics!

  13. Carolyn says:

    Gorgeous Monet siggie!

  14. IngeD3 says:

    Another beauty – both the graphic work and RA as Monet! 🙂
    Oh, now I feel like watching The Impressionists again!!

  15. beengizzied says:

    Being a suspicious type when it comes to men working around the house I think I’d ask “Were you really gardening or just putting it on because you were being painted by your friends?” Lovely post Team Day 14.

  16. Teuchter says:

    I always thought Richard was fantastic as Monet – another character that he managed to bring to life by his superb acting. Wonderful choice of picture and music, Mezz! You (and Richard!) lifted me up today just when I needed it most. I got a call this morning to say that a very dear friend has been diagnosed with terminal cancer so the base image and the lovely graphic you made from it Bcc, just warmed my heart.

    What would I ask Monet? I think I would ask him if he was attracted to Alice Hoschede when he first met her or did their love develop over a period of time after Camille’s death?

    • Mezz says:

      Sorry to hear that you have had sad news about your dear friend, Teuchter. *hugs* It’s gratifying to know that Richard and I (love the sound of that!) helped in some way through Claude and Norah.

      • Teuchter says:

        “Richard and I” sounds really good, doesn’t it!! 🙂 I have to thank you Mezz! It really meant a lot to read your comment.

  17. cdoart says:

    What a worthy frame for a worthy actor! Thank you, bccmee and Mezz. What a beautiful composition. I would like to frame it as well and hang it on my wall ;o)

  18. ItsJSforMe says:

    I would love to visit the Metropolitan Museum of Art! The Detroit Institute of Arts has a small selection of Impressionist paintings…and just one Monet (Gladioli). Thanks for sharing the Manet painting and transcribing the plaque. It’s fun to read the stories that go along with the paintings. 🙂

    Love the siggie, bccmee! Great choice, Mezz!

  19. Holliday says:

    Beautifully done. I’m not as familiar with Monet’s work as I am with other painters, but this makes me want to see more.

    The question I would ask him is if he agreed with Manet about Renoir.

  20. Hi Bccmee and Mezz,
    Lovely RA as Claude portrait and beautiful siggie! Sighhhh!
    I’m an impressionists fan from way back–De Gas ballerinas danced on my bedroom drapes growing up. And the Art Institute in Chicago has oodles of haystack paintings.
    Cheers! Grai ;->

  21. tyme4t says:

    lovely connection between the song & graphic again
    If Monet actually looked like RA then I would ask him “What constitutes a date?” and “How many dates before kissing with tongues?” 😉

    But if I actually could ask Claude Monet a question, I would ask him about his interest in trains.
    btw bccmee – thanks for the RAlief 😉

  22. Beachbaby says:

    Lovely to have Claude as the pic today. Great choice of pic & music Mezz! Such an interesting post today about Monet, I am another lover of the impressionists and your graphic today Bccmee is very evocative. I was lucky to be able to visit Giverny on my last trip to Europe so I would ask Monet about the design of his garden.

  23. Ania says:

    Absolutely love this one! 🙂 Thanks for the education post 🙂

  24. bccmee says:

    @Everyone: Thanks for your kind words on the collaborative graphic. It’s been very fun to work with different images at a RApid clip. 😉 I’m a massive fan of Impressionism and would have loved to have met Monet. He seems like a nice guy too, unlike some artists. The fact that he was ground-breaking and changed the face of art is very fascinating to me.

    I hope many of you can visit the Metropolitan Museum of Art and/or The Louvre if you’ve not already done so. The garden at Giverny sounds beautiful — I’ve not visited yet!

    You have some very thought-provoking (and sometimes funny) questions. I now wonder the same things as many of you: What painting would you paint again? Which paintings would you choose to hang in your house? What’s your favorite painting? What location do you wish you had painted? What do you think of the documentary and RA’s portrayal of you? How do you feel about your paintings now gracing everyday items? When did you start to have feelings for Alice? Do you agree with Manet about Renoir? How did you get interested in trains? What constitutes a date? Were you really gardening or just showing off for the painting?

    I think I’d ask him if he drew on the walls as a child like so many children in my acquaintance, LOL!

  25. Thais says:

    I’m really enjoying the mix of RA and art! Very nice of you transcribing the plaque related to “The Monet Family in Their Garden at Argenteuil”. Thanks!!! 😀

  26. Anonymous says:

    This is my favourite so far — I love that photo of RA as Monet! Of course the painting is perfect and so is everything else! C’est magnifique!

  27. Judit says:

    Sorry I’m late in commenting, I was away for a couple of days this week so I somehow missed this post! First of all, thank you Mezz for the wonderful picture choice. I’m not familiar with Norah Jones but I quite liked this song you selected. I adore Monet and the Impressionists in general, my favourite is Renoir, and I’m really,really glad he did not give up painting! Wonder if Manet was a little jealous of Renoir? I’d ask Monet if he was ever jealous of his fellow painters, or felt inferior to any of them and whether there was a painting of another artist which he wished he’d done himself. Finally, thank you Bcc, for yet another gorgeous piece of art! You’re amazing!

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.

