Failure is a positive word

Edit: Thanks for all your lovely words of support! Please check out my second blog post today to see the final results of today’s Flash animation project. 🙂


Once upon a time, a long time ago in San Francisco’s Chinatown, I went to a great restaurant with some friends. We sat in a booth that was closed off with curtains. It felt like we were on the Orient Express! 😀

At that meal, not only was the food, service and company great, but I got the best fortune cookie fortune in my life. It read: If you don’t fail at least 3 times a day, you’re not really trying.

Believe it or not, that fortune changed my life! Before then, I was rather cautious and not willing to take risks for fear of failure. Suddenly my perception of the word “failure” turned from negative to positive.

As you know, I’m in the process of learning Adobe Flash. My first few animations turned out pretty well. However, this latest one is a bit of a struggle to say the least! 😀

Richard Armitage as John Porter

Screencap courtesy of RichardArmitageNet.Com

I want to share with you this “work on progress.” It is not finished yet, but I’m going to take a little break from debugging the code and I wanted you to see it before it’s completed. When it’s done, there are still some surprises left, so I don’t mind showing you this part of the process.

Today’s screencap choice comes to us at the request of Dhana. She is one of my favorite failures, LOL! She is constantly trying new things. You may have seen some of her animated gifs she made as a result of the tutorial I posted recently. Dhana also has a new blog, the cleverly titled “Do I Have a Blog?” if you want to take a peek.

And now here is the Animated Flash project in progress. I will post the finished product as soon as possible.  🙂  Hope you enjoy this little taste.  Click the image or the text link below to be taken to my external website which hosts my Flash projects.

Doll

Click to see work in progress

http://fanvideos.net46.net/doll01.html

As you can see, I have not yet finished getting the “Hats” button to function properly.  I have learned a lot along the way and I will keep trying!  😀

See you soon, I hope!  Ciao for  now.

This entry was posted in richard armitage. Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to Failure is a positive word

  1. Julischka says:

    Thsi is sooo cool!!!!!

  2. Elaine says:

    Is is just me? I was thinking “why would we want to put clothes on JP?” Oh wait a minute…..so we can undress him again, that’s why! Brilliant, bcc! Good luck with the hat button, we’re waiting with bated breath.

    • bccmee says:

      @Elaine: ROTFL! I suspect you’re not alone in your feelings about John Porter’s state of dress. 😉 Hope you enjoy the hat button now that it’s functional.

  3. ROFL! Oh Bcc this is soooo fun!!!!! You’re on the edge of making a social a game here, like The Sims or similar!!!! Can you imagine?? pick your avatar from a selection of RA characters then dress them up to …. whatelse activity we choose, undress …. 😡 I’d better shut up and add no further ideas 🙂

  4. Carolyn says:

    LOL, so cute! I always loved paper dolls as a child and this reminds me of them. I could always print your screencap and cut the pieces out. Hey, I play with Little Guy, why not paper dolls!

  5. Kathleen Evans says:

    Hours of fun!

  6. Tina Libhart says:

    Okay, just when I thought you could not be any cooler! I wanna be just like you when I grow up!! Thanks for sharing!
    Tina

  7. Gratiana says:

    Hi Bccmee,
    What fun! But I’m with Elaine, he doesn’t need clothes. Ha! However, now that I’ve put the most neck and chest baring shirt choice on him–middle far right prison attire–I can’t get it off him. Ha! C’est la vie. Looking forward to the hats, too.
    Cheers! Grati ;->

  8. CDoart says:

    Wonderful idea, bccmee, and all the samples are so well fitted. You are great with flash and images. It is great fun to dress and undress John Porter ;o)

    • bccmee says:

      @CDoart: You’re very kind to say. It’s super fun learning a new skill that I’ve never tried before. There’s something about Richard Armitage characters that inspire me. 🙂

      • CDoart says:

        I would really like to be a little fly and look over your shoulder to see how you do that all, bccmee !
        I also think I need to push out an article which is brewing for quite some time now about RA and inspiration, though I can’t say, I have the solution, but I experience the wonderful effect ;o)

  9. alfie says:

    Adooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooore it – cant wait for the “hats” button. Next move must be RA in full figure 😉

    • bccmee says:

      @alfie: You read my mind regarding the full figure doll. I wasn’t able to find enough matching poses and clothes. You may have noticed that Richard Armitage characters are seldom filmed at full height, possibly because he’s so tall! 😀

  10. trinalin says:

    Heh heh – great start! I was stupidly trying to drag the clothing onto him, when I realized “Duh! Just click on the shirts!”

  11. Ania says:

    This is really fun 🙂 which proves that no matter what RA dressed, he looks incredibly sexy. ♥
    Thank you for sharing with us your creativity and your skills. *HUGS*

  12. Oh, this is lovely ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥
    I wonder if you would do the same for Lucas as well one day 😉

  13. Jael says:

    What a great idea! I really like that fortune and think it’s time for me to take some more risks as well. 🙂

  14. Dhana says:

    You come up with the coolest ideas!! Gonna have tons of fun with this one. 😀

    • bccmee says:

      @Dhana: Aw thanks! I’ve been wanting to learn how to do this for ages and I’m glad to finally be getting around to it. Thanks again for all you support and the great screencaps! *HUGS* Congratulations on your new blog too. I’ve added you to my blogroll. 😀

  15. jules says:

    I’m absolutely killing myself laughing here…as a ‘middle aged’ lady(?) I shouldn’t be having so much fun…I don’t even have to cut the clothes out like I used to…John Porter, you’re the perfect model…can’t wait to get my hands on the rest of your attachments…You’re beyond amazing ‘B’ thankyou

    • Teuchter says:

      Oh Jules!! Now it’s my turn to kill myself laughing! I’m afraid my mind went off on a completely different tangent with that sentence that began “John Porter, you’re the perfect model” as I wondered what “attachments” you couldn’t wait to get your hands on!! 😉 OK! I’ve sobered up and realize you were referring to various articles of clothing and not hands, arms, shoulders etc. etc!!

    • bccmee says:

      @jules: You would not believe the amount of fun I had putting the pictures together. I’m sure something this enjoyable must be bad for my health in some way, LOL!

  16. Pamela says:

    With RA/JP treats like this, life is good! Thanks Bccmee 🙂

  17. jazzbaby1 says:

    An RA paper doll? Brilliant!

  18. Musa/Fabo says:

    That was fun! Thanks Bccmee!

    (Oh, I second Carla, one for Lucas one day, please?)

  19. Pingback: Failure is good, but success is sweeter! | bccmee's Richard Armitage Vids & Graphics

  20. kathryngaul says:

    Now I’ll never be able to get off this darned computer as I’m sure it’ll become addictive to dress and then undress JP!! He is just sooooo beautiful.

  21. mersguy says:

    Bcccmee are you also a mind reader? I often think about dressing JP (and then undressing!) how will I focus at work today? Very distRActing, but what fun!!

  22. chabesquen says:

    I’m a just blown away every time you post something new!!! This is great fun! The hat choices were quite inspired. 😉

  23. April says:

    Great Bccmee, I love it !!!

  24. Pingback: All this creativity just won’t be denied! « Me + Richard Armitage

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.

