Slightly different Strike Back: Project Dawn Trailer

Here’s yet another promo for Strike Back 2: Project Dawn with even more Richard Armitage than last time. Watch it and we can commiserate. Have to admit, despite my earlier excitement, I’m so not looking forward to this series. John Porter has the same face and name but he’s a different character entirely. Bring on the heroic Thorin! 🙂

Here’s a screencap of the captive:

Richard Armitage as John Porter in Strike Back 2

Here’s the video clip:


Here’s your transcript:

Announcer: And now, a sneak peek of the original series, Strike Back. Airing only on Cinemax.

John Porter: To the imperialist powers of the west, I, John Porter, confess to the crime of being a British spy. Trespassing on the holy soil of Pakistan.

Man (offscreen) IP tracking locked. We have Porter’s location. No snipers visible.

John Porter: Her sons murdered, her holy places desecrated. Latif demands the immediate release of all his oppressed brothers being held in British and American prisons.

Stonebridge: In position.

Kate Marshall: Head cams on.

Col. Eleanor Grant: Stonebridge.

Stonebridge: Colonel.

Col. Eleanor Grant: Bring John home.

Stonebridge: With pleasure.


Closed captioning has also been added. I know this one’s not much different than the last clip, but since there’s a bit more Richard Armitage, I figured it’s worth posting.

Edit: Big thanks to Ali at RichardArmitageNet.Com for helping with the transcription!

This entry was posted in Promos and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

77 Responses to Slightly different Strike Back: Project Dawn Trailer

  1. Alfie says:

    Of course it was worth posting 🙂 Thank you so much for sharing.

  2. Calexora says:

    Say what you will BccMee I’m still looking forward to seeing JP again… even if he won’t last long in this series. 😀
    p.s. What are you doing still up? What am I doing still up??? (I read that recommended reading by Judiang…couldn’t stop. But now to bed). G’nite! 😀 And thanks for more JP 😀

    • bccmee says:

      He’s like a different character to me, Calexora. I like the heroic roles and this is not one of them although I think there will be some redemption.

  3. mersguy says:

    Yes bring Porter home! But alas I fear it is not to be. Shedding a tear for John and all RA fans (me included) On a completely shallow note – his hair looks lighter!

  4. Darkangel66a says:

    OMG OMG OMG he is so beautiful. I do love how often Porter gets himself captured…great fantasy fuel.

  5. Phylly3 says:

    I can’t bear for them to hurt a hair on his head! I am so worried about this!

  6. smitkit says:

    Thanks for posting B. Can’t help but agree with you on this – what have they done to JP? Still, however much (or little] there is of him I shall watch (and Sky are happily using hs name to promote this here in the UK). Whether I continue to after his character ‘disappears’, I don’t know.

  7. jos2507 says:

    So good to see Porter again ! Thanks Bccme as we can not watch it on facebook !… but so strange to see him that way… obviously he went to the hairdresser as his hair is not black anymore (lol – we know why) and I’m afraid that his role in this second part will be very short and not very interesting… Please tell me that I’m wrong ! I don’t know what to think about it, but anyway it will take me a long time to watch it as in France they have not shown SB 1 yet !!!

  8. CDoart says:

    Oh, I think they will bring Porter home, just not in the way we would like him to be home. I am looking forward to see more of John Porter, but unfortunately not looking forward to his way of getting out of the story.
    Thank you, bccmee, for posting this. Every snippet of RA is worth watching.

    • CDoart says:

      What I forgot to mention, is it only me or does he pronounce and put attention to his name “John Porter” in a strange way in his message reading?

    • bccmee says:

      I am curious to know what’s going to happen to Porter, CDoart. As for the way Porter says his name, I have a theory…

      • CDoart says:

        Your comment about your theory had me jumping around with unfullfilled curiosity, bccmee. So I had to watch the video snippet again. Now I have a guess too (The combination might be a bit suggestive) ;o) But still I am very curious about your theory !!!

        • Ania says:

          Bccmee, I’m also curious about your theory.

        • bccmee says:

          I’ll post my theory since it’s only conjecture and not a spoiler. I think John Porter was speaking in code when he read the forced confession, which is why he enunciated his name like that.

        • Phylly3 says:

          I like your theory! Makes sense to me. I also wondered why he was saying his name like that.

        • CDoart says:

          Code is a wonderful theory, bccmee. Thank you for relieving me of my curiosity ;o)
          Where I hesitated to think his message could contain some secret, hidden signals is, that he indeed is reading the exact message on the plate in front of him, so I for me ruled out code in the formulating of his message itself. Even his name is on the plate, so his captors exactly know who they have captured.
          My theory for his special pronunciation for his name was voice recognition setting off a tracker signal on a device somewhere hidden near or on him. Because the rescue team somehow gets a sudden signal from him, when they confirm his location, but unfortunately it was only a setup with a handy positioned in a room where Porter no longer was or never had been.
          Now I am really curious, what the script writers really did with Porter here ;o) As with Spooks, I am sure that I am far off their tracks.

        • Ania says:

          @Bccmee
          @CDoart
          Both theories are very interesting. Thank you for sharing them. Well, now just have to wait and watch SB2, and I hope that scriptwriters were as creative as you are-a girl can dream, right?

