October animated gif challenge – day 29

Today’s animated gif features more comedy from that zany duo, Sir Guy of Gisborne and the Sheriff of Nottingham!  Richard Armitage and Keith Allen played very well off each other in the BBC series Robin Hood.

Our graphic designer today is fitzg.  She had ideas for several gifs and finally decided on the scene of Guy waving at the sheriff when they were trying to bump each other off.

Keith Allen and Richard Armitage in Robin Hood

Screencap courtesy of RichardArmitageNet.Com

I am very amused by this screencap from Robin Hood series 3, episode 6.  Notice the similarity in the expressions of the sheriff and Sir Guy!

Fitzg wrote, “RH 3. Gisborne wiggles his fingers with a smirk at the sheriff, as they’ve just failed to kill each other. Just thought it so hilarious, especially as RA had just said in interview that he is so not funny. Yes he is.”

Here is your animated gif:

Richard Armitage as Guy of Gisborne

Fitzg also came up with the caption, “Have a nice day!”

As I was creating the animated gif I remembered that directly after this sequence, the sheriff shoots an arrow at Guy. But the arrow is intercepted by a villager who is shot instead. What’s funny about that is that the villager was trying to kill Guy, but is instead killed himself!  Okay, I know that wouldn’t be funny in real life, but in the context of the show it was quite amusing!

This entry was posted in Animated GIFs, Graphics and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to October animated gif challenge – day 29

  1. mersguy says:

    Was really getting like a panto by this stage, the manky lion in ep 3 was a real crack up!!
    They say dramatic actors are good at comedy, all about the timing!
    Sir Guy of course looks amazing. Oh no only 2 days left Bccmee, where has this month gone!
    Thanks for all your hard work and thanks fitzg for your wonderful choice of gif.

  2. Elaine says:

    I haven’t seen any RH season 3 episodes yet so it’s extra fun to see this scene. Thanks, fitzg, for suggesting it to our gif genius, bccmee.

    Sherry and Guy are a touch Abbott and Costello sometimes!

  3. Guy and Sherry? Again? I go crazy when they are together on screen.
    What about a little Bon Jovi soundtrack?

  4. Musa/Fabo says:

    Guy wins the most popular RA character award!
    This is a fun scene indeed – great gif Bccmee and fitzg! Agree with Elaine, Guy and the Sherriff could have taken their act on the road as a great comedy team.

    • bccmee says:

      @Musa/Fabo: Yes, Guy is the clear winner! I’m a bit surprised but it’s been such a pleasure to see these scenes in their finer detail. Of course if I chose the animated gif topics, most of them would feature John Porter, LOL!

  5. tyme4t says:

    I love Guy’s sneer as he turns away! Great suggestion fitzg & well done (again) bccmee!

  6. LOL!! That’s a very good scene fitzg! Now, *searching for gravitas* a poor villager gets killed in the process and you find that amusing??? Shame on you Bcc!!! 😉
    I think it’s safe to call him, on balance of this challenge, Guy of Gif-Borne. 🙂
    Thanks Bcc, as always, excelent job!

  7. Gratiana says:

    Hi Bccmee!
    I love this scene gif! And Guy and Vasy were a riot together. The only way that Keith’ scenery chewing was softened and made plausible was by Richard’s brilliant acting with him. I’m going to miss these gifs. There are definitely a bright spot to my day. Thanks for creating them!
    Cheers! Grati ;->

    • bccmee says:

      @Gratiana: Glad you enjoyed this gif! Aw, thanks for your kind words and all your support, participation in, and promotion of the challenge 🙂 I really appreciate it! *HUGS*

  8. Lady Prisca says:

    Very funny , I don’t like very much the season 3 but i like this kind of scenes , when Guy “plays” with the sheriff. Very good choice fitzg and bravo Bccmee.

  9. jazzbaby1 says:

    I love this bit, so glad it’s a gif! Thanks fitzg and bccmee! Fantastic, again!

  10. Maria Grazia says:

    Great! Congrats! Love it!

  11. phylly3 says:

    Hilarious gif! Perfect caption and thanks to Cassia for the musical reference. That was so great! I am definitely having a “nice day”! 🙂 You people are truly inspirational. 😉

    • bccmee says:

      @phylly3: I had completely forgotten that scene from Forrest Gump! Wow that’s a blast from the past. 😀 Perfect addition to the animated gif. Thanks for posting the link and have a nice day!

  12. CDoart says:

    What wonderful and honest “Have a nice day” greeting ;o) It certainly makes my day ;o))))
    Thank you, Bccmee and Fitzg!

    • bccmee says:

      @CDoart: It’s a very cheery message, LOL! I love the contrast of the characters trying to kill each other and then their fake friendly waves. 😀

  13. Ania says:

    Ha ha ha Fitzg wonderful selection of scenes and signature.
    Bccmee, gif gorgeous as usual♥
    Oh, I love this duo. Strange I don’t know why, but the Sheriff played by Keith Allen, I really can’t hate. I know that he hung folks for the entertainment, but when he was angry he was such funny 🙂
    Really, RA and KA created the amazing duo.

