Beard of Dreams

Hi everyone! I’ve been missing you the past week and hope you’re having a great 2012: The Year of the Hobbit.

I’m hard at work on a fan video and some other projects but in the meantime, I made a little siggie based on this image of Richard Armitage at the press conference for The Hobbit back in February 2011:

Image courtesy of RichardArmitageNet.Com

I love this picture of him and was shocked (in a good way) and breathless when I saw Richard Armitage with a full beard! โ™ฅ

As some of you know, I often have dreams of Richard Armitage and other celebrities. The other night, RA and his beard kept reappearing all night long, LOL! So I was compelled to make this siggie:

Richard Armitage Beard of Dreams

I had a lot of fun making this siggie. I tried at first to make a wallpaper but it didn’t work so I reduced it down to siggie size. The fonts for the caption “Beard of Dreams” are Eras Medium ITC and Scriptina. Below are the stock photos used to make up the background.

This first photo is of the Prague Astronomical Clock in the Czech Republic. I was fortunate enough to visit that most beautiful city. This is not my picture though as mine didn’t turn out this well. ๐Ÿ˜€

Prague Astronomical Clock

I also used these images:

It’s great to be back in the blogosphere! Look for my next fan video by Tuesday and at least one surprise when I’m away on my cruise at the end of this month. I have lots of ideas for this month and next, including a Valentine’s Day fan video. โ™ฅ

This is my first post of 2012! I look forward to more interactive projects in the year ahead.

This entry was posted in richard armitage and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

60 Responses to Beard of Dreams

  1. jazzbaby1 says:

    Welcome back and thanks for another awesome tutorial. This is something I might be able to tackle.

    • bccmee says:

      1st Prize

      @jazzbaby1: Thanks very much for your kind words. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve had a very busy start to my new year and I’m happy to be back to my blog. You win the prize for being the first commenter on my first blogpost of 2012!

  2. “As some of you know, I often have dreams of Richard Armitage and other celebrities”
    Wow BCC, tell me your secret. Is there a special diet o something to favour dreaming Mr. A? LOL!

    Your siggie is – as always – a jewel!
    What’s the message behind the clock? We have to wait for months before we could see the beloved beard again? LOL! Sweet dReAms BCC

    • bccmee says:

      @Carla: I truly wish I could do a tutorial on vivid dreaming. I think it’s genetic though. ๐Ÿ™‚ However, for some strange reason, I often have my best dreams when I fall asleep watching The Shining on my iPod, LOL!

      In the siggie, the clock simply represents nighttime. I mostly chose it because I like the way it looks though, rather than its symbolism. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Thanks so much for your kind words. It’s great to be back!!

  3. Thais says:

    It’s nice to have you back, Bccmee! I particularly like this image of Richard Armitage. I love his beard. It suits him, I think. And well done! The siggie you’ve made is beautiful! :))

  4. phylly3 says:

    Lovely siggie! And welcome back. I certainly missed you! It’s nice to hear about your plans. A cruise sounds very exciting! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • bccmee says:

      @phylly3: I missed you too! It’s been a very busy time but I’m glad I squeezed in a graphic before my self-imposed one-week deadline passed. ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. IntownWriter says:

    He does look great with a beard… in one of the last episodes of that awful Robin Hood series (and I characterize it as awful because there wasn’t enough RA for me!), he had a beard nearly that full. I just finished watching the series via Netflix streaming last night and got the extra features for season 2 – available on on DVD from Netflix – today. So I will be diving in to that, hoping for more RA smiles and behind-the-scenes conversations with him (instead of the sheriff and Robin – meh) before launching a marathon review of Downton Abbey Season 1, also thanks to Netflix streaming.

    And let’s just face it: BCC, I love your siggie, but RA is dreamy no matter what. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • bccmee says:

      @IntownWriter: Yes there is not nearly enough Guy in Robin Hood for me either. My attention wanders whenever Richard Armitage is not on the screen.

      Netflix should win a prize for helping so many North Americans watch and discover the talented Mr. Armitage. I first saw him on Netflix streaming as Harry Kennedy in The Vicar of Dibley. โ™ฅ

      Have fun watching the DVD extras! Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a lovely comment too. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. ladyanne says:

    Wonderful that you’re back, and with such a gorgeous siggie! *purr, purr* May I assume you’re working with Adobe Photoshop? Truly gifted, my dear. RA has sometimes appeared in my dreams, but not in this aspect. Something to look forward to in 2012!

    • bccmee says:

      @ladyanne: It’s so nice to see you again too! Yes, I’m working in Adobe Photoshop CS5. When I get a new computer, I’ll upgrade to Adobe CS5.5 or CS6 if the latter is released by then. I’m very happy to hear that RA appears in your dreams too. There’s certainly enough of him to go around, LOL! In my dream the other night, he was an “intermission” of sorts between my other dreams. ๐Ÿ˜€

  7. Hi Bccmee!

    Glad you’re back–and hopefully well rested after your 3 month long extRAvanganza of RA media activities and art. But ooh it was oodles of fun.
    This is a lovely siggie. I love RA’s gleaming smile (well chosen) and the other images fit beautifully together with it.
    Cheers! Grati ;->

    P.S. Oh Tech Goddess Divine, A Technical question: I notice that the siggie you created seems to download as a png file–though the other images making up the siggie are jpeg. Is a png file a personal choice? Or does it have to do with the software you composite your images with?

