October animated gif challenge – day 12

Richard Armitage as John Porter is still my favorite character.  Even though I didn’t hate Strike Back: Project Dawn, it’s an entirely different show and of course I prefer Strike Back 1.  Lots of JP in the latter, only a few minutes in the former.  😀

Our animated gif today is the suggestion of phylly3.

Richard Armitage as John Porter

Richard Armitage and Mick Milligan in Strike Back

Phylly3 requested “the part in Strike Back where Porter is with the reporter on the stretcher. The whole scene with her hand reaching out and him taking it until they are separated and her hand is still reaching for him and then his face as she is gone!  I LOVE THAT SCENE!!

Because of the length of that incredible scene, I reluctantly had to shorten it.  Phylly3 was kind enough to come up with the text “The hardest part is letting go.” Very appropriate! I really wanted to see more of Katie and John together.

Here is your animated gif:

Richard Armitage as John Porter

The storyline of Chris Ryan’s Strike Back with John Porter and Katie was my favorite of the three.  Orla Brady and Richard Armitage had great chemistry and the bond between the characters was very believable based on the ordeal they underwent.

And oh yeah, John Porter is the most beautiful creature I’ve ever seen, but I’m sure that’s just me.  😉

This entry was posted in Animated GIFs, Graphics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to October animated gif challenge – day 12

  1. servetus says:

    This is the best one yet.

  2. Nietzsche says:

    Yes, he is!

    An amazing scene. I love John Porter. He’ll always be alive for me.

  3. jules says:

    I remember driving home from work one day last year, there was this enormous billboard advertising Strike Back. It showed the most beautiful man I had ever seen…I nearly ran into the car in front of me…the penny dropped as I drove by…it was gorgeous Richard…I can’t tell you how many times I drove up and down that road looking at the advert over the next few weeks…You’re not on your own ‘B’ John Porter was the most incredibly, warm, caring, sincere person, and of course it goes without saying, beautiful…oh and can I swap warm for HOT!!!! Brilliant gif…thankyou ‘B’ and Phylly3

    • bccmee says:

      Oh my, I remember seeing the billboards when I was in the UK last year. Wow what a great delight to be able to ride the trains and tube and see John Porter’s face throughout the country! As a bit of a joke, I contacted the billboard company to see how to obtain one of them. They suggested that I ask the station managers as they would be disposing of them. Obviously, I wasn’t serious and would have had trouble getting it home to New York City even if I actually wanted one, LOL!

      • jules says:

        I also wanted one of these rather nice billboards in my bedroom….hubby was a little confused…he was just getting round to me being interested in Robin Hood and Russian spys…He’s now wondering what the facination is with middle earth…bless…LOL!!!

  4. Alfie says:

    Yes that is just you – NOT 😉
    Lovely gif – fantastic scene.

    • bccmee says:

      Haha, Alfie! I was a bit worried I might not be alone in my adoration of John Porter and now you have provided proof. 😉 It’s nice to have company though!

  5. CDoart says:

    John Porter, hmmm…. No words needed ;o) He is, how did Jules put it, ‘hot’, warm, everything alive, full of action and vitality and oh so beautiful. What a moving separation scene. Thank you, bccmee and Phylly3!

  6. tyme4t says:

    My prayer tonight…
    God Bless Phylly3, BccMee, animated gifs, Chris Ryan, and Richard Armitage! 😉
    Loving it!
    tyme4t

  7. Kitty says:

    Oh, it’s not just you. I LOVE JP!!!

  8. Elaine says:

    Very tender and heart wrenching – perfect caption for it too. You and Phylly3 have done a great service for the JP/RA fans.

  9. Lady Prisca says:

    No Bccmee it’s not just you. We have the same (sweet) sickness and I think we are not alone. This episode is my favorite too and this scene have made me cry. Good idea Phylly3 and good work Bccmee.

    • bccmee says:

      This truly is an emotional scene, Lady Prisca. After all they’ve been through and now they must be separated. So sad, and yet they meet again! ♥

  10. Teuchter says:

    Thrilled to see this today as I adore John Porter! Coincidentally, this is the very scene I put a link to on Servetus’ blog as an example of Richard’s beautiful strong (and hairy!) arms and as “Mezz” commented after I linked it there, it showed the tenderness between John and Katie.
    http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/StrikeBack/album/series1/Episode2HD/slides/ep2hd_050.html
    It rather puzzles me though as I’m not normally drawn to hirsute arms but I guess in the case of Mr. A, I find it rather attractive!! *Sigh* I remember seeing a publicity picture of him (see RAnet SBPromo – 8 in the Screencap gallery) and being rather stunned to see him in the camo! It was such a contrast after being used to seeing the sauve Lucas in Spooks! But I fell for this wonderful character, “hook, line and sinker” as the saying goes!! I have to admit that I’m really sad at how they wrote him out of the new series and I miss him! 😦

    BTW – see the POD at RAnet today!! Good choice indeed Mezz!!

