Graphic a Day in May 2012 – Day 3

Welcome to day 3 of A Graphic a Day in May 2012.

Today’s Lucas North promo picture was submitted by ItsJSforMe who also runs a blog of her own which can be found here: Do I have a blog?

Here is the base image:

Spooks promo picture courtesy of RichardArmitageNet.Com

And here is today’s graphic. Because the promo picture is high-resolution and the head and shoulders are all visible, I took the option of making a wallpaper. Please click for full size (1600 x 900 pixels).


You can love completely without complete understanding

For this graphic, I first cut out Lucas North and applied some adjustments. I duplicated the layer and when I started dragging it, I saw that the chin of one figure fit the shoulder of the other almost perfectly so I left it there. Then I reduced the opacity of the second Lucas. For texture, I added the following old paper image:

I duplicated the paper layer too and reduced its size and I liked the effect of the white borders, especially after adding a drop shadow. Then I added a sunset image and reduced its opacity.

I cut out two hearts from the paper texture and added the text. On the wallpaper, I used the Max’s Handwritin (sic) font. The quote was found on Brainy Quote.

Finally, I masked out (erased) the bottom of the coats with some textured paintbrushes.

I also made a siggie:

During the process, I listened to my “Damien Rice” channel on Pandora online radio. That may explain the hearts, LOL! ♥

See you tomorrow!

P.S. I forgot to mention that yesterday’s contributor, Faboamanto, also has a blog: White Rose Writings.

This entry was posted in Collaborative Project, Graphics, richard armitage and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Graphic a Day in May 2012 – Day 3

  1. april73 says:

    Excellent, as usual… 🙂

  2. Mezz says:

    Wow, stunning Lucas, beautiful wallpaper, bcc! 🙂

  3. Luciana says:

    Double Lucas!!!! Lovely!!!

  4. Elaine says:

    Lovely and very poignant. I’m guessing this shot is from very early in Season 7 as “Lucas” is still quite thin.

  5. Leigh Vondereau says:

    Stunning! You’ve shown Lucas as the vulnerable, lost, yet strong individual we can’t help but love.

  6. cdoart says:

    Bccmee, you get my fingers itching to try and do something creative as well – but I have no time and just should not right now ;o)
    What a magnificent creation and the idea and combination is perfect and such a lovely sight. How can I get the picture on my computer monitor without covering it with work? Hmm…. what a treat to enjoy.
    Thank you, bccmee and ItsJSforMe!

  7. Ania says:

    Oh Bccmee, you don’t know how much I waited for your new wallpaper. And this one is so brilliant! :)Thank you, B and ItsJSforMe!

  8. ItsJSforMe says:

    *sigh* Bccmee, you’ve done it again! Thank you, thank you, thank you!!! 😀

    Cdoart…I know what you mean! My fingers are itching, too…but I have finals to get through next week before I can start anything new. 😦

  9. Chrissy says:

    Oh my .. how I love this ….. my favourite so far. Ive immediately set it as my background. Would it be possible to ever use it as a sig? Think we’d all have it!! Great work – absolutely brilliant.

  10. Carolyn says:

    That is lovely!

  11. Kathleen says:

    Not every man can wear a pea coat as well and RA. Thanks BCC and ItsJSforme!

  12. titianminx says:

    Gorgeous, Lucas (RA) looks stunning.

  13. I love it! ❤ My favourite chaRActer in my favorite coat :-)! And your work is amazing!

  14. Wow! Great wallpaper. Lucas looks… just great 🙂

  15. Thaís says:

    This is a terrific work!!! Thanks ItsJSforMe for the amazing choice. I love Lucas North’s enigmatic eyes! Thanks Bccmee for sharing something so beautiful!!! 🙂

  16. beengizzied says:

    Nice, but why can’t we see Lucas’ jeans (O.K, what I really mean is Lucas’ backside)?

  17. Holliday says:

    This came out really nice.

  18. jeanniegisborne says:

    isjsforme chose wisely and your background and siggie are lovely 🙂

  19. Emma says:

    So dreamy and romantic. Well done, b! Two of Lucas is always a good thing. Nice choice, ItsJSForMe!

  20. tyme4t says:

    I ❤ Lucas! I ❤ Lucas!

  21. Ana Cris says:

    Hi, Bcc
    Wow, stunning Lucas! Great work!

  22. Late to the party, but I LOVE this new project of yours! Thanks for sharing, bccmee!≦(._.)≧

  23. Teuchter says:

    Didn’t I say you are a genius?? Fantastic wallpaper and Lucas in my favourite outfit!! I ADORE the pea coat as it always shows off those long, long elegant legs to perfection! 😉 I love Lucas’ intense look there! Thank you so much Bcc and ItsJSforMe!!

  24. what a beautiful work Bcc! I loved the transparency effect !The quote is very good too.The Lucas´s look is so far away!I wonder what would he be thinking about !Thank you again, Bcc! Now I have a new bg for my pc!

  25. Mariana says:

    Beautiful as usual! Wonderful work!

  26. magwi says:

    That is scrumptious bccmee. Love the colours and the quote. Lucas looking gorgeous as always *swoon*

    Good choice of pic ItsJSforMe. ♥

  27. Faboamanto says:

    I just adore Lucas in that pea coat. He looks good enough to eat 🙂
    Thank you Bccmee for another gorgeous graphic and ItsJSforME for a perfect photo choice.
    (thanks B for mentioning my blog – much appreciated)

  28. bccmee says:

    @Everyone: Thanks again for your kind words on this collaborative graphic. Season 7 Lucas certainly had a certain look about him, and the pea coat is a favorite of mine. If only we could’ve seen his jeans in this promo picture, LOL!

    Glad you liked the quote. I actually was looking for a “sunrise” quote and then I liked the bit about “love” better. ♥

    Of course, you have my permission to use these graphics anywhere you like, by the way. 😀

  29. Judit says:

    Gorgeous, just gorgeous! Great choice, ItsJSforMe! Congrats, Bcc- you’ve done it again! 🙂

  30. Anonymous says:

    I like the paper effect with the sun background 🙂

  31. pamsingh says:

    He looks a little fragile, yet strong and intense all at the same time. Beautiful graphic!

  32. Hi Bccmee and ItsJSforme,
    Lovely Lucas image (pea coat, I notice, Ha!) and a very lovely siggie.
    Cheers! Grati ;->

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.

