Graphic a Day in May 2012 – Day 13

How’s your Sunday going? As I write this, I’m listening to some music. It’s Mother’s Day in the states and I hope it’s a happy one for you! If you don’t celebrate, then I wish you a lovely Sunday. 😀

Today’s screencap was submitted by judiang. In case you didn’t realize, judiang has a blog too: Confessions of a Watcher.

Here’s your base image of Richard Armitage as Sir Guy of Gisborne:

Screencap courtesy of RichardArmitageNet.Com

And here’s your graphic:


Me + Guy

For this graphic, I didn’t cut out the figure but chose a whimsical tree carving. Judiang’s choice of song, “My Immortal” by Evanescence, had me thinking about perpetuity. Although in real-life I don’t condone carving into trees, it’s all right to do it virtually in Photoshop. 😀

My first attempts to “carve” out of the original tree were failures. I could not get a result I liked so I finally hunted down several tutorials and even they didn’t work. At last, I found this tutorial which only worked with wood, and not the tree with bark: Carving on wood in Photoshop. So I downloaded the plank of wood:

I rotated this piece of wood, roughened the edge and added light and shadow to make it look more like a rounded tree trunk. Then I followed the above tutorial to get the “Me + Guy” in the heart looking like it was carved. Many of us do love Guy so it seemed the perfect caption. 😉

If you were to open up a time capsule buried by Guy, what kinds of artifacts would you like to find?

This entry was posted in Collaborative Project, Graphics, richard armitage and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Graphic a Day in May 2012 – Day 13

  1. Chrissy says:

    ..Simply gorgeous ….. though I’d have Chrissy and Guy carved on the tree!!
    Im absolutely loving these graphics bccmee … I so look forward to them each day!! Thanks for sharing them and for explaining how you created them. its fascinating …. especially for those of us who have no clue how to do this sort of thing ourselves!! Thanks xxxxx

  2. tyme4t says:

    cute use of the tree carving…took me a minute though to notice because his stare is so wonderful!

    I would love to find this shirt as an artifact
    http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/RobinHood/album/seasontwo/Episode6/slides/rh206_049.html
    Now you may have to look ReAlly hard to see the shirt 😉

  3. Holliday says:

    I like the Me+Guy. It just goes so well with the picture. As to which artifacts, maybe his sword, his gloves and maybe a Marian memento, like her scarf or something.

  4. jacqui_coinyard says:

    What artifact? A lock of his curly hair? The leather coat? The gloves? So much to choose from.. Further I can add I agree with Chrissy’s post and make prints of some of the sigs for my notebook 🙂

  5. Judit says:

    Can we put Guy himself in the time capsule? I’d prefer him to any artifacts belonging to him…Love the stare, love the carving! *sigh*

  6. Leigh Vondereau says:

    Ah, Guy! Skip the candy, the silly stuff, and the flowers; I know what I’d like for Mothers’ Day. Thanks for the lovely graphic *sigh*

  7. Emma says:

    Lovely close up picture choice of Guy, judiang! Great song choice, too. Very fun graphic, B. From the timecapsule? I’d have to say the wedding ring he gave Marian at the end of series 1. Surely she gave it back to him, right? It’s the kind of thing he’d keep, I think

  8. Faboamanto says:

    Love that intense Guy stare. Great pic choice judiang, another lovely romantic Guy graphic Bccmee.
    In the timecapsule I would love to find Guy’s romantic poet black shirt from S3.
    http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/RobinHood/album/seasonthree/Episodeone/slides/1_062.html

  9. ItsJSforMe says:

    Judiang, you sure know how to pick ’em! 😛 That is one of my favorite Guy caps. The carving was a terrific idea, bcc…love the light and shadows that you applied to the wood!

  10. titianminx says:

    Utterly beautiful. Wonderful brooding stare, fantastic shading/shadows. Very moody! I think I would like to find in the time capsule maybe the famous leather coat and shirt. Well I’d be happy with anything that had belonged to “my Guy”!!

  11. Ania says:

    I really like the ME + GUY ♥ Judiang chose a beautiful picture and song.♥
    As for the artifact. As we know, Sir Guy was literate, so I’d like to find and be able to read his letters (maybe to Marian), because I believe deeply in his sensitive nature. *sigh*

  12. Carolyn says:

    *sigh* Me and Guy! Thank you!

  13. jeanniegisborne says:

    “Me and Guy” is lovely. Song goes well, too. I think I’d like to find in a time capsule, a lock of Guy’s hair. ~sigh~ 🙂

  14. magwi says:

    Great pic choice judiang. How intense is that look? *swoon*

    Lovely graphic for Mother’s Day bccmee. ♥

    And for me it would need to be the leather gloves….or maybe the black shirt…no…no…definitely the gloves. 🙂

    I am so enjoying these bccmee and you make me want to splurge and buy PhotoShop. One day soon perhaps. 😉

  15. beengizzied says:

    Lovely result from Team Day 13. I agree with Leigh Vondereau -much tastier than chocolates, much cosier than slippers.
    I think I’d like some viable DNA on a medieval swab to grow my own Guy.

  16. Hi Bccmee and Judiang,
    A simply stunning Guy image and Siggie! And I love the song video selection as well–one of my faves.
    Cheers! Grati ;->

  17. Beachbaby says:

    Just love that pic….sigh! Great choice Judiang 🙂 Lovely graphic too Bccmee. Goodness – what research you put in! Though I have admit a big bit of me wants to say “Guy & Me” LOL
    Love the song too!
    And as for the time capsule – definitely the leather pants so I can finally untie those laces! And the gloves. THUD!

  18. april73 says:

    Judiang, your pic choise is… woooooooooow !!! 🙂

    Bccmee, your siggie makes me swoon… bravo !!! 🙂

  19. bccmee says:

    @Everyone: Thanks again for your entertaining comments. To accommodate us all, that would have to be a big time capsule! Especially since it would include various shirts, gloves, locks of hair, leather coat, pants, sword, wedding ring, DNA, and Guy himself! If I had a time machine, I’d bring back Guy so we can help the man adjust to our way of life, but would want him to keep his choice of clothes, LOL!

    Long live Guy!!!

  20. Teuchter says:

    Coming very late to this but I was enjoying a busy but pleasurable Mother’s Day. Great to see all of my kids! My place looks like a flower shop!! 😀

    This is one of my favourite close-up pictures of S3 Guy. How amazing he looks in that picture! I still haven’t worked out how Richard manages to reveal lots more of the whites of his eyes at times. He does these looks to great effect and it isn’t how his eyes look when he is being “himself” if you know what I mean. Even his pupils are dilated in this shot! *swoon* The graphic is gorgeous and I love the ME and GUY inside the heart! ❤ ❤

    Thank you judiang for your choices and thank you Bccmee for what you created with them!! 🙂

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.