    I’ve noticed that when I’m retrieving some stock photos, if they come in as png and if I want to do a simple crop on that png file–without having to launch Photoshop–then I use my Paint software because the Windows picture gallery won’t modify png files.

    So, what I tend to do for sigs and wallpapers is to mask in Photoshop Elements, composite in Powerpoint (it layers so nicely) and then, I copy and paste the final image into Photoshop to create the jpeg file. I’m probably making too much work for myself. So, if you have any suggestions , I’m all ears.

    • bccmee says:

      @Gratiana: My original stock photos were in JPG format but they were very large. For instance, the moon/cloud image was originally 3456ร—252 pixels! I resized them for the blog. I save my siggies as PNG because they are sharper and crisper, although the file sizes are larger. I save my wallpapers as JPG and of course animated gifs must be GIFs, LOL.

      Iโ€™ve never used Photoshop Elements, but I do all my layering in Adobe Photoshop CS5. This siggie used 13 layers at different opacities and blend modes. You should do what feels comfortable and if PowerPoint works for you, go for it. As you know, I love your new blog banner!

  8. Chrissy says:

    Wonderful sig bccmee. And Ive seen that clock in Prague … a wonderful sight. Not as wonderful as RA though!!

  9. ChrisB says:

    A great start to the New Year blogging Bccmee – wonderful siggy (love that clock btw) with some really nice Photoshop layering. Wish I could have a few more RA dreams. He makes the odd appearance in my befuddled dreams but never often enough ๐Ÿ™‚

    • bccmee says:

      @ChrisB: Thanks and it’s great to be back. I don’t dream of of RA nearly as often as I’d like but I do feel fortunate that he makes an occasional appearance. For some reason I’ve dreamt of celebrities ever since I can remember. They must really get into my psyche.

  10. Hi B, Welcome back. It’s nice to know that you still are busy at work, entertaining us with this most recent siggie. Love it. Have a lovely time on your cruise ๐Ÿ™‚

    • bccmee says:

      @jeanniegisborne: Thank you very kindly! I’m glad to be working on more RA projects. A week feels so long, LOL! I’m looking forward to my cruise and the time is fast-approaching. It’ll be interesting to be without easy access to the internet. It’s notoriously expensive aboard ship and since this is not a travel blog, I’ll just frolic and have fun on the high seas and leave the internet alone for the week. ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. This clock is amazing! Great choice, great work.
    I wish you a happy new beARd-dReAm-yeAR!

    • bccmee says:

      @Fred: If you have not seen it in person, I hope you get a chance to visit Prague someday. It’s an amazing historical city and has so much beauty. Thank you for the lovely sentiment. I wish you a very happy year too!

  12. mersguy says:

    Hey welcome back Bccmee and Happy 2012 to you!
    Iโ€™ve had “beard love” from day 1, he looked so sexy and sounded even sexier, if that’s possible! The female journoโ€™s must have been dumb struck when he learned forward in that low sexy growl, and said ” I have 40 years to talk about” *thud*
    Itโ€™s hard to believe itโ€™s been nearly one year exactly since Richard arrived in NZ to start preparing for the role.
    I had a wonderful RA dream a few months back, not a character but Richard-very vivid! Just little snap shots since, there is always tonight! Happy New Year everyone.

    • bccmee says:

      @mersguy: Happy New Year to you too! Yes, it’s remarkable that the past year seems to have zoomed by and I hope we can say the same when The Hobbit is released in our theaters. I’ll be in the front row again with my 3D glasses, just as I was for Captain America! sunglasses

      I’m delighted you have enjoyed at least one RA-dream. I hope you have many more in 2012!

  13. Jael says:

    Love the siggie! I hope I have some bearded dreams tonight.

  14. Jo Milne says:

    Welcome back my dear!!! What a wonderful siggie to welcome in the New Year, beard of dreams is damn right ๐Ÿ˜‰

  15. Carolyn says:

    Wow, has it really been almost a year since the press conference? Maybe there is hope that December will get here soon. Good to see you back, Bcc Mee! Beautiful new siggie of the lovely bearded man! Looking forward to your next video and any surprises you have for us!

  16. chabesquen says:

    Welcome back and happy 2012! Love the signature…that beard is gorgeous, and that clock is beautiful.

  17. Agree with Carolyn, can’t believe it will be almost a year since the press conference and the beard surprise, that style of beard+longer hair is my fav, thanks for the siggie.

    OML ๐Ÿ™‚

    • bccmee says:

      @onemorelurker: We’re going to have a lot of fun keeping ourselves occupied in the time left till The Hobbit! That beard gets me every time. I thought initially that it was the novelty but that would’ve worn off by now, wouldn’t it?

