Guest post from Poland

Note from bccmee:  I’m still on holiday and here is your third and final guest blogpost.  Our author is Ania from Poland who graciously accepted my invitation to write her thoughts on Richard Armitage.  Thank you so much, Ania!


Bccmee, thank you very much for requesting that I write a few words about my favorite actor, because about Mr. Armitage, I can talk for hours … only … how to start to write? I have to look at some pictures of Mr. A, you know I need inspiration. OMG, these pictures. *thud* It seems to me that writing a few words will take me more time. LOL!

So, I’ll start from the beginning….

The first time I saw RA was in August 2010, when together my nephew and I spent a lazy afternoon watching TV. On one of TV channels aired Robin Hood, two episodes at once. And then I was literally speechless when I saw Guy of Gisborne (RHS2E3). 

I do not know if it was a matter of the camera shot in this scene (which is below his face), but then Guy on a horse, seemed to me to be so powerful, so royal and his gaze was so proud. It was the look of a man who does not fear anything or  anybody. I knew that Guy is a negative character, but I could not tear my eyes from his eyes. I thought then, who is this man, that triggers an emotion in me? On the internet I found the answer quickly, Richard Armitage! Then, after watching on the YouTube fragments of North & South, I was sure that I had to have this DVD.

I watched N & S in one afternoon.  When I finished watching I was totally in love with John Thornton.  And JT is my favorite character played by RA. I love the constancy of his affection, his persistence in his love for Margaret, honesty, and “open mind” as in the relationship with Higgins.

Outwardly John Thornton seems to be a boring man. A man of about thirty, who worked all his life, he was still busy, who thought about all, just not about himself.  And it is amazing that the emergence of Margaret in his life triggers so much emotion. Margaret’s rejection of his proposal really hurt him, and he still loved her, he even forbade his mother to bad speak about Margaret. He loved her so much that when he saw Margaret at a train station with a strange man, then not knowing who he is, but for the sake of her reputation, he sent his mother to Margaret to tell her how it should proceed respected young lady. He is an amazing gentleman, putting Margaret in front of his dignity, needs and aspirations.

It is obvious that I love the final scene. But looking at the face of Mr. Thornton, when Margaret presents the “business proposal”, I see that he looks at her with such adoration.  I refer the strange impression that he does not hear her words of possible profits. His eyes say, “so, you love me”. Hmm, I think I know what I’ll watch in my next free time.

I adore how Richard Armitage in the positive figure/ character which he plays he searches “bad” traits and vice versa. And so wonderfully showed this when he was Sir Guy. On the one hand, he was ruthless in the pursuit of power and on the other hand, I think he loved Marian with a true love. Oh, RA wonderfully showed his sensitive side. I watch RHS2E10 and I wonder which woman could resist such a gaze like this one, so much asking, and so much love and hope.  It’s really touching to see such a powerful man, who having so much power as Guy, kneels before such a delicate woman like Marian, and puts his fate in her hands. * sigh *

I love Sir Guy, also because he “helped” me to imagine Thorin when I read The Hobbit. I really cannot wait for the premiere. Everyone says that the year 2012 will be the year of RA, that then he will gain international fame. But I think that he is already an international star. Let’s look at “our little community” how the map of the world would look, if we marked the place in which we live.


Another note from bccmee: I’ve long wanted to try a map to pinpoint where everyone is from, so I found a site called mapalist.com that offers this service with a form. It’s not been tested so I hope it works! Thanks very much for mentioning the map idea in your essay, Ania! 🙂 This free version of the map does not update automatically so it might be a whole day before your pin appears.




http://mapalist.com/Public/pm.aspx?mapid=235595

This entry was posted in richard armitage, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Guest post from Poland

  1. Ania says:

    Many thanks Bccmee. I can’t wait to see how it will be look like our map 🙂

  2. Ana Cris says:

    Hi Ania,
    I agree with you, power, fidelity, and vulnerability in both Guy and JT are irresistible.:0)

  3. Hello Ania, nice to meet you! 🙂
    I enjoyed very much reading your post and specially your very accurate description of John Thornton. And like you, I can’t wait for The Hobbit to hit theatres … 10 months to go Yupeeeee!
    Greetings from Portugal 🙂

    • Ania says:

      Hi Ana Cristina,
      Thank you very much for your kind words about my post 🙂 Now this already ONLY 😉 10 months to the premiere and I hope it will be possible watch TH without dubbing.
      Hugs from Poland.

      • angeles says:

        Hi everybody,
        I can´t agree more about the dubbing. RA have an amaizing voice. I live in the south of Spain (Granada) and they hardly put any VO in the theatres, so I have to wait to seeing it in DVD…!! A pity, people don´t know what they are missing with the dubbings.

  4. April says:

    Hi Ania,

    Nice to meet you. 🙂

    I love reading your post, bravo !

    I see that we had the same reaction when we first saw Sir Guy on screen, lol.

