Here it is: your Vicar of Dibley wallpaper

First Vicar of Dibley Wallpaper

Here are the winning promo shot and font from the poll which ended on Sunday:

Vicar of Dibley- Richard Armitage and Dawn French

Bradley Hand ITC font

This promo picture and many others are available on RichardArmitageNet.Com.


Here is your wallpaper:

Vicar of Dibely Wallpaper 1600x9001600 x 900 pixels — click for full size

Once again, I had too many ideas for my graphic.  After playing around a bit, I ended up with a minimalist design.  I simply brought Geraldine and Harry into an imaginary indoor scenario.  🙂

To create the wallpaper, I recolored and resized the bench to make it more cozy.  I added a few filters to Geraldine and and Harry to give them some extra glow.

Then I incorporated a ribbon from a stock image which I changed from red to silver by applying the Luminosity blend mode.

Gift Ribbon

The snowflakes were created using a set of brushes downloaded from hawksmont.com.  There is a wall and a floor to give a horizon and and a sense of perspective.

Empty room

I used copy and paste to get rid of the electrical box in the above image.  I used a very low opacity and the Luminosity blend mode so it was very subtle.  I laid this layer above my background which consisted of a gradient and a texture image at various opacity levels and blend modes.

gradient 45 Mulberry Paper Clear White

For the light beams, I used this arched window for a pattern:

Arched window

Then I added some snowflakes in the light but I changed them to shadows.  To do this, I brushed on the snowflakes, added a drop shadow, then changed the Fill level to 0%.  By doing this, I kept the shadows but made the actual snowflakes disappear.

Although it’s not very noticeable, I added reflections beneath the bench’s legs and Harry’s shoe.

For the text I used the winning choice of font, Bradley Hand ITC. Instead of a normal stroke or outline, I used gold foil instead.

Gold Texture

Finally, I created the heart with the Custom Shape Tool and added a drop shadow.

Dawn French and Richard Armitage look so lovely together in this promo picture, I didn’t see the need to add much in the way of hearts or text. Their expressions say it all! 🙂


Here is the wallpaper in 1440×900 resolution (click for full size):

Vicar of Dibley Wallpaper 1440x900


P.S. If you haven’t seen this, here is my Vicar of Dibley Christmas fan video. You can watch it year-round! 😉


A big thank you to everyone for participating by voting, tweeting, commenting and reading.  You are very much appreciated! 

🙂 🙂 😀 😀


This entry was posted in Graphics and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Here it is: your Vicar of Dibley wallpaper

  1. Smithylass says:

    Brilliant! Loved seeing the Christmas video again. I’ll have that song in my head all day now, along with the sweet images of Harry.

  2. Wildflower625 says:

    Loved the video and the wallpaper! There is a lot of kissing going on in that video. I could watch it all year round.

  3. CDoart says:

    With your wallpaper you almost make me a Dibley fan, bccmee, and that means quite a lot for me ;o)
    Thank you for this romantic picture and the helpful step by step explanations! You really give us something to dream …

  4. Lovely! Very romantic indeed. I wanna hug Harry Kennedy too 😉
    Thank you very much, Bcc Mee!

  5. Kitty says:

    How sweet is that; she loving him, he adoring her – so much conveyed by the looks on their faces. Makes me want to throw them a house warming shower and invite everyone of the visitors to your site. Very nice.

  6. Jen J says:

    Thanks for creating the Vicar of Dibley wallpaper, Bcc. I like it. It has a nice “happy” feel to it. 🙂 I don’t have a clue how to make “graphicky-type-stuff”, so the way you explain how you made the wallpaper step by step is interesting.

    Really enjoyed watching your VoD video again, too. That’s a “happy” video. 🙂

  7. Carolyn says:

    A lovely wallpaper, B! I love your video!

  8. NovemberBride says:

    and you did it once again!!!!!!!!!!! Yay for Harry and Geraldine…I love it when he keeps coming back to her front door and then grabs the top of the door frame for One Last Look!!! WooHoo!!

  9. Meryl says:

    just one thing to say about your wallpaper B~ LOVE it! and the happy little vid.
    thankyou Meryl

  10. Alfie says:

    So sweet.

    And your VOD fan vid is really one of my favorites – LOOOOOVVVVEEEE it.

  11. Anakris says:

    Lovely B! And the fanvid it’s both funny and romantic with all that kissing and hugging, hugging and kissing, kissing… hugg*thud*

  12. Great work, bccmee! It was fun to be a part of the project (by voting). 🙂 Your work is so interesting and I loved the video! Can’t wait to see what you come up with next.

    Trish
    http://www.robertssister.com
    caregiving. family. advocacy.
    Twitter: robertssister1

  13. Ania says:

    Beautiful wallpaper. I love it! 🙂
    Wonderful video. So much love in it. I really like this song.

  14. smitkit says:

    Thanks B, lovely work as always!

  15. bccmee says:

    Thank you all again for your votes earlier and for taking the time to comment on my graphic and video!

    Harry and Geraldine make such a sweet couple. *sigh* And I love all their kissing scenes too! ♥ I think I featured every kiss in my fanvideo. Harry is welcome to hang out in my doorway anytime. I’ll buy a bench for him to sit on if he so desires. 😉 A housewarming party is a lovely idea for a lovely couple. As for the song, I heard it a few weeks ago in a restaurant and it took me a few seconds to process it. I thought it sounded familiar, LOL!

    Right now I’m working on a fanvideo which will be done Wednesday or sooner. I also have an idea for another interactive project of sorts. I’m trying to figure out the logistics so I might be asking for your input on that too.

    Again, I appreciate all the support!

  16. Bcc — you are one creative (and talented) cat! I am impressed by the detail of your graphics — especially love the shadow from the window. great stuff! and really fun to be involved in the voting process (although the image I voted for did not win…)

    Heidi & Atticus
    http://www.atticusuncensored.com
    “commentary to give you paws…”

  17. I voted for the one you showed, but I didn’t understand at the time how you would transform it into wallpaper. Very creative endeavor, which I find fascinating to follow (moreso than Richard Armitage, whom I never knew). Great process!

    Judy Stone-Goldman
    The Reflective Writer
    http://www.thereflectivewriter.com/blog/
    “Word maven loves–and learns from–ordinary life.”

  18. phylly3 says:

    Your video is one of my favourites all year round! I am very impressed with your graphic, especially how you did the windows. Love this!

  19. Bcc,
    I love what you did with the picture we voted for! Nicely done. I think I voted for this one, it’s so romantic.
    Sweet,
    Franziska San Pedro
    The Abstract Impressionist Artress

  20. bccmee says:

    Thanks again for participating by voting and/or posting! 🙂

    Even I had no idea how it would turn out till I started, LOL! Not sure what made me think of the windows, but I’m glad you like that touch.

    They do look romantic together. ♥

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.

