October animated gif challenge – day 20

The story of North & South is so classic. It has elements to appeal to all demographics: love, tragedy, and the industrial revolution!  It bears repeated viewing as there is something new to be found each time.  Also, the writing and performances are of the highest standard.   To top it all off, Richard Armitage and Daniella Denby-Ashe had incredible chemistry, making their love story more believable.

Today is Minnie’s birthday!  She requested the iconic “Look back at me” scene for her animated gif.  The separation of John and Margaret was so heart-wrenching.  I hope they get together in the end!  😉

Richard Armitage as John Thornton

Screencap courtesy of RichardArmitageNet.Com

The above screencap is from the scene when Margaret says good-bye to the Thornton family.  Mr. Thornton says to her, “So you are going.  And never come back.”  *sigh*

The animated gif recommendation not only came from Minnie, but also Luce requested the same scene.

Here is your animated gif:

Richard Armitage as John Thornton

A big happy birthday wish to you, Minnie!  Hope you enjoy your day.  🙂  Thanks so much for your lovely suggestion.

This entry was posted in Animated GIFs, Graphics and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to October animated gif challenge – day 20

  1. April says:

    Thank you Bccmee. This is one of my favourite moment in the serie. 🙂

  2. GratianaDS90 says:

    Hi Bccmee,
    Such a heartwrenching moment! And Richard Armitage said in the interview on the N&S dvd that this was one of his favorite moments.
    Cheers! Grati ;->

  3. phylly3 says:

    It was such a heartbreaking scene. Mr. Armitage was able to communicate so much with just his eyes and facial expressions. Happy Birthday Minnie! Thanks to Luce as well. So glad you did this one Bccmee!

  4. Elaine says:

    just leaving to get on a train (not a carriage) so just a quick – thud!! from me.

  5. jazzbaby1 says:

    Awww…poor heartbroken Mr. Thornton.

  6. Angela Mellor says:

    Wonderful … gets me every time … Thanks Bcc xxx

  7. Alfie says:

    *SIGH* So sad and beautiful. Love your gif.

    Yes, RA did say that this moment and the kissing scene at the station was his favorites, and WHEN he said it he got this fantastic smirk/grin on his face – like he was thinking: “When I say this, they are going to love me even more”. LOL:

  8. Kathleen Evans says:

    The month would not be complete without this scene. Thanks so much!

  9. Lady Rose says:

    Heeeeey! I was watching this last night! I haven’t gotten to that part yet.
    *sniffle*
    This part made me cry…damn Margaret. Why couldn’t she look back?

    Oh hey, I also wanted to ask; Are you still taking gif suggestions, Bccmee?

  10. Musa/Fabo says:

    How could she look at that face and not look back!
    Love it Bccmee! Love the snow effect too, more heartbreaking than ever the gif. Happy Birthday Minnie, and thank you and Luce for suggesting this scene 🙂

  11. Ania says:

    This scene touches me every time. “Look back at me” in the silence of falling snow seems almost shouting *sigh*

  12. Yes, my favorite moment, too! So sweet.

  13. tyme4t says:

    I cry every time….I know what’s happening, I know what he will say, I know that she doesn’t look back and it makes me weepy every single time.
    Love this scene – train station kiss will always be #1 but this scene is definite #2

  14. Lady Prisca says:

    Very romantic and moving moment. For two weeks I read again the novel and I wait the end of my reading to watch again the serie. I was impatient but now “because of you Bccmee” and because of the great suggestions of our friends I don’t know if I’ll be abble to tolerate the temptation.
    “So you are going. And never come back.”……I loooooooove this moment (it make me cry , I want to take John in my arms and to give him a big kiss)
    Thank you Minnie and Luce for your great suggestion and as always very good work Bccmee!
    Happy birthday Minnie!

  15. It is never easy to say something new about what is already perfect and precious.
    I have read a lot about commenting the special effect on fanladies of the “look back-look back at me” scene.
    I can only add that the cotton snow in the factory and the real snowing in the good-bye scene are both very dear to me and emotionally intense.

    Thanks to Luce for selecting this marvellous bit of N&S and happy birthday Minnie!

  16. This is my favorite scene. from N&S. I have watched this scene uncountable times since that I saw N&S. RA knew to expresses himself so well this moment of separation. It was really touching.
    Thank you bccmee and girls for this spectacular idea.

  17. mersguy says:

    Beautiful John Thornton, beautiful moment in the series, get’s me every time no mattter how many times I watch it. Lovely gif, thanks B and Happy birthday to you, Minnie

  18. CDoart says:

    Happy Birthday, Minnie. Thank you and Luce and Bccmee: The gif is great, with the special arrangement to make it work so well and filling in the message with the text. Thank you!

  19. fitzg says:

    Happy Birthday, Minnie; many thanks for the suggestion, and bccmee for sharing the gift! The train station scenes are lovely, of course – but THIS is my favourite.

  20. bccmee says:

    Thank you again for your thoughts, everyone. It is a lovely scene and it would be very hard to bear if we did not know what happens at the end.

    As for taking more animated gif requests, we are all booked up and there are no more spots available.

    This was a serious gif but I had fun making the snow! 😀

  21. Pamela says:

    I feel bereft. He’s just perfect here. Thanks Bccmee for your boundless energy & enthusiasm 🙂

  22. Minnie says:

    BIG THANK YOU Bcc!! 🙂 I finally got a moment to check my reader and saw this! It has made my evening.

    Thanks for all the birthday wishes. 🙂

  23. Joanna says:

    Happy Birthday Minnie!
    Thank you Bccmee from bottom of my heart:)
    Such beautiful heartwrenching scene*sigh*

  24. NovemberBride says:

    Somehow, I missed this one?! Accck! And this shot gets me EVERY time. Happy late birthday, Minnie!! Good work you two!!

  25. ayyp says:

    This is one of my favorite scenes. I feel so sad when John Thornton said “Look back. Look back at me”.
    Thank you, Bcc Mee.

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.