  5. Elaine says:

    Happy Friday, ladies! Ania, it was great to read your perspective on RA and your favorite characters. I have admired Tolkien’s Thorin character for many years but, the fact that we will get to see a bearded *thud* Richard play Thorin in The Hobbit, is like a birthday, Christmas, Easter and Halloween all rolled into one!

    “B” thanks for adding the map app – it will be fun to see how far and wide our community spreads.

    • jules says:

      Hi Elaine…had a strange experience at work today…several girls were talking about various films, someone mentioned Lord of the Rings and how it went on a bit…another lady ‘pipes up’ I’ve heard they’re making the Hobbit ‘oh’ (lead balloons springs to mind)…I turned back round to my computer, winked at my gorgeous Thorin screensaver and checked out my Hobbit countdown clock in the corner…they have no idea have they??? aren’t we the lucky ones, every day is very special in this RA community

      • Elaine says:

        Hi Jules…. I have a Thorin screensaver at home but at work I have a downloaded and printed copy of the 2012 Richard Armitage calendar from RichardArmitageNet.com, here’s the link: http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/2012calendar.html Richard, Lucas, Guy, JP, JT, Thorin and others appear in the calendar. Richard has done a number of audio books – I think he should do The Hobbit next – he could even sing the songs in his lovely rich baritone! Have a great weekend.

        • jules says:

          Can’t thankyou enough, Elaine, I visit that brilliant website every day but totally forgot about the calendar…the only downside is I don’t have access to a colour printer…Hubby does but I cannot think of a good enough excuse for him to download it for me…must get my devious mind to work…having said that he knows I’m totally in love with the ‘guy’ so I’ll take a deep breath and just ask him to print it for me…I’ll let you know how I get on….As for the audio books….I’m really trying to pace myself here….I’ve worked out I have 10 months left in which there is only one dvd I have yet to watch (Miss Marple…Ordeal by Innocence) and all of Richard’s audio books to listen to…it’s going to be a long wait until December but these little chats make it more bearable….
          take care
          love jules xxxxxx

    • Ania says:

      Hi Elaine.
      Thank you. 🙂
      And I agree, RA as Thorin on the big screen it will be a real celebration. I really cannot wait. Thank you for your comment. 🙂

  6. Luciana says:

    Ania, I loved to read your post. Thank you!!! So far, John Thorton is my favourite RA character!!! I totally agree with your analisys of him!!

    • Ania says:

      Hi Luciana,
      Mr. Thornton will always be in my heart and he is my best remedy for the sad days. Thank you for your comment. 🙂

  7. Chrissy says:

    I really enjoyed reading your post Ania, and agree with your observations on Sir Guy and the wonderful John Thornton.
    You are right …. our Richard already has an adoring international army of fans!!

    • Ania says:

      Hi Chrissy,
      Oh yes, you’re right and being in the ranks of this Army is a real pleasure. 🙂 I’m glad you liked my post. Thanks for your comment. 🙂

  8. jules says:

    It’s funny how most of us seem to have stumbled across this gorgeous man (I wish) by pure chance and then spent the last few months, years back tracking all his excellent work. Can you believe there’s hundreds of females (and possibly males) out there who don’t know our Richard but are in for a real treat come December…These blogs are going to be bursting at the seams…
    Thankyou for the posting Ania

    • Ania says:

      Hi Jules,
      I think the discovery of Richard as a great actor by fans of Tolkien’s characters will also be pure chance. I’m sure they will love him as we do. Thanks for your comment. 🙂

  9. Joanna says:

    Cześć Ania!
    So,your first love was Guy of Gizbourne. I took notice of french waiter,next was great John Thornton and sexy Guy. Have a great weekend,Ania! 🙂

    • Ania says:

      Witaj Joanna,
      My first love (RA’s character) was Mr. Thornton, Sir Guy oh well it was enchantment. 😉 Thank you for your comment and have a great weekend too. 🙂

  10. JasRangoon says:

    Ania, it was lovely reading about how you discovered RA! I never understood how Marian could resist Guy in S02E10, swoon!!! The world is in for a real treat when The Hobbit comes out! Mr. Armitage may find himself with a huge influx of fans. 🙂

    • Ania says:

      Hi JasRangoon,
      It seems that if we wrote the script of RH this series would have ended very quickly LOL! Thank you for your comment. 🙂

  11. Carolyn says:

    Hi Ania! Great to meet you! Thanks for posting! My first love was JT, my next love was Guy. I am torn between the two of them as a favorite. But when I first ‘discovered’ Richard on the internet, it was his interviews that made me fall in love with the man himself.

