Graphic a Day, 30 May 2011

Today’s Picture of the Day (POD) at RichardArmitageNet.Com is dedicated to Bo:

Picture of the Day, 29 May 2011

Picture of the Day, 29 May 2011

Here is your Graphic of the Day:

Lucas High-Tech

Initially, the serious expression on Lucas’ face made me think of two very silly siggies. I created one and designed another but decided to go more mainstream. For some reason I am reminded of a childhood memory: occasionally my brothers and sisters and I would torture each other by saying, “Don’t laugh!”  Try not to laugh when you are 7 years old.

Ultimately I chose to make something spyalicious.  Is that a word?

My first task was to give some color to poor Lucas so he looks alive.  😉  To do this, I borrowed some flesh tones from another image and used the Match Color command in Photoshop.  I also added some adjustment layers for more tones and contrast.

Then I extracted Lucas from his background,  placed him on a textured layer and added the top and bottom borders.  The vertical dots were created from scratch.  I continued to make additional shapes on separate layers using differing opacity for each.  Here’s the map image I added to the background:

Map

I also incorporated Lucas from this promo picture snaffled from RichardArmitageNet.Com and applied the Soft Light blend mode:

Spooks Series 7 Lucas and Ros

I’ll let you in on a little secret. I just kept adding stuff till it looked full.  The “:01” and the plus signs were added after re-watching the recent Strike Back trailer!  😉 Because every little thing is separate, I ended up with 42 layers.  A very nice number.

For the tiny numbers, I just punched the number pad on my keyboard so they would be completely random, LOL!  Then I shrunk the numbers down to 6 points so they’re almost textures because they’re unreadable. The text “spooks” and “Lucas” is written in the Adobe Caslon Pro font.  After typing the “:01” with the IrisUPC font, I rasterized it (changed it into an image) and then used the Transform / Perspective command to make it look rotated in 3D space.   Finally it looked full enough and I called it done!

By the way, I’m considering posting my silly siggies after A Graphic a Day in May is completed.

This entry was posted in Graphics and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Graphic a Day, 30 May 2011

  1. Kathleen Evans says:

    I am enjoying everyone of these. Please, if you want to, keep up the good work.

  2. tyme4t says:

    Very cool – definitely a “spookified” graphic – and yes of course spyalicious is a word – I understand it and I’m sure all the others from around the world get it 😉

    Oh please Oh please publish the silly ones – just think of the smiles you will be spreading!

  3. Ann Marie says:

    ok, confession time…I have not been reading the details of your process for creating each graphic, preferring to believe in “magic” (if I can believe that S9 never happened, then I can believe in magic too!). Truthfully, *coughs delicately* I rarely get past the drooling over the pretty pictures and swiping them over to my desktop. However, I read this one and found it sooo bloody amazing! I am truly in awe of your ability, skill and talent to create these little pieces of Richard goodness. I never realized how intricate the process is, how considered each individual element must be.

    And to top it off, your humorous commentary. I laughed. My brothers and I played “Don’t laugh”, can’t be done! And it still works on my OH. My favorite was 42 layers. “Avery nice number.” Indeed. Thanks bccmee for all you do…I shall be sad to see May end. The good thing, now I can go back and read each of your May posts with a much more appreciative eye. *hugs*

  4. RavenRoseBeetle says:

    Two more days and GADIM is done. : ( *sobs*

  5. Musa says:

    You know I LOVE Lucas! The blue background goes perfectly with LN! Love it!

  6. Kitty says:

    I don’t understand any of the explanations about your work, but I appreciate and enjoy it. Love the contrast again between ‘skinny’ Lucas from his first season and ‘nourished’ Lucas from his last season. Thanks!

  7. Lady Rose says:

    Ooh, I like this one! It’s fantastic!

  8. NovemberBride says:

    @Kitty, after spending MOST of my AM fiddling around with my brand spankin’ new Photoshop Elements V.9 and still can’t figure out how to even organize my kazillions of pics, it’s pretty obvious that I don’t understand much either. Perserverance….

