Graphic a Day in May 2012 – Day 12

Welcome back for another graphic! We’re now on day 12.   🙂

Today our screencap comes to us courtesy of mariana.  Thanks very much, mariana!

Here is your base image of Richard Armitage as Sir Guy of Gisborne:

Screencap courtesy of RichardArmitageNet.Com

And here’s your graphic of the day:


Sir Guy, Master-at-Arms

As usual, I started by clipping out the figure. Then I began playing around with textures and blend modes which resulted in this while I was still in progress:

Since it started to look like a painting, I ran in that direction. Off I went to Wikipedia and snaffled this picture of the Mona Lisa by Leonardo da Vinci:

I’ve been fortunate enough to see this painting “live” and in person at the Louvre. 😀 I got to the museum early and used my very poor French speaking skills to ask where it was so I could beat the crowds. I’m not easily embarrassed, LOL! It was quite a sight and I stared for a long time.

Anyway, in my graphic I changed the blend mode of Guy to Hard Light and made sure his face was over skin tones and not the landscape background. I also tilted his head a bit and added a very slight drop shadow.

Finally I added the text “Sir Guy” in the Leonardo font and “Master-at-Arms” in NewStyleTitling.

As for the music, mariana wrote, “I’m sure you’ll find a beautiful song” so I listened to my good old standby of Miles Davis on Pandora online radio. 🙂

Thanks again for all your support! Hope you have a great weekend.

P.S. What is one of your favorite paintings?

This entry was posted in Collaborative Project, Graphics, richard armitage and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Graphic a Day in May 2012 – Day 12

  1. Luciana says:

    I loved the Sir Guy paiting!!! Congratulations… it’s really beautiful!!
    My favourite painter is Van Gogh and I love everything he did, specially the sunflowers series. And guess what…. I’m travelling today to Amsterdam and I obviously intend to visit the VG Museum and later I’ll tell you which one was may favourite!!! By the way, I’m sad because I’m going to miss the may project, but so far, everything is really wonderful!!! See you in June!!

  2. Holliday says:

    The detail is very good in the Sir Guy portrait. I like what you did with the picture. My favorite painter is also Van Gough. And I too like the sunflower series. I doubt I’ll ever get the chance to actually see the paintings though.

  3. tyme4t says:

    lovely graphic – another wonderful collaboration!
    I don’t really have a favourite painting ~ I am one of those “I’ll know I’ll like it when I see it.” I have to admit I always found it very relaxing to watch “The Joy of Painting” on PBS – it amazed me every time of his creation – Just like you BccMee! Although your cReAtions tend to make my heart race faster, cheeks glow blusher, giggles grow louder and swoons get swoonier…. 😉

  4. Brilliant, bccmee! You never stop surprising me!

  5. Emma says:

    Lovely, original picture of Sir Guy, Mariana!

    B, very clever to use the Mona Lisa background. Great graphic.

    I’ve seen the Mona Lisa too, and while surprisingly small, is incredible. I am a big Claude Monet fan (was even before Richard did “The Impressionists”; and if anyone hasn’t seen that film yet, I highly recommend it), and one of my favourites is “The Thames Below Westminster”
    http://www.nationalgallery.org.uk/cid-classification/classification/picture/claude-oscar-monet,-the-thames-below-westminster/282183/*/moduleId/ZoomTool/x/49/y/0/z/1

    Have a great day, everyone

  6. Ania says:

    It seems that Sir Guy smiles mysteriously as the Mona Lisa.LOL!
    Excellent job Bccmee!!!

  7. Chrissy says:

    I just want to stare and stare at that beautiful face!! Well done bccmee …. another masterpiece!!

  8. Hi Bccmee and Mariana,
    Love the siggie! RH 3 Sir Guy always gets my blood rushing. Ha! And when RA as Sir Guy does a wry smile/smirk, I’m in heaven.
    Cheers! Grati ;->
    P.S. I love your “process” explanations, too–most instructive!

  9. RAFrenzy says:

    I love this!! I’m enjoying all of the Graphic a day posts.

  10. 100% Renaissance-effect, imaginative, fantastic!

  11. Leigh Vondereau says:

    Beautiful effect, Bccmee. I love Botticelli’s work. I have imagined Guy taking the place of Mars in the Venus & Mars painting. I have also imagined RA substituting for Adam in Michelangelo’s fresco on the ceiling of the Sistine chapel. I have imagined a lot of art as I wished it were, not that it could ever be.

  12. Kathleen says:

    Another wonderful transformation! Favorite artist is Monet and from those paintings, the waterlilies are among my favorites. Thanks for your wonderful creativity!

  13. april73 says:

    I love your pic choice Maarianna. 🙂

    Woooow… Your siggie is so swoon Bccmee. Bravo ! 🙂

    • april73 says:

      I also had the chance to see the “Mona Lisa” painting at the Louvre years ago.

      I love Monet painting and also Degas and Waterhouse.

      One of my favourite painting is this one from Klimt :

      And this one from Waterhouse :

  14. Judit says:

    Is there no end to your creativity, Bcc? When I clicked on this post the first thing I saw was the siggie and I said to myself wow, this looks like a Renaissance painting, and then scrolled down and sure enough it was! Fantastic! Great choice of screencap, Mariana! Thank you both! This Graphic a Day project is FUN!!!