  12. Ania says:

    Hi Carolyn,
    I think you wrote exactly what I feel when I read interviews with RA. ♥ When RA talks about his work and does it with such passion that sometimes I shame that I „lost” the joy of my work.
    It’s not like that I only love JT and Guy. Just these two figures illustrate perfectly how RA is able to embody in an extremely different characters. And really I don’t know where he takes inspiration for these negative emotions / abilities since it seems to be so very nice guy. 🙂 Thank you for your comment. 🙂

  13. Holliday says:

    Hi Ania, I enjoyed reading how you discovered RA. I have yet to see North and South. I discovered Richard in Robin Hood, but then saw him in The Vicar of Dibley and Harry Kennedy is one of my favorite RA characters. I’ve also seen some of his older stuff. One in particular has him in a speedo(I found screencaps of that one and downloaded them to my computer). I just recently saw Strike Back and am looking to get my hands on a copy of North and South. Everyone here speaks so highly of it and Richard’s performance. Thank you so much for sharing with us.
    Holliday

    • Ania says:

      Hi Holliday,
      Oh Harry … sweet, sexy and so charming man. *thud* And one of the most smiling RA’s characters, I suppose. BTW I’m very curious your words about Mr. Thornton. Thank you for your comment 🙂

  14. Hi Ania. What an eloquent and lovely post! Thank you!
    Somehow I’ve never had Guy’s image in my mind when I re-read The Hobbit last year, though my imaginary Thorin had RA’s voice. I’ll try to compare Thorin with Guy next time I read the book: they seem to have some things in common besides their sexy smouldering!

    • Ania says:

      Hi grendel’s mum,
      Thank you very much for your kind words about my essay. My Thorin „took” from Guy: voice, glance, skill sword, royal appearance not only on the horse and … oh dear … perhaps it will be better if I stop now 😉 Thank you for your comment 🙂

  15. Hi Ania,
    A lovely essay expressing what so many of us feel with regard to Richard Armitage as a master storyteller. And I share your sentiment that hundreds, thousands, and millions of “The Hobbit” fans are in for a real treat when the film is released next December.
    Our little RA community will have to share him from now on with the larger world. But I can’t wait to see your map! Because Richard Armitage currently has fans and admirers around the world.
    Go Global Team Armtage! Cheers! Grati ;->

    • Ania says:

      Hi Grati,
      I am glad that you liked my essay. Sharing Richard with the new fans will be a pleasure 🙂 and I think our little community after TH it will be a truly Royal Army. Thank you for your comment 🙂

  16. Emma says:

    Hi Ania. Your summary of John Thornton and the final scene with Margaret was perfect! Thank you for sharing. What a lovely post. And Guy’s love for Marian was always true, as he tells Robin in S3 that “I loved her as you loved her”. Awww…

    It truly is the Year of the Dwarf King. And what a joy that is for our little RA community. 🙂

    • Ania says:

      Hi Emma,
      Thank you for reminding me of this quote. 🙂 In my country the premiere of “The Hobbit” will be Dec. 28 and I really cannot wait. Thank you for your comment. 🙂

  17. Lady Prisca says:

    Hi Ania ,
    Thank you so much to have shared your story with us. It was very nice to read your words. I exactly understand your reaction when you have seen Guy for the first time (your story with Richard and mine are quite the same).
    The guest posts are a great idea because they show how much we are “sisters” all around the world , different countries but same love for Richard and his characters.

    Bccmee , I love the map idea! I’ve posted my city (but it’s so little that I don’t know if it would be recognized by the site. L.O.L.)

    • Ania says:

      Hi Lady Prisca,
      Thank you very much for your warm words about my essay. You’re right, we are “sisters” (as I wrote to April). It seems that all we have the same “gene” sensitive to the Richard’s creations (and of course sensitive to RA). Thank you for your comment 🙂

  18. love4ot says:

    Oh… my… gosh Ania! You picked some awesome (G rated word) of RA. Blown away here! 😀 It’s so great you shared your RA story with us and a bit of yourself. You are obviously a creative person with really good taste in celebrities 🙂 I thoroughly agree the depth at which RA creates his characters, my sister and I talk for hours about that actually.

    Oh, by the way, I pinned myself on the map but it might not show up right away. I hope you and others do the same – I love geography and it creates a great mental picture of where people are really from 🙂

    • Ania says:

      Hi love4ot
      Oh dear, thank you very much for such kind words for me. 🙂 I really envy you that you can talk with sister about Richard. 🙂
      OMG! just checked, our map looks amazing!!!

  19. bccmee says:

    Again, I thank you, Ania, for your guestpost! It was a great read and the map is a lot of fun! Someone else had the same idea and there is another RA map out there, LOL! I appreciate all of you for taking the time to comment too. *HUGS* I’ll be back sometime early in the week with a new blogpost. 🙂

  20. Thais says:

    Nice post, Ania! 😀 I just loved reading it! John Thornton was the first RA’s character I knew and he has been my favourite one so far. I’m watching Robin Hood Series 3 and I’m really anxious about Gisborne’s final scene. I’d like to see a kind of redemption, because I believe he’s not so bad as he seems to be. Anyway, Thorin is the character of the year for us, right? I can barely wait to see RA playing one the leading roles of one of the most anticipated films to be launched in 2012. Cheers from Brazil!

    • Ania says:

      Hi Thais,
      Oh, Sir Guy from RH3 * sigh * I think if you love Guy a little bit then after watching the third series you will love him even more. 🙂
      I am sure that Richard’s Thorin will delight us. And I hope that will be possible to buy a CD with music from TH with the wonderful voice of RA. Thank you for your kind comment 🙂

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.

