Graphic a Day in May 2012 – Day 2

Welcome to the 2nd Graphic a Day in May 2012.

Our Richard Armitage picture was submitted by faboamanto.  Thank you, faboamanto!

Here is the base image:

Image courtesy of RichardArmitageNet.Com

And here is today’s graphic:


Bewitching

The song chosen by faboamanto was “Bewitched” by Ella Fitzgerald: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qYPoEGAttB8.  It suited the Richard Armitage photo perfectly!

For this graphic, once again I started by cutting out the figure. I added three background images at different blending modes and opacity.

I created the ribbons with the pen tool. The petals/leaves were made by clipping out a rose petal and using the Edit > Define Brush Preset command, then using the new brush. The stars were created using a regular soft round brush and changing the Brush Presets.

The text “Bewitching” was written in the AR Hermann font with the Drop Shadow, Outer Glow and Bevel/Emboss effects added.

To get the overall brownish tone, I added a Color Balance adjustment layer above everything else.

Without a doubt, the music is having quite a profound effect. Hope you’re having a fun day and I’ll see you tomorrow.  😀

This entry was posted in Collaborative Project, Graphics, richard armitage and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Graphic a Day in May 2012 – Day 2

  1. april73 says:

    Great work Bccmee, I love it ! 🙂

  2. Luciana says:

    PERFECT!!!!

  3. ItsJSforMe says:

    Wow! I really like this one. Very cool, bcc! Great choice, faboamanto!

  4. Leigh Vondereau says:

    Bewitching indeed! Great image, Bccmee.

  5. jacqui_coinyard says:

    Hi B you make it look so simple, I guess having a smart programme does the trick! Maybe you can save my entry for my birthday 9 may 😉

  6. Emma says:

    Oooo…pretty! I love the photos where he looks directly at the camera. And this photoshoot from 2007 is one of my favourites. Great choice, faboamanto!

  7. I had to look up in the dictionary the word “bewitching” because I only knew one of the meanings of the verb (to put a magic spell on someone. …) so, thanks to Bccmee and Fabo I learned a new word today 🙂 This blog of yours and the collaborative projects you’ve been managing serve a double purpose: entertainment and educational!!!!! I can now tell to my friends and colleagues, even when the only thing the see on my screen are endless scrolling of pictures, gifs or videos, that I’m in fact STUDYING ENGLISH, improving my vocabulary, and enjoying the typos 🙂

    • phylly3 says:

      But he HAS put a magic spell on us – me for sure! 🙂 I can’t think of a better way to learn another language!

  8. phylly3 says:

    I love the background for this picture! Plus I actually prefer it in the brown tones. Lovely work!

  9. Chrissy says:

    Absolutely stunning ….. and bewitching Bccmee!! xx

  10. Snicker's Mom says:

    I love it!

  11. Great choice of the word.Indeed, RA is really a” sorcerer” . we are all bewitched for him. * sigh*

  12. Elaine says:

    It’s funny, I’ve never liked this photo but the graphic treatment put a whole different spin on it and I ReAlly like it now. Faboamanto, thanks for choosing a photo that I wouldn’t have picked now I see it in a new light, thanks to bccmee.

  13. Teuchter says:

    Wonderful, Bcc and Faboamanto!! I too prefer the picture with its brown colouring and the song choice is perfect. I’d never really listened to the lyrics before but a few of them had me ROFL, especially the bit about the trousers!! 😀 But I doubt if the “Bewitching” will ever be “Finis” or “no more” for me!! 😉

  14. cdoart says:

    Wonderfully bewitching, bccmee and faboamanto !
    I love the step by step explanations how you created the image and effects, though I am not talented enough to reproduce them ;o)

  15. Ania says:

    Oh Bccmee I love how you change the perception of pictures. Different color, different background, but still the same bewitching RA. ♥
    Thank you both Bccmee and faboamanto!

  16. Holliday says:

    Like Elaine I wasn’t a big fan of this pic either, but wow, Bcc, what you did with it gave it a different look that I really like.

  17. Jennie says:

    a masterclass……..thank you! 😉

    sorry I missed the start of this! ♥

  18. Judit says:

    Fantastic work, Bcc! I too prefer your version to the original photo! 🙂 Thank you!!

  19. pamsingh says:

    That is simply a masterpiece!

  20. magwi says:

    Yes, as the title says this is truly bewitching. I love the soft shades of brown and grey/blue and the ribbons and leaves give the whole thing a light floaty feel.

    It’s exquisite.

    Congratulations again on such good work bccmee and well done on your choice of picture and music faboamanto. ♥

  21. jeanniegisborne says:

    Very awesome! Excellent choice Faboamanto 🙂

  22. tyme4t says:

    that was quite “bewitching” – nice one!

  23. Mezz says:

    Fabulous graphic bcc! These pop into my inbox late at night, so a lovely way to finish off my day. 🙂

  24. Faboamanto says:

    Dear Bccmee!
    I’ve been at work all day and just returned to find your gorgeous graphic from my photo choice.Lovely way to start the evening. He is truly bewitching there and I’m grabbing it for my desktop right now. The song fits him perfectly doesn’t it?
    Hi everyone!

    • bccmee says:

      @Faboamanto: Welcome home. Thanks ever so much for your brilliant contributions! I could not have thought up this combination without your help. 😀 I’m delighted you like the result.

      Oops, I forgot to mention your blog, but I will do so tomorrow. 😀 I appreciate all your support!

  25. bccmee says:

    @Everyone: Thanks again for your kind and thoughtful words. 😀 It’s very interesting to read your interpretations of this graphic. I’m still having fun and I’ve only made about 7 graphics so far.

    I’m delighted some of you are finding this blog educational. 😉

    Richard Armitage has certainly bewitched me! Yes, the lyrics of the song “Bewitched” are really apt. 😉

  26. Hi Bccmee and Fabo,
    A great picture (I love windblown RA), siggie, and song choice! Purrrrfect!
    Cheers! Grati ;->

  27. Beachbaby says:

    OMG that is gorgeous Bccmee. RA is definitely bewitching! I love the pic in the brown. Great choice Faboamanto 🙂

  28. Joanna says:

    Ella’s magic voice and Richie vel Charmer! 🙂 Perfect combination Bccmee and Fabo! Thanks!:)

  29. Carolyn says:

    Beautiful, Bccmee!

  30. Thaís says:

    Wow! This is awesome! Love this picture! The word suited the photo indeed! Thanks faboamanto and bccmee! 😀

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.