  18. jules says:

    Hello ‘B’ or as our village motto would say “welcome back to the bussom of my bussoms”…giggles…missed you lots…Last year was amazing wasn’t it? This year is going to be even more so…glad to be sharing it with you…Our bearded beauty is back in England at the moment so when I heard about your cruise I couldn’t stop giggling, I had visions of you rowing like mad across the Atlantic to Blighty to catch a glimpse!!!
    Luv Jules

    • bccmee says:

      @jules: How could I stay away long? ๐Ÿ™‚ Frankly, unless I have some show and tell, I don’t post. And without the deadline of a challenge, it’s a bit more challenging, LOL! I have considered a trans-Atlantic cruise but there aren’t any going the proper direction until October 2012. However, I’m one of those obsessed fans who does not want to meet RA in person so he is safe from me. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  19. Holliday says:

    Good to see you again! Great siggie. The pics you create are awesome. While I think it’s a shame to cover that gorgeous face, the beard just makes Richard look hotter and sexier than ever. Love love LOVE the beard!

    • bccmee says:

      @Holliday: I’m very delighted to be back. There is something about RA in the beard that is very appealing to me. I found a beardy smiley but it does NOT look attractive, LOL! I love the beard on RA, though! ๐Ÿ˜€

  20. Ania says:

    It’s great that we can once again enjoy your creativity. Siggi is great ๐Ÿ™‚ RA with a beard, well, basically I don’t like bearded guys, but RA with a beard looks so good (ok Aidan Turner, too ๐Ÿ˜‰ )
    I really envy dreams of RA. I had no dreams of RA or just do not remember hmmm … not possible(!) the dream of RA I would certainly not forgotten. ๐Ÿ˜‰
    p.s.
    I wish you a successful cruise ๐Ÿ™‚

    • bccmee says:

      @Ania: I absolutely agree with you. Most men in beards do not appeal to me, but RA is the exception. I hope you do have your RA dreams this year! Good luck with that. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Thanks for your kind wishes on my cruise. I’m really looking forward to it!

  21. “Beard of Dreams” — love it!! & love the images you pulled together to create your fantastic siggie! I had to think of Field of Dreams when reading this: it you grow it (the beard) they will come ๐Ÿ™‚

    Heidi & Atticus

  22. Sheepa says:

    I almost fainted when I saw him with a beard! I love beard on a man, and a beard on RA is just too wonderful for words ๐Ÿ˜€

  23. CDoart says:

    What a wonderful start into the new year, bccmee, and it is good to hear from you again! You spoilt us very much, last year. I was missing you and your art dreadfully.
    I love the clock in Prague as well, though it was years ago, that I saw the original. And RA is the only man for me who ‘can’ wear a beard <;o)#

    • bccmee says:

      @CDoart: That’s very sweet of you to say! I’m taking a more relaxed blogging schedule for the month of January, but I do plan to post at least once a week. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Yes, the clock is very impressive. Prague is definitely one of my favorite cities. And RA is definitely wearing my favorite beard, LOL!

  24. April says:

    Happy New Year to you Bccmee.

    Lovely sig, bravo ! ๐Ÿ™‚

  25. See!! Smiley! Yet always the antihero? lol :))))

  26. Joanna says:

    Yay! You are back,and with fantastic siggie! Thanks Bccmee!<3
    It must be something in the air becose last night I had my first RA dream.
    Unfortunately,I remember only one strong, long,depilated(!?),men's leg,but I woke up stupidly happy;)
    Yes,Richard 'can' wear a beard but the beautiful Aidan looks like a caveman( actually, very pretty caveman);)

    • bccmee says:

      @Joanna: It’s really fabulous to be back. The week felt so much longer. However, I do plan to finish a fanvideo by tomorrow, yay!

      Good job on your RA dream! I hope it’s “the first of many!” ๐Ÿ˜€

  27. fitzg says:

    Beard! And furry neck! ๐Ÿ˜€
    Prague is one of my three favourite cities. Pure fairy-tale.

    • bccmee says:

      @fitzg: New York is my favorite city of all which is why I live here. I think Prague would be in my top 3 as well, rounded out by Caye Caulker, Belize. ๐Ÿ™‚ Which are your other 2 faves?

  28. Joanna says:

    Ahoj! Bccmee! From New York to Prague-really long distance! For me it’s several hours trip by car,I can communicate fairly well in Czech but I’ve never been in Prague,do you belive?.Shame on me.!!!
    I adore the Czech culture nearly as much as the British;)
    Maj sa! Joanna from Poland:)

    • bccmee says:

      @Joanna: If you ever drive to Prague, you might want to leave the car outside town. ๐Ÿ™‚ When I was in that part of the world, I almost visited Poland but it was quite a bit more expensive than the Czech Republic. Instead, I flew to Hungary for a few days! Someday I will visit Poland though. I’ve always wanted to go there.

      • Joanna says:

        O,really! so, I invite you to my house. I could make a good coffee and cake(with a raw spot),then we could ‘jump’ to Krakow-there is a lot of important historical buildings and quite a few nightclubs:):)

  29. Joanna says:

    @Bccmee: LOL! large spoons,dishes and’ beverages’ are on offer in my marina;)

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.

