Graphic a Day in May 2012 – Day 4

Here we are on day 4 of A Graphic a Day in May 2012.

Today’s Richard Armitage image comes to us from april73, who has her own blog: April’s Violet. Thank you, april73!

Here is the base image:

Here is today’s graphic:

This is quite experimental. I started by cutting out the Richard Armitage figure. Then I needed something for him to lean on. The lines of the stairs were staring at me so I decided to utilize them. 😉

I applied an effect to show the outlines on RA’s arms and neck and added an outer glow to give him an other-worldly feel. Finally, I wrote the text in 007 GoldenEye font.

I tried adding various other elements but none of them pleased me as much as the simplicity of this design, so I undid those additions and ended up with what you see! 😀

Thanks for stopping by and I’ll see you tomorrow.

This entry was posted in Collaborative Project, Graphics, richard armitage and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Graphic a Day in May 2012 – Day 4

  1. april73 says:

    How to spend a very nice day ?

    Read Bccmee’s blog… Thanks for your great work ! 🙂

    Have a nice week-end everyone. 🙂

  2. april73 says:

    And thanks a lot to mention my blog. 🙂

  3. ItsJSforMe says:

    How cool is that?!? Well done, bccmee and April! 🙂

  4. Luciana says:

    Wonderful!!! A shining Richard brightening up my day! Thank you April73 and Bcc!!!

  5. Faboamanto says:

    Love that look in his eyes in that pic April73 and love the contrast between the dark background and light of the shirt and outline in the graphic Bccmee! Great way to start a Friday.

  6. He has this sort of come-here-and-find-out look *gulp*
    Lovely pic April73 😉 Thank you and Bccmee
    🙂

  7. cdoart says:

    What a nice arrangement, bccmee!
    I like the shadow you gave his face. It looks as if there is some strong light from above and explains his downcast face.
    007GoldenEye font, if that is not a strong hint which role you want him to play ;o)

  8. Chrissy says:

    Another lovely yet very different graphic. I love his “Guy” look on that particular photo too.

  9. Emma says:

    Better than the original, I think. Nice choice, april73

  10. Joanna says:

    I agree with Emma, it’s better than original(like everything here) Bccmee.:) Love it!
    Girls from Geneva have a great taste.:)

  11. I love minimalism if Richard is involved LOL!
    What about the font, BCC – GoldenEye – is it a wish for the future?
    April, when do you plan to post the following chapter of your Gisborne story? 😉

  12. Carolyn says:

    Thanks, Bccmee! A beautiful graphic to brighten my day!

  13. Teuchter says:

    Simple – elegant – “come hither look” – RA!! How could anything go wrong?? 😉 Another great graphic Bcc and perfect choice of picture, april73!

  14. beengizzied says:

    “There’s a starman waiting in the sky” and he looks like THAT!
    I will think of this one as your Kraftwerk graphic.
    I like the hairy forearm in the original too.

    • Teuchter says:

      Oh those amazing hairy forearms!! Don’t you just want to touch them? Check the same picture out on RAnet! It ReAly enlarges!! 😀

  15. Snicker's Mom says:

    Looks good. I agree with those who say this looks better than the original!

  16. jacqui_coinyard says:

    Last year I was in London with my sister to find out – among other things- where these pics were taken of this shoot, was it at the Victoria and Albert museum? ( ‘V & A’) My sister took some pics but later I saw it didn’t resemble the scene with RA. Were the pics maybe taken at the entrance? :-/

  17. Holliday says:

    Sometimes less is more and Richard doesn’t need a lot of window dressing. I think this came out really well.

  18. magwi says:

    Oooooh that is as cool as a cucumber. It’s got a very 80s retro feel to it. A striking image that goes well with that intense come hither look. ♥

    Good choice of pic april73 and thank you bccmee for another stunning piece of work. This month just gets better and better. 😀

  19. Thais says:

    Fine graphic!!! I just enjoyed the simplicity… great! 🙂

  20. pamsingh says:

    It reminds me of those graphic novel images with the shadow play and contrast. Stunning!

  21. Tanni Tani says:

    I think it can help your students that many poor people can not buy a graphics program (I know this because I live in a poor country and are often confronted with the problem of buying a graphics program to make my art) http://pixlr.com/editor

  22. bccmee says:

    @Everyone: Thank you so much for your generous comments on this experimental piece.

    Yes, well the 007 Goldeneye font seemed the best for the job. 😉 Who knows?

    RA does look like a hairy-forearmed Guy starman in the Victoria & Albert Museum in a 1980s graphic novel, LOL!

    Thanks for the tip about the pixlr.com graphics editor available for free. That reminds me I should list some free editing programs in a future post.

    I appreciate all your support! 😀

  23. Ania says:

    Sorry I’m late, was out of town, but I see here in the RAworld was created such a beautiful work of art! Well done, Bccmee! I love it! Nice choice April73!

  24. Hi Bccmee and April,
    RA’s smouldering gaze and designer stubble here just slay me. Sighhhhh! I also like your manipped version.
    Cheers! Grati ;->
    P.S. I never noticed that his arms were so hairy. Hmmmm. And his poor knuckles are rather pinked up here, as if they had been bashing against something. Hard day in the woods of Nottingham? Ha!

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.