    • bccmee says:

      Oh how interesting that you chose this very scene to illustrate a point on servetus’s blog, Teuchter. It’s very powerful how they connect here. As for JP’s arms, I simply love them…the muscles, the hair….oh so masculine! Be still my beating heart! ♥ JP is so tough but tender, an irresistible combination to me!

      I did see the PoD today… great choice indeed. JP’s eyes look so green there. Amazing how his eyes change color. Initially I thought they might make JP’s eyes brown because they looked so dark in some of the promo pictures. Nothing would surprise me; he’s got chameleon eyes. 😎

  11. Carolyn says:

    No, you are not alone, Bcc! JP is one of my favorite characters. I thought Dr. Track had lovely biceps, but Richard just keeps on getting better! Thank you for this lovely scene, Bccmee and Phylly3.

    • bccmee says:

      In my mind, JP is all mine, Carolyn. But I have to face facts and realize that others share in my affection, LOL! I’m delighted to be in such good company though. 😀

  12. The chemistry between you and JP is so evident. In fact, you re-created a story in a few seconds. Congratulations to both you and Phylly3, as the result is emotionally very strong.

  13. Lady Rose says:

    Ooooh dear lord.
    I haven’t seen this yet, but WAO! HAWT!

  14. Ania says:

    It’s not just you Bccmee, believe me it’s not just you 🙂
    Bccmee and phylly3, you selected a beautiful touching scene. I really love John Porter!
    To me RA looks great in a military styling (yes, I know that he always looks delightfully 😉 ) but the haircut, khaki clothing, and his eyes which in the sunlight seem to have a different color … oh that makes he is really HOT.

    • bccmee says:

      Thanks, Ania! Yes, Richard Armitage really rocks that military look. I think he’s lovely as Lucas and Harry, but John Porter really rings my bell! 😀 😛

  15. Yes, he is beautiful! I really love this gif. You have achieved your goal in recreating the bond and chemistry between the two! Thumbs up!

    • bccmee says:

      I’m having trouble responding to comments because I keep staring at JP’s beauty, Jeannie, LOL! Thanks so much for your lovely thoughts–I’m delighted you enjoyed this little animated gif.

  16. Pamela says:

    What that gif communicates to me is that Richard is a consummate actor who uses his body optimally. And he’s beyond stunning as John Porter which goes without saying, right, Bccmee? 🙂

  17. mersguy says:

    Thank you Bccmee and Phylly3 – John Porter what a man in every sense, those guns, hairy forearms HOT HOT HOT!!!! Wouldn’t we all love to be rescued by Porter? I love Strikeback as that is when I first discovered Richard – life has never been the same, I’m smitten!

    • bccmee says:

      I’m delighted you discovered Richard Armitage through Strike Back, mersguy. I wonder how many others have do so too? Although I first saw RA in The Vicar of Dibley, I was smitten with JP from the moment I saw the first promo pictures. My opinion rose further after seeing the series!

  18. Ana Cris says:

    Yes, Bcc and Phylly3, the hardest part is just let it go, so we went back and back again to his movies, audiobooks, interviews, and everything else. ;0)

    • bccmee says:

      Too true, Ana Cris! It’s great to go back and see Richard Armitage’s catalog of work.

    • phylly3 says:

      Wow! I am late in noticing your fabulous work today Bccmee! That gif looks so wonderful, I am going to stare at it over and over. Funny, as Ana Cris says, I never realized that the text for the scene could apply to our whole RA fascination!
      I’m not letting go anytime soon – that’s for sure!! 🙂 Thanks!

      • bccmee says:

        It was a great design, phylly3! I’m so delighted in your choice of clip and caption. Thanks very much for playing! 😀 I’m not letting go any time soon either. 😉

  19. Elaine says:

    I’m looking forward to Day 13~

  20. fitzg says:

    My favourite episode of SB; the bond between Porter and Katie, through a shared horror. Katie endured the indescribable physical torture, but Porter’s emotional trauma was almost physical, too.
    A compelling choice, phylly, and an enduring moving image of a moment in the ep, bccmee.

    • bccmee says:

      The story really touched me too, fitzg. The show was quite different from the book. Richard Armitage and Orla Brady gave stellar performances. Collinson was much more complex in the the movie version than in the book and Andrew Lincoln did an amazing job. All in all, it made for great TV.

  21. Summer says:

    LOVE today’s gif! That scene is so moving!
    Your gifs challenge is fantastic!
    Congrats & Thanks 🙂

  22. IngeD3 says:

    It’s not just you, B – I’m right there with you!!
    This one is really cool, it sums up their relationship beautifully!
    I still can’t believe there will be no more of John Porter… *sigh*

    • bccmee says:

      JP lives on in my fantasy at least. 😉

      Thanks for your kind words, IngeD3. I agree this scene beautifully shows the bond between the two characters. There isn’t even any dialogue.

  23. Joanna says:

    Strong,protective and brave John Porter!
    Lovely gif Bccmee:)

    • bccmee says:

      JP definitely plays into the rescue fantasy, Joanna. Not that I need rescuing personally, but if I did, I would want a John Porter to look out for me.

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.