Silly Siggies – Lucas North

Again, by request…

It’s funny that some of you mentioned a paper dolls graphic, because that was one of the many ideas I had for the “shirtless Lucas” Picture of the Day (POD) last month from RichardArmitageNet.Com. I had other ideas too, so I made two silly siggies for today’s post based on the POD from 24 March 2011.

Picture of the Day, 24 May 2011

Picture of the Day, 24 May 2011

Here is your first shirtless Lucas silly siggie:
(try saying that 3 times real fast!)

Pin the tattoos on the Lucas
Here is the text in case you can’t read it or would like to translate it:
“Lucas tattoos” “Place them anywhere, just like the BBC!” “Lick them and stick them!”

Initially I was going to make a “Pin the tattoo on the Lucas” game, but then the idea evolved into temporary tattoos.  The “lick ’em and stick ’em” idea came from thinking about the lucky makeup gal who got to apply the tattoos to Richard Armitage on the set of Spooks.  I got to wondering what that job would be like.  😛

Then I remembered the temporary tattoos that came as prizes in boxes of Cracker Jacks when I was growing up.  You would lick your arm then stick the tattoo on the skin and press and peel it off. The tattoos would wash off in your weekly bath! Yes, as a family of seven kids, we only took baths once a week, LOL!

Maybe that explains the different location of one of the tattoos from season to season: the makeup girl had to be replaced regularly due to fainting. This would be one job where drooling would come in handy, but perhaps thudding would cause you to be replaced. These are only theories as I do not have any inside information!


Here is your paper doll siggie:

Lucas North Paper Doll
“Lucas paper doll”

As you can see, I went with a retro theme. I seem to be regressing to my childhood. I have a feeling that although Cracker Jacks were an American phenomenon, paper dolls were fairly universal. Did you play with them? I sure did!

I also promised you the work-in-progress so here is a link:

Lucas paper doll work in progress

By the way, there is still time to vote on your choice of image and font for the collaborative Vicar of Dibley wallpaper! The poll closes Sunday night and I’ll post the wallpaper next week.

Talk to you soon!



Edit:
The Vicar of Dibley wallpaper poll is now closed, but you can click the link above to view the results. I’ll have the wallpaper completed this week. 🙂


This entry was posted in Graphics and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Silly Siggies – Lucas North

  1. Lady Rose says:

    Haha! I love it! Oh, I’m jealous of that makeup artist as well, believe you me!

  2. Kathleen Evans (kje514) says:

    They still make paper dolls.
    http://store.doverpublications.com/0486483789.html
    Maybe they would like yours.

    And the tattoos are hysterical. Thanks!

  3. Great siggies! I love particularly with tattoos – place them anywhere just like the BBC – LOL! So true 😀 Especially with cupolas – they should be on chest or Lucas just wasn’t in a real Russian prison 😉

  4. LadyCassia says:

    Oh dear! Lucas inspired you very much, indeed. Paper dolls – I would have a complete set of stickers!! – the wallpaper is faboulous, and I really like the fashion layout.
    Thanks Lucas and thanks Bcc!

  5. Antonia Romera says:

    I’m wondering how some minds in different points of the huge Globe can have the same thoughts and undertand the same jokes. And how with an ocean in the middle we could play with the same games in childhood. In Spain the paper dols are called ‘recortables’ and the tattoos ‘calcomanías’.

    I love your works. And I love specialy this Silly Siggies Series. And I super-love *laughing* the one of the tattoos. All day with the tongue out of the mouth. *Slurp…. This here. Slurp….. This here….* *laughing a lot*

  6. Dhana says:

    Excellent siggies!! You never cease to amaze me!

  7. Musa says:

    Hilarious! I gave both of them a 10+
    I’m going to cut out the Lucas paperdoll and dress him up every day, after I apply the tattoos of course 🙂
    Thank you for making my day 🙂

  8. tyme4t says:

    BAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA – those are fantastic….Lick ’em & Stick ’em! Oh you totally have a great sense of humour! 😀
    One little request for the paper doll…..you need accessories….like oh I don’t know….. 😎 glasses maybe (hehehe)

    Thank you for making my tough week at work end on a very giggly note!

  9. Carolyn says:

    LMAO! Thank you! I loved paper dolls when I was a kid. Yours are adorable, so much better than the ones I used to play with!

  10. servetus says:

    Love the idea, but prefer him topless!