  9. Summer says:

    What can I say that I haven’t said before … Don’t like what I’ve seen, pretty sure where this is heading, definitely won’t be buying DVD.
    Very glad though that Richard has moved to greater things….. Thorin Oakenshield!! 😀

  10. Ana Cris says:

    Oh, there’s nothing else to say, other paths are now!
    Thanks for transcription!

    • bccmee says:

      You’re welcome, Ana Cris. It’s strange that they are using John Porter at all since the new series is completely different than the old one.

  11. pv says:

    Ok! watched it three times already!! Love it, i dont know why, but i have a feeling that John will be ok. They wouldnt do anything to him, they know his demand!. why would they have promos with alteast some clip of him if they didnt think he was the selling point!! I live in hope!!

  12. minnie in pdx says:

    Coming out of the lurking shadows to say thanks for sharing all your great video finds! 🙂 I’m trying to figure out how to see the episodes with RA w/o a subscription to Cinemax. :/

  13. Thais says:

    Thanks for sharing the video! =D
    I hope “predictions” about John Porter in SB are not true. I’ve got devastated with Spooks’s finale. =S

  14. i have yet to watch the his spooks finale. still too upsetting. IMDB lists only one episode.

  15. Ania says:

    Bccmee thanks for sharing this video.
    Watching this I have ambivalent feelings. Because on the one hand I’m glad to see Richard but on the other hand, I feel that this role will only episode. Besides, I’m afraid that sooner see SB2 on YouTube than on the TV station in my country 😦
    ( although SB1 was emitted on the public television in the March of this year, so maybe SB2 will be also emitted, oh a girl can dream, right?)

    • bccmee says:

      I hope that SB2 will air there someday, Ania. I’m always glad to see RA but I actually like very few of his characters: John Thornton, Harry Kennedy, Uhtred, Monet and John Porter from Strike Back 1. I’m definitely experiencing cognitive dissonance, LOL!

      • Ania says:

        Cognitive dissonance LOL, so maybe John Standring should be added to this list 😉

        • bccmee says:

          I liked John Standring well enough, but still doubt he’ll become a favorite. He is sweet, but that role was already filled by Harry Kennedy in my heart. 😀

  16. Angieklong says:

    I am not very optimistic, either, but I am setting my expectations low so I perhaps will be pleasantly surprised and if things go the way I fear, it won’t hurt quite as much. 😦 Considering Guy, Lucas and Porter are my top three characters (closely followed by Harry), I would like one of those three to live . . . who knows what the writers will do. Don’t have much faith in them anymore.

    Yes, I miss the kiss-ass take-no-prisoners Porter we all knew and loved in SB 1. My hero!
    As to the hair–well, maybe all that time spent driving around in the desert in the Land Rover brought out all Porter’s auburn highlights 😉

    I thought the way he says the entire spiel seemed strange (although it was lovely to hear that resonant baritone with those lovely Midlands inflections again) . . . hmmmmmmm.

    • bccmee says:

      I too am prepared for the worst, Angieklong. I was one of the few people not “spoiled” before the Robin Hood finale because I was on vacation when the news hit. It shocked me a bit although I wasn’t totally surprised because I sensed that RA was leaving the show. I really liked the Archer character and thought he could carry things further, but it was not meant to be.

      While shows need conflict and excitement, I wish that didn’t mean the characters have to die in the end. Fictional Uhtred and real-life Monet lived to be quite aged, so why can’t more of RA’s characters do so? 🙂

      • Angieklong says:

        Agreed, Bccmee–try a little creativity and variety in the writing and you can have plenty of angst and tension and drama and STILL live past the closing credits. It’s not that I expect a rosy ending to everything he does–I’d be in trouble with a lot of Shakespeare–but, you know, a few happy endings to balance out the sad ones would be really nice.

        Carolyn, It seems to me they are using John as the bridge between the two series–with most Americans, of course, never having seen the fantastic JP of the original SB–as an excuse to kick things off for the new guys. It really makes me sad to see this happen to a great character. Well, at least maybe John’s last name won’t turn out to actually be “Bateman.” *rolls eyes*

  17. Carolyn says:

    Thanks for posting, Bcc! I hold out no hope that he will make it out of this. I too, don’t understand why they even bothered to bring John Porter into this new series. It seems to have nothing at all to do with the original series. As to me watching this after JP ‘leaves’, no, I will not be watching.

