Bonus Tutorial – Screencapping

I’ve received a lot of useful feedback on yesterday’s DVD ripping tutorial.  Thank you!  And I hope you’re having fun ripping to your heart’s content.  😀  ♥  I’m looking forward to lots of Richard Armitage character animated gifs next week when the tutorial is completed.

Due to popular demand, today I’m sneaking in a screencapping tutorial.  I’m also going to address a DVD ripping issue that came to my attention that some of you  may have experienced.  Then on Monday, we’ll resume our animated gif tutorial with the editing process.  It will be a crash course in the basics of Adobe Premiere Pro!

Richard Armitage as John Porter

Richard Armitage as John Porter in a fresh hot screencap!

If you already know how to screencap, feel free to skip or skim to the bottom of this post.  If you have another favorite method, do share it if you wish!


Bonus Screencapping Tutorial

The big picture: we’re going to use VLC Player to capture stills from a video source using the snapshot button on the Advanced toolbar. Then we’re going to locate the resulting image file(s).

First, make sure you have VLC Player installed. It’s free and safe and it’s the best player out there because it plays almost anything.

Here’s the URL for VLC Player if you don’t already have it:  http://www.videolan.org/vlc/

Next, play your video that you want to take screencaps from. Hit the pause button  when you find a still that you would like to capture for posterity.

pause

pause

To access the snapshot button, we need to display the advanced controls in VLC Player.  To do this, click on the View menu, then Advanced Controls. This will open the additional  toolbar.

Now that your advanced toolbar is present, you will click on the ‘snapshot’ button to capture your still image.

Once you click the snapshot button, you will have created a still image. If you look very quickly, you might see the path where the file is stored.

However, chances are that this will go by too quickly. But don’t worry because the file will be saved in your pictures folder!

Here’s how it looks on my computer:

Now you have created a screencap so you can post it to the forums or make siggies and avis from them.

Try it! It’s easy and fun once you practice a few times! Note that once you have your Advanced toolbar open, it should remain open and you just have to click the ‘snapshot’ button for each screencap.

If you make some screencaps, I’d love it if you would upload them into a free picture hosting account such as http://www.imageshack.com or http://www.photobucket.com.  Then you can post your image links in the comments so we can all see and enjoy and admire your favorites!  🙂  I’ll get it started by posting a comment below as an example.  We can always use more Richard Armitage screencaps!  😀


Aspect Ratio

Some videos on VLC player might be distorted. In this case, you will want to change the aspect ratio before watching or screencapping the program. To do this, go to the Video menu, then Aspect Ratio. For Chris Ryan’s Strike Back and many television shows, you will select 16:9.



DVD Region Codes

In yesterday’s tutorial, some of you may have run into issues with regional codes on your DVD.  If you had no problem then you can ignore this bit!  🙂

However, there is a great software program you can download for a free trial if you received an error message with DVD Decrypter relating to region codes.  The program is called AnyDVD and although it is not free, you can download a fully functioning 21-day trial here:  http://www.slysoft.com/en/anydvd.html.  Once you have the AnyDVD program installed, you simply run it in the background before you open DVD Decrypter.  AnyDVD will prevent any regional code errors.  🙂


Captain America DVD

A friend of mine noticed that the new Captain America: The First Avenger would not rip with DVD Decrypter. As an experiment, she tried it after installing and running the free trial of AnyDVD and it worked beautifully! So I encourage you to try this program for 21 days if you have any issues with playing or ripping DVDs. Thanks, Dhana!

Richard Armitage as Heinz Kruger

Richard Armitage as Heinz Kruger


Buying DVDs

I encourage you to purchase the DVDs or Blu-rays when they become available. Richard Armitage and his fellow actors, the writers, directors, and crew all need to earn a living! And when you do buy them, if you order through richardarmitagenet.com, a commission will be donated to Richard Armitage’s favorite charities. 🙂 What could be better? I made my latest Amazon purchase of a new headset and the Captain America: The First Avenger Blu-ray + DVD through their link. As you can see, your purchases need not be Richard Armitage RelAted to generate a commission for charity!


That’s it for today! Please post any questions and/or your screencaps! EDIT: If you include more than one link in your comment, the blog will automatically trigger your comment to await my moderation. I will approve it as soon as I’m online. 🙂 I will see you Monday with the next part of the tutorial.

