October animated gif challenge – day 30

The phrase “ethereal beauty” has been used on more than one occasion to describe Richard Armitage’s appearance as Lucas North in Spooks 7.

Today’s animated gif comes at the request of jules in honor of her birthday today. She suggested the famous doughnut scene from Spooks 7.2. Brilliant!

Happy birthday, dear jules!

Richard Armitage as Lucas North

Screencap courtesy of RichardArmitageNet.Com

I remember when I saw the screencap above for the first time.  As a brand-new American fan of Richard Armitage, I had never heard of Spooks or even MI-5 as it is known here.  I was very curious about this scene to say the least.  Let’s just say this had quite an impact on me, LOL!  So needless to say, I’m delighted that jules requested this for her special day.   😛

Jules wrote, “Hi B…loving October!!! I keep thinking of little snippets but I end up with too many…I’ve just watched Spooks 7 ep2 it’s about 10 or 15 mins in when Lucas is sat with Malcolm eating donuts…the way he licks his fingers then raises his eyebrow when Harry calls him, just gets me every time.  Hope you can make a gif from this…not sure about the caption though…sweet talking guy…sweet Lucas??? Thanks B you are very much appreciated xxxxx Oh just thought, what about ‘sugar and spies’ giggles

Here is your animated gif:

Richard Armitage as Lucas North

Great scene selection and caption, jules! “Sugar & Spies” was the perfect choice.

See you all tomorrow for Halloween … ooooooooh! 😮

This entry was posted in Animated GIFs, Graphics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

99 Responses to October animated gif challenge – day 30

  1. fitzg says:

    Jules, a great scene! bccmee, you caught the look Jules reference – “whoops, the headmaster calling”.
    Eating the last choccy donut indeed 🙂

    • bccmee says:

      @fitzg: That particular expression is very funny. I notice how Malcolm mirrors his expression too, although that’s not in the gif.

      I love this scene, whether it be in screencap or in motion! Thanks for your lovely comment!

      • jules says:

        Hi fitzg and bccmee loving reading the comments! You are so right ‘B’ Malcolm does mirror Richard…it makes it a great scene…they both raise their eyebrows but there’s only one person that makes me swoon…….

  2. Sarah P. says:

    I love Season 7 Lucas, and this was one of my favorite moments! Thanks for featuring it! 🙂

  3. Musa/Fabo says:

    Lucas is Luscious!
    Happy Birthday Jules! Great choice – Lucas is my favorite too. Thanks Bccmee for another perfect gif and another perfect RA moment.
    In this scene I also love that Lucas ate the chocolate donut first, because I would have too.

    • bccmee says:

      @Musa/Fabo: I really like this scene and the fish and chips one in Spooks 7.1. Wish they had Lucas eating every episode, LOL! 😛 Did you notice that John Porter never eats once in Chris Ryan’s Strike Back?

      Of all the kinds of doughnuts, I have to admit chocolate is my favorite. Although in the fall I also like “apple and spice” filled doughnuts. Now I’m hungry!

      • jules says:

        Thankyou Musa/Fabo I absolutely adored Lucas…Spooks was a fantastic series for Richard to star in…As for the fish and chips scene…he wasn’t the only one that had a craving from then on…………

  4. Ana Cris says:

    Thanks Bcc and Happy Birthday Jules.
    We love candy, and RA is so sweet!

  5. I love Lucas in this episode. Although he ate the chocolate one… 😉
    Thanks!

  6. CDoart says:

    Happy Birthday, Jules! Thank you and bccmee, for this delicious moment with a deliciously sweet Lucas North from Spooks 7.

  7. Ania says:

    Great choice of scenes and excellent gif.
    Oh I love it! 🙂

  8. PV says:

    Bcc, love this one! that expression is sooo cute 🙂 And the caption is perfect, “sugar and spies”, love it. Thanks Jules for remembering this scene, now i am going back to watch Spooks 7 again 🙂

    Delicious man! 🙂

    • bccmee says:

      @PV: It really is an impossibly cute expression. He looks so much like a little boy there. Enjoy the show! Thanks for commenting! 😀

    • jules says:

      thanks PV I had lots of gifs running through my head but this one was a fav as I’m a massive Spooks fan series 7 especially…wish I could join you watching it again!!!

  9. tyme4t says:

    LOVE this! Perfect choice of scenes and titles! Wow – this is in my top 3 (if I were forced to rate the gifs from this month 😉 )
    Maybe I will “force” myself on Nov 1st to review all the gif(t)s from bccmee this month 😎

    • bccmee says:

      @tyme4t: The suggestions were so spot-on, I would be really hard-pressed to pick my favorites. LOL re: “gif(t)s”. *giggle*

    • jules says:

      Hi tyme4t…I didn’t leave a comment yesterday because I wanted to sleep on my top 3…oooops hope you know what I mean…I’m still no nearer deciding…may have to have another sleep….with the whole 31

  10. Gratiana says:

    Hi Bccmee and Jules,
    Love this gif! Lucas lingering on the grid–seeing what intel he can pick up–and casually eating a donut in the process is pure misdirection. And I love his blanching facial expression.
    Cheers! Grati

    • jules says:

      Hi Gratiana… that’s what grabbed me…he looked such a sweetypie sucking his thumb and eating the donut but all the time he was gathering intel for the Russians…brilliant!!!