  11. Very creative and amusing, too:-))

  12. Meryl says:

    B, you did it again these siggies are priceless!
    Course, the subject you are working with is priceless too, and obviously inspires genius{ in some!}

  13. SaraD says:

    Great!! We had lick ’em and stick ’em tattoos here too when I was a child and I think they’re still around actually….. Wonder if it might be possible to make one with “Lucas” on….. not his tattoos… A photo of him! 😀 Am I too perv?

    Anyway, loved the siggies, both of them!! Great job B!

  14. smitkit says:

    Excellent, B – love then both!

    We had ‘lick & stick’ tattoos too and paper dolls – takes me back!

  15. Ania says:

    ha ha ha 🙂 Bccmee you did a great job! I love it!
    it’s amazing, because I also had paper dolls collection in the childhood 🙂

  16. phylly3 says:

    Love the idea of being the tattoist to Lucas, but thank you for making my RA paper doll dream come true!! 🙂
    The only thing better would be seeing him head to toe!

  17. Jen J says:

    Great sigs Bcc! I remember “lick and stick” tattoos and paper dolls. I played with paper dolls too! I used to lose patience when I made the little dolls play out different scenarios, and the clothes flapped about or fell off. On numerous occasions I may have even sellotaped the clothes on, defeating the purpose entirely! LOL! I must’ve been a strange kid! LOL! 😀

  18. bccmee says:

    Well I’m not the jealous type, but if I was, I may be a wee bit green with envy of the makeup artist! It would be so cool to have actual Lucas paper dolls…or any other Richard Armitage characters. The actor transforms himself so completely that the paper dolls would have to use images from the actual roles. It would not work to “mix and match” even though I did so out of necessity, using a Harry Kennedy sweater and a random tuxedo for Lucas. There wasn’t enough variety in the way of Lucas clothing for that particlar pose! 🙂 The paper dolls should actually work if you cut them out. Too bad it’s so difficult to find a full-length figure of Lucas so that we could add a stand. As for accessories, that would be great if I had the room in a siggie or enough to fill a paper doll wallpaper. I wasn’t crazy about the Lucas eyeglasses, but it would be a fun addition anyway!

    I didn’t know that Russian prisoners tattooed their chests. Hope you don’t know that from personal experience, GizTheGunslinger. 😉 Lucas is indeed inspiring. He’s so lovely, he does make my tongue hang out!

    It’s so cool that we do come from around the globe and yet we share some commonalities, besides our admiration for a certain British actor.

    I don’t know why the BBC didn’t collaborate with some publishing house and create real-life Lucas paper dolls. That would’ve helped alleviate some of their financial issues. Even if the clothes wouldn’t stay on, that would be more than acceptable in the case of Lucas paper dolls.

  19. Love these! Never noticed the ‘wandering’ tattoo – you’ve just give me the perfect excuse to re-view the entire three series under the guise of scientific research :-)))

  20. CDoart says:

    I loved paper-dolls during my childhood, but yours just beat any I ever had ;o) I love your creations and it is really a pity we do not have more full size material of RA to make a whole set of him.
    My childhood paper-dolls also always lost their clothing, though I cut them out with extreme care. But that did not help. Cutting out RA must be much more fun. I must print out your siggie and give it a try ;o)
    By the way, we had those water soluble tattoo stickers as well here in Germany. As far as I can remember they mostly came with chewing gum and “Ahoj Brause” (Frigeo).

  21. NovemberBride says:

    ROTFLOL!! Thanks, B…now there is Pepsi all over my screen thanks to your “Even if the clothes wouldn’t stay on…”

    Me and my neighbor friends spent hours upon hours playing w/paperdolls…our favs were the ones we cut out of the Wards, Sears and Penney’s catalogs. We had whole families. Then we’d go to the living room, bathroom, etc. pages in the back of the catalog and make rooms for them to live in. My daddy had a western suit on w/a Stetson and the mommy wore a lavender dress and they had about a dozen kids. Whooie…tripping down memory lane! Also had a beautiful Little Women set based on the June Allyson movie and a huge collection Katy Keene paper dolls…remember her anyone? or am I the only old dude in this crowd who goes back that far?

    Your tatoo graphic was a hoot!!

  22. Beachbaby says:

    I love the Lucas paper doll. I used to adore paper dolls years ago and spent many happy hours with them. I couldn’t believe it when my daughter was just sooo not interested in them. Wonder if my granddaughter might like paper dolls in a few years. 🙂

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.