This entry was posted in Animated GIFs, Thoughts, Tutorials and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Bonus Tutorial – Screencapping

  1. bccmee says:

    Here’s a screencap I made from the extra features in Captain America: The First Avenger: http://img855.imageshack.us/img855/2223/bccmeecaextras01.jpg

  2. I don’t know how, but I did it.
    Here is my screencap of Strike Back 1: http://t.co/tNERkbRy
    Did my homeworks professor. Next lesson tomorrow?
    Many thanks!

    • bccmee says:

      @Carla: Super work! It’s a good way to earn bonus points by capping a John Porter picture, LOL! If it was a struggle the first time, I urge you to keep trying until it’s second nature. 🙂

      Thank you for sharing your beautiful screencap. Next lesson will be Monday.

  3. This is a most excellent tutorial. Thank you for posting! 🙂

  4. Musa/Fabo says:

    Excellent tutorials Bccmee – I’m taking notes for when I have time to try it all. Thank you!

    in my own “Grandma Moses” way I’ve also used Screenshot Utility for screencaps in the past: http://www.screenshot-utility.com/

    • bccmee says:

      @Musa/Fabo: I look forward to your screencaps using the VLC Player. Thanks for the link to the software too. The Screenshot Utility is useful in many cases, but you might notice an improvement in quality using VLC for screencapping videos. Please let us know if there’s a difference. 🙂

  5. Phylly3 says:

    If there’s a harder way to do something – I will always find it! I’ve been making screencaps in my own way since I first saw a video on my computer! I just use the Print Screen button to capture the screen then open up Windows “Paint” program and paste it there. Then I crop it and save it as a jpg or png file. It works great, but I guess the quality is probably not the greatest, right?

    • bccmee says:

      @Phylly3: I think VLC will generate a higher quality screencap for videos. The Print Screen is great for capturing your screen of course! I often use the latter method for making tutorials. But I always use VLC Player to make screencaptures from video sources. Perhaps you can try to see if you notice a difference.

      Thank you so much for your comment. I look forward to your results!

      • Phylly3 says:

        Let’s see how this works.. I have had VLC for a while but I don’t think I’d tried using the screencap button before. When I upload pictures to Photobucket it decreases the picture size quite a bit. So I tried enlarging it. I hope that didn’t degrade the quality. I guess I should try Image Shack too. Anyway here is my Photobucket enlargement:
        http://bit.ly/uc9rx7

  6. Ania says:

    Thank you for the next part of your tutorial.♥ It’s amazing, because thanks to your instructions, it seems it is easy to do. 😉
    Here’s my SCREENCAP: http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/841/vlcsnap2011110519h03m08.png/

    • bccmee says:

      @Ania: Wow, gorgeous John Porter! ♥ Thank you so much for sharing him, LOL! Most excellent screencap. I look forward to seeing your animated gifs next week. 🙂

  7. Dhana says:

    Here are a couple of caps I made from the most recent Hobbit video blog released by Peter Jackson:

    Thanks for the tutorials, bcc! I’m looking forward to the next one! 😉

    • bccmee says:

      @Dhana: Wow, lovely screencaps of Thorin! I can’t believe how RA’s beauty still shines through all the costuming, hair, prosthetics and makeup!

      Thank you very much for all your participation and support. Without taking risks, we don’t learn. 😀 😀 😀

  8. fitzg says:

    Thank you for the screencapping instructions! Your screen looks like mine, so that really helps.

  9. smitkit says:

    Thanks for the screencapping tutorial, B. I’ve never done screencapping before, but decided to have a go. Here’s my effort, Fromm N&S episode 4 (if the link works!!)

    • bccmee says:

      @smitkit: Hurray! Most excellent work. Your screencap is from the same scene as the Picture of the Day at richardarmitagent.com. Was that intentional or coincidence? 🙂 There can never be enough John Thornton screencaps. ♥

      I hope you make many more delicious screencaps! Thanks so much for checking in!

      • smitkit says:

        Complete coincidence B, as I actually made my screencap yesterday, I picked N&S at random. It was a little spooky to see the POTD this morning, the pic is almost identical!

  10. Lady Rose says:

    Bccmee. You are an angel. That is all.

  11. Pingback: Bccmee: A fellow blogger’s gracious farewell, 09/25/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #278) | Something About Love (A)

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.