  14. Teuchter says:

    How could I not have a nice day after this Fitzg and Bccmee? I thought RA really came into his own in S3 and this was such a fun scene! 🙂 Just a slight hair toss from Guy as he turns away. He sure “rocked the locks” so can hardly wait to see if we will see Thorin do it – hopefully!! SO much more hair to work with and braids to boot!! 😀

    • bccmee says:

      @Teuchter: Yes, I love the hair toss. As an actor, Richard Armitage used every available means to convey his emotions. Oh you’re so right about Thorin. The more I think about him, the more excited I am about The Hobbit film! 🙂

  15. Thais says:

    I love watching Gisborne and the Sheriff together. Usually the scenes are really funny! Two days ago I watched the final episode of Robin Hood series 2… I’m completely devastated until now!!! :((

    • bccmee says:

      @Thais: Yes, RH 2 ended on a very sad note. I’m glad they brought in some much-needed humor for some of the episodes on season 3! Thanks so much for your comment!

  16. jules says:

    My two favourite naughty boys….I absolutely loved the scenes Richard and Keith were in…how they kept their faces straight it’s a credit to them both as actors…Yeah the clocks go back tomorrow an extra hour in bed…no chance…RH3 is on TV at 7am…butterflies in tummy already…oh then Strike Back 1 is on later …best day ever!!!

    • bccmee says:

      @jules: Now that you mention it, they do act like children, LOL! Even in outtakes, I saw them keeping their faces straight when the camera is rolling. They are mighty talented!

      Wow two RA shows in one day? That’s awesome. Hope you enjoy your mini-maRAthon!

  17. fitzg says:

    There are three other “Gif-Borne” scenes in RH 3 – though one is rather bitter-sweet. But this one really showed RA’s comic timing.

    • bccmee says:

      @fitzg: RA definitely has quite an acting range. I was first exposed to him in The Vicar of Dibley and thought of him as a comedic actor. Then I saw North & South and was blown away by his skills!

      Thanks so very much for your brilliant animated gif design and caption! 🙂 😀

  18. beengizzied says:

    S3 Ep 6 Scene 2: LAST REVISED

    BEENGIZZIED’S TENT – NIGHT Note:Gisborne still shirtless

    “Do you love me, Gisborne?” *

    “Yes, Beengizzied.” *

    (continued)

    [Love this ep. bccmee and fitzg]

    • bccmee says:

      @beengizzied: There’s no link for the continuation of this story. When will we see more? Are the asterisks supposed to lead to footnotes? 😉 I’ll buy your script when you’re done! 😀

  19. Lady Rose says:

    Haha! This is definitely one of my favourites!

  20. I love the scenes between Guy and Sheriif,mainly when the sheriff is very angry and throws his anger over Guy. They act like cats and dogs almost all the time. It´s hilarious see them together. I even made a video about them for my y. t channel. You Bccmee and Fitzg have made a great job. I´d also like to thanks to Carla for to post a Bon Jovi vid. I love Jon B.J too. To see Guy and J.Bon Jovi in the same day, it was a great present.

  21. fitzg says:

    bccmeee, a thanks for gifting Gisborne. Going to miss starting the day with your gifs!
    Jules, good reminder re: clocks. I forget EVERY spring and autumn. Oh, flip – all those digital ones! Making the rounds tonight…

    • Teuchter says:

      I learned this after coming to Canada where Autumn is mostly called Fall. “Spring forward – Fall back”. Good way to remember which WAY to turn the clock but it doesn’t help in remembering WHEN to do it. My husband used to drive me crazy as he would change all the clocks in the early evening which was really confusing. Lol!!

      • bccmee says:

        @Teuchter: I don’t even understand why we change our clocks. Some states in the USA and some countries don’t do it. I want to move to one of those places! 😀

    • jules says:

      Hi fitzg…so glad I reminded you…god damn it I forgot to remind hubby…no extra hour for me…what a stroke of luck our Sir Gizzy on TV at 7am…I would get out of bed any hour for him (or into bed) whoops hope nobody read that!!!

  22. bccmee says:

    @fitzg: Thanks again for your brilliant gif design! I really appreciate your participation.

    Regarding the time change, this is a tweet I sent: The UK and US will be an hour closer for a week. If you’re American, change your clocks NEXT week even if you’re an Anglophile!

    😀 😛 😀

  23. Bccmme, Thanks for all beautiful gifs you have made this month. It´s a pity that October is ending,
    but I know you’ll have another brilliant idea. How about you go back to making those beautiful background?Think about!
    Anyway, I know that any idea you have, please all of us , certainly.
    Cheers!

  24. Richard can be quite funny, can’t he! Oh I love this scene.
    I failed to comment yesterday, but you really made me happy with that Throin gif.
    Thank you, thank you!

    • bccmee says:

      @grendel’s mum: It’s always a pleasure to see you here! 🙂 I’m so glad you enjoyed the Guy and Thorin gifs. It’s great to have you in the community with your excellent Japanese blog!

  25. One of my favorite scenes in Robin Hood. I just love the little back and forth between Guy and Vasy from the first time I saw it! Love this B!

  26. Pamela says:

    Richard & Keith were the highlight of RH with their chemistry. And as S4 Guy, Richard took tall, dark and handsome to a whole new level. Thanks, Bccmee 🙂

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.