  15. jeanniegisborne says:

    Thanks to mariana for her choice of Guy screencap. You did a lovely job of making it look like a real painting, B!
    Renoir has always been my favorte artist. I love the people at the outside cafe. (I forget what it’s called. 🙂 )

  16. jazzbaby1 says:

    This is gorgeous, B! Thanks to you and to Mariana! Favorite paintings, hmmm…my favorite is Georgia O’Keefe, pretty much any of her works…

  17. ItsJSforMe says:

    Very clever, bccmee! It truly looks like a real painting. You did an amazing job!! Love the Leonardo font…how perfect is that? 🙂

  18. Anonymous says:

    Like da Vinci’s Vitruvian Man, Guy seems to be a fusion of art and natural philosophy (e.g the science of the leather pants). Team Day 12, nice one!
    It’s Mothers’ Day here … so I’m waiting for Guy to arrive with my breakfast on a tray. I think he might be my favourite performance artist.

  19. Carolyn says:

    Lovely graphic, Bccmee! Thanks so much for explaining how you get the effects!

  20. Ana Cris says:

    Hi Bcc,
    Lovely work! You very creative as always!

  21. Thais says:

    I love your siggie, Bccmee! It’s perfect! Nice mix of Guy and Da Vinci!
    Well, I love art. Early this year I took a History of Art course and I had the chance to learn a little bit more about different painters. One of my favourite paitings is Jan van Eyck’s The Arnolfini Portrait, which I had the privilege to see at the National Gallery in London.It ‘s awesome! 😀

  22. Faboamanto says:

    Guy is a work of art. Beautiful idea and wonderfully done Bccmee, and gorgeous Guy choice Mariana.
    One of my favorite paintings is Four Dancers by Degas
    :http://30.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_lxz3uguphZ1qds4bko1_500.jpg

  23. Summer says:

    Wow This is so beautiful! Love this screencap, it’s one of my favourites Guy’s expressions. RA’s gorgeoussnes and your graphics skills…What a combo!!! He simply looks irresistible! Thanks Bcc just love it!! 🙂

  24. This is a very original idea.I agree with Ania.Guy is smiling a little such as Monalisa.Great job,Bcc!

  25. Beachbaby says:

    Great pic Mariana & I love what you have done with it Bccmee – beautiful :-).

  26. Mezz says:

    What a beautiful job you’ve done here once again, bccmee. Loved and saved it! 🙂

  27. jacqui_coinyard says:

    I did sense Mona Lisa in this wonderful sig before I read the explaination! Most renaissance paintings are wonderfull, or most old art where you still can regognize people and buildings etc. (don’t like the modern stuff) my mousemat -bought at the Louvre BTW- is a Botticelli

  28. debra7134 says:

    AWESOME!!!! RA is certainly a Masterwork of Art! I love this! He definitely has a Mona Lisa-esque smile in this screencap!
    Having never made a graphic before, it’s fascinating how you create them. All the different elements come together to make these beautiful works of art! Thanks, bccmee, for telling us how you make them! There’s more work involved than I ever imagined.
    (I’ve seen the real Mona Lisa, too…weren’t you surprised at how small it was? I was! I stood there staring for the longest time, too! Beautiful!!!)

  29. bccmee says:

    @Everyone: Thanks so much for your comments and for sharing your favorite works of art. We are a diverse crowd. 😀 If you’ve left on a holiday, we’ll be here when you get back. I too was surprised how small the Mona Lisa was. A painting by Salvadore Dali, The Persistence of Memory, hangs in the Museum of Modern Art and I was amazed at its petite stature. 😉 That’s the picture with the melting or drooping clocks.

    Like many of you, I also love Monet and have since before my discovery of Richard Armitage. I spent all of yesterday in the Metropolitan Museum of Art and I remain fascinated by Monet’s paintings no matter how often I see them. And I do see them often! At the Met, we get a little pin upon admission and it uses something similar to the Leonardo font:

    It would be fun to see Guy or other Richard Armitage characters replacing figures in various famous paintings, LOL! Brilliant idea. 😀 The Guy smile/smirk does seem to appear in this screencap if you look hard enough. And art and science definitely blend in those leather pants! 😀

  30. magwi says:

    Late to the party for the last few days….work keeping me busy!

    Lovely choice of pic mariana and I love what you’ve done for the graphic bccmee.

    You have touched a nerve with me here. As an art lover (studied Art History for a while) I have often thought it would be great fun to replace great figures in art with RA characters. 🙂

    Couldn’t think of a better place to start. Love it! ♥

  31. cdoart says:

    Hello bccmee, I am late as well. Your RA – Mona Lisa combination is absolutely stunning. I love the skin colour you manage to get by combining the two image layers. Wonderfully creative artwork. Thank you, bccmee and mariana!

  32. Mariana says:

    I’ve missed since today “my graphic”. Thank you, thank you Bccmee, it’s superb! I love so much what you did! You are so creative!
    But there is a strange coincidence (and I like very much this coincidence) in your choice for this background: I work in an art museum, I studied the History of Art…
    And an other concidence: the image of Guy of Gisborne/Richard Armitage remember me sometimes the Renaissance portraits of Tiziano.
    Thank all of you for your kindness, but Bccemee is the artist…
    What painter do I prefer? Many painters, like Vermeer, Van Eyck, Velazquez, Chardin, Monet, Degas…

    • bccmee says:

      @Mariana: I’m delighted you enjoyed your graphic! Oh I did not know you work in an art museum, wow! Great choices of favorite painters. I’ve seen all of their work in museums around the world. Thank you very much for your contribution to our collaboration. 😀

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.