  18. I’m just disappointed that RA only looks to be in the first episode of this series and that usually doesn’t bode well! I too would like to see some of his characters survive (I still haven’t forgiven the ‘Spooks’ writers for that awful turn of events in series 9!). I personally think that getting HBO on board for Strike Back series 2 has probably forced the ‘Americanisation’ of this drama to get the US ratings. Or maybe Richard just didn’t have enough time in his busy schedule to commit to all episodes? Although production of SB2 (writing, casting, production design etc) would probably have started well before his role in The Hobbit was confirmed. Answers on a postcard please 🙂

    • Angieklong says:

      I am assuming this is one of the commitments he mentioned having to wriggle out of in a recent interview in order to do The Hobbit. Even if he couldn’t commit to the entire series due to scheduling conflicts, it would have been nice to see him in two or three eps . . . ah, wishful thinking on my part. And yes, Christianne, I suspect they felt they had to Americanize things . . . *sigh*

      As for the Spooks 9 writers–I quite frankly am not sure I will ever be able to forgive them. So much for quality BBC drama. *gives a Guy-like disdainful sniff*

    • bccmee says:

      Most people already know this, but I never was a big fan of Lucas North or Spooks. Even so, I think it’s pathetic how they wrote out his character. I wonder if Lucas will even get a mention in Spooks 10. I’ll have to wait to hear it through the grapevine because I could barely watch the show with RA, and there’s no chance I could suffer through that writing without his talent.

  19. sapphire says:

    The way the guy says ‘home’ is ominous perhaps he will execute John before he has a chance to deliver their ‘message’

  20. hedgeypig says:

    It’s almost as if cos he couldn’t fulfil the contract they trashed the character he’d spent so long creating. I’m sure it wasn’t as calculated as that but still….I’m not certain I’ll watch 😦

    • Angieklong says:

      Actually, Hedgey, that’s exactly what I was thinking, but frankly I felt the same way about Spooks 9 — hey, Armitage is leaving to do movies, so let’s deconstruct Lucas North to a whiny stuck-in-adolescent tool with fluid morals and a passion for a moody mannequin of a woman he hasn’t seen or even thought of for years—I guess I feel Richard works so hard and so intelligently and passionately at approaching and crafting his characters, it’s just a shame to basically throw them away. : (

      • hedgeypig says:

        agh I was thinking about that today. i have a Lucas North story to stick on wattpad. Before they disassembled the character and made it make no sense whatsoever. meh, grumble, grumble…

        • Angieklong says:

          Yeah, Hedgey–it’s like they didn’t bother to even read the scripts or watch the previous two series. I’m sorry, but that’s just–lame. Inexcusably lame for supposed professionals. I am sure your story is, as so many other fanfic writers’ LN stories have been, far superior to what ended up on screen.

          (I think back when I first noticed Lucas’s armband tattoo start wandering up his arm, it should have been a warning to me that all would not go well for my favorite spy. As Bccmee has said, they weren’t great with continuity.)

    • smitkit says:

      This thought had crossed my mind too. Mind you, it’s not stopped Sky using his name to promote this here in the UK (presumably because the two new leads would not be familiar over here). ‘Bigger and Better’? ‘Taking the action to new heights’? (both quotes from Sky’s press release for this) From what I’ve read I’m not convinced.

      • bccmee says:

        Bigger and better boobs, I think, in several senses of the word, LOL! They do have some strong female characters so I give them credit for that. Have to admit, I’m unlikely to watch the show past John Porter’s departure but I’ve not made up my mind yet.

    • bccmee says:

      Totally possible. It’s shocking to see heroic John Porter reduced to such a state, hedgeypig.

    • Phylly3 says:

      I think it WAS that calculated! Bah! Humbug!

  21. Dhana says:

    Thanks for posting bccmee! I am sooo longing for the first episode on Friday, yet dreading it at the same time. 😦

  22. Angieklong says:

    I am actually going to be attending a benefit performance for our arts council that night and I know I won’t get home until after it is over, so I will have to DVR it (although I am sure it will repeat).

    I yearn to see Richard on the screen again, and I equally dread it. *sigh*

  23. Kathleen Evans says:

    If the character John Porter ends with the early episodes of SB2 let it happen honorably. Let him die, or retire, under meaningful circumstances instead of the sad ending of Spooks S9. Hopefully the writers will have some respect for the character this time.

    • bccmee says:

      Good point, Kathleen. His character already seems transformed based on him reading the “confession.” We’ll have to see if my theory is correct.

  24. Ana Cris says:

    Hi Bccmee,
    New video promo in http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oRd4VEjjGgc,
    Thanks for RACentral.
    P.S. Laughter. I realize now how much I was sleepy at 2:30 yesterday in Brazil. I posted this link in a previous entry here at your blog. After I copied and posted the link in C19, but the message was directed at you! And my English was worse than ever! We should not do things with sleep! ;0) Have a nice day!

    • bccmee says:

      Yes I’m aware of that clip. I downloaded it days ago but didn’t upload it because there is no new John Porter so I didn’t see the point. 🙂

      • bccmee says:

        I changed my mind and uploaded the 6-minute video for the facebook friends of Strike Back outside the USA. I used the High Definition (HD) version of the video.

  25. Antony parson says:

    Correct me if I’m wrong but Richard armitage was awesome in the first series now if u can’t get him to do a full second series and only for 2 mins and a crap send off after they kill him off is right joke I loved first series will watch rest of second but at least could of had him in a couple of episodes he was a hostage last series and got out this one they made it to easy I am very dissatisfied with what I seen

    • bccmee says:

      Maybe the writers wanted everything to be at stake to crank up the tension. While I wish that John Porter was in more of the first two episodes, overall the show is entertaining.

  26. Pingback: RichardArmitageNet News » Blog Archive » August 2011 news archive

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.