    • bccmee says:

      @Gratiana: Good point and great word “misdirection!” The writing and acting in this scene was excellent!

      • Gratiana says:

        To Bccmee,
        Another thing that struck me about this scene is that since it serves as one of our early introductions to the character of Lucas North, Richard Armitage completely smashed our remembrance of him as Sir Guy of Gisborne in Robin Ood. Once again, Mr. Armitage transformed himself for a character portrayal–and I don’t just refer to his weight loss–that would further define his authentic and immersive acting style. He is an exquisitely talented master storyteller and we are all the grateful beneficiaries of it.
        Cheers! Grati ;->

  11. I love the eyebrow raise, and then…the thumb lick. Pure heaven! Habby Birthday Jules:-))

  12. Lady Prisca says:

    Happy birthday Jules ! Thank you for your great suggestion. I love Lucas and I love this scene too , he seems to be the boy next door like that and not a cold spy. I don’t remember another scene (in MI 5 or not) where he sucks his thumb like that. What a pity , he does it so well! Thank you so much Bccmee!

    • jules says:

      thanks Lady Prisca…it was such a quick suck of the thumb I nearly missed it….not very spy like at all…yummy

    • bccmee says:

      @Lady Prisca: Oh if only he had done the thumblick in another role, hehe. I would’ve been making fanvids and graphics to celebrate within minutes, LOL!

  13. Thank you Jules and BCC for choosing Lucas. Happy birthday!
    It was a long time since I was waiting for the lovely spy!
    I am confused. The mother in me thinks: “Lucas S7 you are skinny, you should eat more”.
    The woman is concentrating on his careless, sensual sucking thumb….
    Yes, luscious Lucas!

  14. Phylly3 says:

    OMG!! THAT is my definite favourite! I am killing myself laughing like a maniac here! It was such a tiny scene that went by so fast — but here it is forever immortalized! I am sooo grateful to the both of you. Now, back to watch it — and belly-laugh some more! 🙂

    • bccmee says:

      @Phylly3: I’m rather glad I saw the screencaps before viewing the episode (or rather fast-forwarding through to get to the Lucas bits) so I could give this little piece of action my full attention! 😛 Since the scene goes by so quickly, I slowed it down just a wee bit in the animated gif settings. Still, it requires repeated viewing to get all the nuances, LOL!

  15. Kathleen Evans says:

    It looks like you hit all the sweet spots with this one. Thanks so much to you and happy birthday to Jules!

  16. Phylly3 says:

    Okay, I’ve watched this a zillion times and I can’t tell if it’s a chocolate donut or not! Am I blind?

    • jules says:

      giggles Phylly3..I’m as blind as a bat but I seem to have inexplicably amazing vision when it comes to our Lucious Lucas…you may have to suck his thumb to see if it was a choccy donut mmmmmmm

    • bccmee says:

      @Phylly3: It will take a full semester course at the Institute of Armitage Studies to determine whether or not it’s a chocolate doughnut!

      • tyme4t says:

        If my [spooks] memory is correct – Lucas actually apologizes to Malcolm for eating all the chocolate donuts…guess he wasn’t full from the macaroons his “landlady” brought him. Of course, he had just spent 8 years in a Russian prison so he needed to get his sweet fix…. 🙂

        • bccmee says:

          @tyme4t: Good point! Maybe that lack of sugar is why his teeth still look so good even after all that time in prison, LOL!

        • jules says:

          giggles… I’ve just remembered when I went to Russia in the 70’s I spent the whole 2 weeks eating apples…my poor poor Lucas he must have been starving after 8 years…You would have thought Harry Pearce would have got the ‘landlady’ to bring him more than macaroons…unless they were a secret code for something else…Oh I should have been a spy…

        • Teuchter says:

          I’ve decided that Lucas/Richard is MY “sweet fix” 😉 This has to be one of my favourite scenes. I believe you’re right tyme4t – I think he says something like, “Sorry Malcolm, I ate the chocolate one/ones”. This man is just too delicious for words. Belated Happy Birthday Jules (thought I’d commented yesterday but I guess not!) and once more a brilliant gif, Bccmee!!

