Not really a Captain America review

I went to the first public showing of Captain America: The First Avenger and got home just a bit ago. Had to stop off for some food on the way back!

The showing was at 12:01 just past the stroke of midnight. I was tired yesterday, possibly because of the heat wave, and I fell asleep for a nap. It was a long nap though. I awoke suddenly at 11:10 PM, yikes! I rushed out the door and caught the train and and made it in time, phew! I already had my advance ticket right by the door so I wouldn’t forget it.

When I arrived at the theater, I got my 3D glasses and sat in the front row and enjoyed the coming attractions which were also in 3D. One movie preview used the song “My Body is a Cage” which gave me a chuckle since I used that song in a Strike Back fan video.

Some promo pictures:

Captain America: The First Avenger: My Impressions

I don’t think there are any major spoilers but if you are worried, then please don’t read any further. πŸ™‚

This movie was a lot of fun. A bit short on character development but it’s a comic book movie so it was acceptable. Chris Evans was perfect for the role of Steve Rogers, the skinny kid from Brooklyn who is turned into a mortal superhero. I loved a few of the New York references which others might not get, but the audience in the Manhattan theater was appreciative. However, I might’ve been the only one who laughed when a British character said “mind the gap” in a throwaway line.

I saw it in 3D and while it was worth it, the effect wore off after a few minutes except during the explosion scenes. Luckily, there were quite a few explosion scenes! The production values were very high…they didn’t skimp or cut corners, that’s for sure. My only complaint about the quality was that sometimes the foreground layer was a bit grainy. Maybe that was only noticeable from the front row!

Richard Armitage was fantastic in his all-too-short role as Heinz Kruger. His American accent was much better than in one of the poems in the BBC3 radio broadcast of Words and Music which you can download at RichardArmitageNet.Com. He created a new look…a sneer I’d not seen before! πŸ˜‰

Other standout performances were Tommy Lee Jones, Stanley Tucci who finally got to play a good guy, and Hugo Weaving as The Red Skull.Β  They played their roles straight but it was overall a lot of fun. Still, there was a high body count.

As a side note, be sure to sit past the closing credits!

A few pictures:

Too tall for this poster πŸ˜‰

Captain America shield

I want a shield now!

An enthusiastic fan

This is an enthusiastic fan -- but it's not me!


Have you seen the movie yet? Are you going to do so? Please share your thoughts, but no major spoilers please!

This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to Not really a Captain America review

  1. Nimue says:

    Thanks for the short report, bccmee! Unfortunately here in Germany we have to wait until the 18th of August *sighs deeply and impatiently*… You wrote that you can hear him talk with an American accent- are there also sequences in the film where you can hear him use a German accent or even some German words? I know, his part is only small, but how long is his screentime approximately? Can’t wait to see him on a big screen at last!!

    • bccmee says:

      I don’t want to give too much away, Nimue. πŸ™‚ Are you going to see the movie on opening night in Germany? Will it be in German or English? It’s a really fun film. It will be interesting to hear how non-Americans like it!

      • Nimue says:

        I hope to be there on opening night! Presale hasn’t started yet 😦 . I don’t know if they’ll be showing the English version as well- hopefully! Otherwise I hope the DVD will be released very soon- Richard without his wonderful voice is just not the same ! Although judging by the short German trailer I’ve seen, the synchronization is much better this time than it was e.g. in the German version of ” Strike back”. Anyway, nothing beats the original.

        Btw-in case you haven’t seen it yet- here’s an interesting interview with Richard- poor guy- the water tank scenes in CA must have really been dreadful- I can only marvel ( pun intended πŸ˜‰ ) at his bravery and self- discipline :
        http://www.telegraph.co.uk/culture/film/8653223/Richard-Armitage-Im-a-bit-mean.-I-havent-got-a-nice-guy-face.html

  2. fabi says:

    Here in Brazil we’ll wait one more week, and I managed to convince my husband to go with me (‘it’s a big action movie, dear’). But I have a terrible problem, because he wants to watch it dubbed – how can I lose The Voice? Anyway, it’s worth to see RA on the big screen for the first time! πŸ˜€

    • bccmee says:

      One more week…I’m excited for you, fabi! Good luck with convincing your husband to see it in English. πŸ˜€ Let us know how you like it next week!

  3. grendel's mum says:

    In Japan, we need to wait until October 15! οΌˆΓ—_Γ—οΌ‰But at least, it won’t be dubbed.

  4. Summer says:

    Glad you enjoyed it!! Got my tickets for noon show…can’t wait to see the sneer you mentioned! πŸ™‚

  5. The sneer is tempting, I have very little interest to see it, shallow action doesn’t fly well with me. But I do have free AMC passes so maybe maybe after I’ve seen Harry Potter I might catch this in the theatre. Honestly I’ll likely suffer just to see Richard Armitage in 3D …. *sigh*

  6. ayyp says:

    Thanks for the report, bccmee!! Will keep a lookout on the sneer, which you mentioned! πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to watch it on Aug 4th here in Singapore!! πŸ™‚

    • bccmee says:

      Woohoo, I hope you see it as soon as it opens there, ayyp! Let us know what you think, please. πŸ™‚

      • ayyp says:

        Will do πŸ™‚

        • ayyp says:

          Just watched CA here on Sunday. It has been brought forward to July 28th instead of Aug 4th!! πŸ˜€ His role in CA was way too short!! However, I am very glad his name is very high in the casting list!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ I have missed the sneer which you mentioned earlier. Anyway, I may want to re-watch it. πŸ˜€

    • bccmee says:

      His role was so action-packed and moved so quickly it’s easy to miss all his expressions! I did see it again, LOL! It was too good to pass up. πŸ™‚

  7. servetus says:

    Wow, interesting. The actors I thought were least effective you singled out for praise (w/exception of Armitage). πŸ™‚

  8. Lynn says:

    Thanks for the review. It played locally at midnight here also but I just couldn’t do that. I have tickets for Saturday night though. Very excited. Will let you know what I think. πŸ™‚

    • bccmee says:

      Just set the alarm if you take a nap, Lynn, LOL! I can’t believe I almost overslept a midnight movie. πŸ˜‰ Hope you enjoy it as much as I did. Looking forward to hearing back from you.