    @RRB…sobbing right along with you!

    B…seriously? 42 layers??!!! Have mercy! This is just beautiful tho no matter how many layers it has. Or doesn’t!!!

  9. NovemberBride says:

    Oh, and AnnMarie, even in old age, I can’t win the Don’t Laugh contest. It’s official. I am a bonafide loser! 😉 And I chose to cherry pick Season 9….most gets dumped but then there is the POD May 24 that verifies there was at least a few “good things” in S9?! And B found them!!

  10. CDoart says:

    The mood of the picture just is so ‘spooky’, bccmee. You so wonderfully brought out the thoughtful look of RA and I love the complete arrangement of this picture.
    I love the thoughtful and caring look of RA and still cannot believe, that the scriptwriters let such an actor go. The caring look just does not add up with what they did with him. – Now enough of my grumbling about things I cannot change (except in my little sequel ;o).

  11. Jonia says:

    Oh Bccmee :* You don’t even realized how much I can learn about making graphics from Your instructions. I always have problems with background in them, so I know what I can do to have this or that effect. Thank You very much 🙂

  12. IngeD3 says:

    Spyalicious is definitely a word now!
    Another work of art Bcc mee – well done!
    I also really enjoy reading about your production process and where the ideas come from. Thank you! x

  13. Ania says:

    I love it!
    I agree with CDoart that the mood of this graphics is so very “spooky”

  14. Jeannie says:

    This is just fantastic! I love every detail.

  15. Meryl says:

    another great graphic B~ and I would like to add~ bring on the “sillies”!
    thankyou

  16. Carolyn says:

    Great detail, B! I love how you lightened up the pic and gave him color. Fantastic siggie!

  17. Carol Tatarian says:

    These are so fabulous! I’ve been ogling every one of them. What a gorgeous man.! Thanks for all the great visuals this month. You are truly an artist.

  18. AnaKris says:

    LOL! Definitely a spyalicious graphic and very well skilled. I’m looking forward to your silly siggies 🙂

  19. Beachbaby says:

    I agree this is definitely a spyalicious sig. Lucas & blue are definitely a dream combination….sigh.

  20. bccmee says:

    I’m glad everyone is familiar with the word “spyalicious” and I expect to see it in the next edition of Webster’s Dictionary. We should also be prepared for it in any upcoming spelling bees. 😉 LOL at spookified! I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: Richard Armitage and his characters require a whole new vocabulary.

    Heh, I didn’t realize that the “don’t laugh” game was played by some of you too! That’s so cool. 🙂

    Lucas is a beautiful man and I never tire of looking at him. And yes, he looks dreamy in blue! Last night I had a dream that I was cast in Spooks but there was no Lucas, although I did get to joke around with Peter Firth. Also in my dream, Matthew Mcfayden was back in the show. Strange dream because I’ve never seen an episode of Spooks without RA. While I prefer the “full-bodied” Lucas, there was a certain attractiveness in “skinny” Lucas too. As for season 9, that was terrible writing! If anyone associated with the show happens by, I don’t mean to offend, but the storyline was totally inconsistent with everything that came before it. It was just written for shock value.

    If you already create graphics, then some of my commentary might make sense and I’m delighted it helped some of you. I encourage everyone to try their hand at making graphics. I did not have a great start. Soon I will post some of my early efforts so you can see that my first siggies were not so hot, LOL. I stuck with it and while I may have improved somewhat, I’m still not able to do half the things I dream up. It’s not something I’ll ever completely master, but that’s part of the fun for me. If you’re interested, the full version of Adobe Photoshop is very expensive, but if you’re a student you can buy it at a discount. Adobe Photoshop Elements is a much more affordable version. A really good full-featured free editing software is Paint.Net which is how I started. You can download it for the PC at http://www.getpaint.net/download.html

    Be sure to stay in touch and let me know if you are doing something creative so I can take a look. 🙂

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.