        • bccmee says:

          @Teuchter: This really is a brilliant scene from Spooks! In my imagination, the directors says, “Look sexy and cute!” And being the consummate actor, Richard Armitage complies. 😉

  17. Oh my, Lucas and donuts! The only thing missing there is a cup of hot chocolate and a sofa on a sunday autumn afternoon ….oooops! (put yourself together woman!!) Sorry 😉
    Excellent choice. Excellent making of Bcc. Happy Brithday Jules! Thank you both 🙂

    • jules says:

      thankyou Ana I hope your sofa is big enough for all of us…I wonder what we would all talk about????

    • bccmee says:

      @Ana Cristina: You may have heard that we had a very heavy early snowstorm in New York City yesterday. It snowed in my neighborhood for at least 14 hours straight through! I could think of nothing I’d rather do than hang out on the couch with a cup of hot chocolate and Lucas with his doughnuts! 😛

  18. Thaís says:

    He’s soooo cute on this scene!! :)) I love it!!

  19. Elaine says:

    Mercy, I’m weak at the knees…………..great choice Jules – happy birthday! “B” you have been keeping us entertained for weeks now, we’re not worthy! Only one day/gif left – I’m missing them already!

    • bccmee says:

      @Elaine: If you’re weak at the knees, maybe you should join Lucas on the couch. I’ll get you a cup of hot chocolate to settle you. I’m sure that will calm you down! 😉

      • Elaine says:

        Please add some Bailey’s Irish Cream to my hot chocolate – as if my knees weren’t weak enough already! Good heavens, this gif is truly amazing………

    • jules says:

      thankyou Elaine we have had a fantastic time haven’t we…can’t wait for tomorrow hope ‘B’ has chosen her own favourite gif

  20. mersguy says:

    Simply delicious Lucas…..”sorry I’ve eaten all the chocolate ones” I’m melting as quickly as the chocolate!
    Happy birthday Jules and thanks B – a divine choice

  21. Oh,My! This is my favorite scene of S7. I love the way that Lucas rises his eyesbrows and makes a silly face while sucks his thumb. He is so luscious,indeed! How is he so hot doing this simple gesture. Can a man to be sweeter?.
    Congratullations for your excelent choose Jules and you bccmee for make us so happy making this gif.
    Happy birthday Jules!

  22. Excuse my mistakes,Bccmee, but when I saw Lucas sucking that thumb, my brain melted and I could not even think and write correctly in a different language from mine.

    • bccmee says:

      @Tereza: I understood you perfectly so there’s no need to apologize! It’s due to the far-reaching Armitage Effect which affects women around the world! 😛

  23. beengizzied says:

    Gif-ted.

  24. bccmee says:

    @jules: Thanks so much for your most excellent suggestion and I wish you the happiest of birthdays. I’m so glad you shared your day with us all and I appreciate you taking the time to respond to so many comments!

    • jules says:

      Hey thats spooky I think we were both posting comments to each other at the same time…giggles we were both thanking each other…I’ve typed all my thankyou’s with a pair of dodgy contact lenses in place so I’m not sure what I’ve written… and Strike Back was on the TV at the same time so I couldn’t concentrate…oh and I may have had a little glass of wine….Cheers…luv jules xxxxxx

      • bccmee says:

        @jules: Cool that we cross-posted! Lucas has that effect on us and then to top it off with having John Porter on the TV set, well I’m surprised you’re anywhere near coherent, LOL! Drink up! 😀

  25. jules says:

    Hi bccmee can’t thankyou enough for my birthday gif…you captured it brilliantly…I’ve enjoyed all the wonderful comments…hope you have chosen something for yourself tomorrow…you deserve it… luv jules xxxxx

    • bccmee says:

      @jules: You’re very welcome, teammate! Tomorrow I have another animated gif from a participant, not my own design. I wanted to have as many people able to play as possible! 🙂 But I’ll use a design of my own when I post my animated gif tutorial next month.

  26. jazzbaby1 says:

    Happy Birthday, jules! What an awesome choice…I love that look on his face as he turns around. So tomorrow’s the last day…I’m DYING to see what you came up with, bccmee!

  27. Pamela says:

    Lucas may be craving donuts but I know what I’m craving 😉 Thanks, Bccmee

  28. Pingback: Fan-Art-Event: Who Loves Countdowns ? | King Richard Armitage

  29. Nice! Finger licking good.

  30. Meryl says:

    only one thing to say~ fabulous! thanks for a month of the “sweetest thing” B

  31. Joanna says:

    Oh…sweet Lukas I just want to hug him and to feed him..some hot soupe..pasta or stew:)
    Deliciouse gif Bccmee,Thank you!
    I wish you all the best Jules:)
    Joanna

    • bccmee says:

      @Joanna: He really does need some fattening up at the beginning of Spooks 7! 😛 I will gladly assist you in providing food to our favorite delicious spy!

    • jules says:

      thankyou Joanna…It breaks my heart the first time we see Lucas in Spooks 7 looking so malnourished…that’s why I liked the donut scene so much…and the one where he’s eating fish and chips…bless…

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.