  9. CDoart says:

    Exactly one month now. The film will start on the 18th of August in Germany, but I want to see it on the big birthday ;o)
    Thank you for your review, bccmee. That makes the wait easier to bear!

  10. Ania says:

    Thanks for your report Bccmee πŸ™‚ Really glad you enjoyed it πŸ™‚
    In Poland, the premiere of the CA will be 5th of August, but in truth, still I wonder if watch this movie. I’m not a fan of this type of film 😦
    But watching RA in 3D on the big screen, hmmm very tempting πŸ˜‰

    • bccmee says:

      It’s good to try new things, Ania. I encourage you to see Richard Armitage in his first 3D role…it will be your only chance. πŸ™‚ Seize the day!

  11. Jonia says:

    WONDERFUL! At last Richard on BIG SCREEN!!!! So when You are goning next time? ;D

  12. I did see the movie and really enjoyed it. I didn’t think 3D was necessary and Richard’s scene was way too short, but he was fantastic. Love your assessment!

    • bccmee says:

      I’m still glad I saw it in 3D even though it didn’t make that much difference. It was the only choice at the midnight showing anyway. I got to keep my cool glasses too. πŸ˜‰

  13. Jennie says:

    Thanks for your thoughts! I’ll be seeing it next week when it opens downunder!

    I have a choice between 35 minutes drive to see it in 2D and 2 hours drive to see it in 3D…..you just helped me immensely! ;D!

    Take care!

    • bccmee says:

      Woohoo, have fun, Jennie! 35 minutes doesn’t sound too bad…2 hours is far though, wow. I think I can guess which one you’ll choose. Shall we have a poll? πŸ˜‰

  14. Thais says:

    Thanks for sharing your impressions about the film, Bccmee. I have to wait a few more days to watch it in Brazil. =D

    • bccmee says:

      Thanks for the link, Ana Cris! Here’s my favorite quote from the article: “Someone said to me the other day that I’ve really got to stop dying on screen.”

  15. Ana Cris says:

    Yes, Bccmee,
    I laughed a lot with this!
    There are many amazing things in the interview, I’m still enjoying!

  16. Alfie says:

    Nice report. CanΒ΄t wait to see the movie, and especially the sneer πŸ˜‰
    But the premiere in Denmark is not before the 11th of august πŸ˜› – but as others has said luckily the most adults movies are not dubbed in Denmark πŸ™‚

    • bccmee says:

      I’m looking forward to hearing your thoughts, Alfie! Glad you can hear RA’s own voice, even though he doesn’t speak with a British accent. πŸ™‚

  17. cec says:

    thanks for the report bccmee!i have to wait few more days–if not weeks:p–to watch it in Jakarta.but not sure abt the 3D tho T_T

  18. Kathryn Gaul says:

    So much for seeing the movie on opening day! I ended up with a migraine on Thursday!

    And then, when I fronted up to the multiplex at 4.20pm on Friday to watch it in 2D, I was told that the particular theatre had been flooded!

    So I finally got to see it today and thoroughly enjoyed it! Richard, of course, played his all-too-short part to perfection.

    I may actually see it again in 3D towards the end of the run because I forgot to wait until after all the end credits played – must have watched at least 90% of them, though. I was delighted to see Richard’s name so high up in the cast listing – very gratifying.

    • bccmee says:

      I’m glad you were able to see Captain America! *HUGS* Richard Armitage was amazing in his role, I agree, Kathryn! Hope you’re feeling better.

      By the way, there is no RA in the after-credits…. πŸ˜€

  19. grazia says:

    I saw Capitan America.
    Apsrt from the role of Richard, intense and well acted, the film is not anything fancy. But I am biased and can not be objective.I think the Hobbit will give more space to richard and finally the whole world will see for what it is .An actor with tremendous potential and a recitation of the extraordinary details.I’m exaggerating? What can I do if I like it!

    • bccmee says:

      I’m very excited about The Hobbit next year too, grazia! And I agree, Richard Armitage did a lot with a small role. I’m so excited for his new journey into films.

  20. grazia says:

    I learned to love Richard the first time I saw him on youtube. I saw all the north and south and in the end I was forced to buy it on amazon because in Italy is not.Now not a day goes by that I so not check your site or your.
    He is very good, but it is easy for him part of his charm, but so are you even more because you are commiting every day.
    Grazie di nuovo di cuore. Brava!!!

    • bccmee says:

      It was an automatic response for me too, grazia. The first time I saw Richard Armitage as Harry Kennedy in the Vicar of Dibley, I was smitten. β™₯

      I don’t post on this blog very often so you should subscribe. Then you will receive an automated email when there is a new post. πŸ™‚ I only post if I have a new graphic or video or there is some news about Richard Armitage.

  21. Brooke says:

    How many times did you see Captain America? 10? Lol. Amazon.com has The Captain American shields.

  22. Brooke says:

    I think you need to buy some Heinz Kruger glasses too. πŸ™‚

  23. Pingback: 12 Famous Actors You Totally Forgot Were In The Marvel Movies | Richard Armitage Blog

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.

