Graphic a Day, 26 May 2011

Today’s Picture of the Day (POD) at RichardArmitageNet.Com is dedicated to RavenRoseBeetle:

Picture of the Day, 26 May 2011

Picture of the Day, 26 May 2011

Here is your Graphic of the Day:

John Porter Graphic from Viral Video

Well looky here, it’s John Porter again! A show of hands if you know that he is my favorite Richard Armitage character, LOL.  Needless to say, I love the viral video made from test footage before Strike Back was even filmed.

For today’s graphic, I didn’t have to do much with the POD.  I applied the Clarity filter from Xero Graphics to make the sweat and sand stand out just a little more.  Then I used a Curves adjustment set to the Soft Light mode to increase the contrast.  There was empty space to fill so I had the pleasurable task of searching for another image to incorporate from the Strike Back Viral Album at RichardArmitageNet.Com.

Strike Back Viral Screencap

Since I had to shrink it so much, the second image lost the TV static effect so I added some scan lines.  I also included a background texture and some barbed wire.

Texture Barbed Wire

To give a similar color tone to both sides of the siggie, I added a solid layer using a color lifted from the POD with the Eyedropper tool.  I set this layer to the Soft Light blend mode.

For the “Strike Back” text, I used the Arial font and added the Bevel & Emboss and Gradient Overlay effects.  For the words “John Porter” I chose the 007 GoldenEye font and added a stroke outline.  Finally I drew a red line by hand so it wouldn’t be straight 😉 and blurred it a bit.

Mmm, I really like gritty dirty John Porter!

This entry was posted in Graphics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Graphic a Day, 26 May 2011

  1. NovemberBride says:

    OK, so now you’re trying NOT to draw straight line?!! LOL!! A girl after my own heart!! Off kilter graphic for off kilter JP. Just perfect!!! Excellent use of the background. And the barbed wire going thru the “B”! Brilliant!!

    So, I bought Photoshop Elements 9 yesterday. Any thoughts/advice/good sites to learn from? I’m a Wannabe a B. =0) As if!

    I forced myself to watch Strike Back. Heard too much about the gratuitous beefcake stuff. Didn’t sound like my cup of tea. Got to the Katy scene. Have mercy! I was a goner. Very convincing performance from Katy and JP! Yeah, there was beefcake but some really good acting trumped it. IMHO. 😉

    • bccmee says:

      You have a great eye for detail, NovemberBride, and I look forward to your graphical efforts! To learn to use Photoshop Elements, it depends on your learning style. Perhaps a book will be the best way to start but I can’t recommend one in particular. Lynda.Com has the best video tutorials, but they’re a paid service. They do have a few free sample lessons here: http://www.lynda.com/Photoshop-Elements-tutorials/essential-training/69086-2.html Of course there are lots of tutorials on YouTube but they can be a varying quality. Once you know your way around, have fun and experiment! 🙂

      Glad you finally managed to watch Strike Back. I do adore that John Porter! ♥

  2. CDoart says:

    I like it how you can tell a whole story in just one single picture, bccmee. Just wonderful !!!
    I must admit, I like gritty… too (Now I am blooming red and hiding beneath the table ;o)
    Hopefully John Porter comes back to Strike Back in full glory and not just a minor tiny bit to get written out.

    • bccmee says:

      Haha, you needn’t be ashamed, CDoart. Come out from under that table and join the rest of us in our open admiration for the John Porter character!

      Yes we can only hope for the best with Strike Back 2. I wonder how much they will utilize John Porter.

  3. tyme4t says:

    My hand is up and waving! JP is just so darn sexy – well done! 😀

  4. Jeannie says:

    Great job! It’s nice to see Richard play the hero!

  5. PoliCBA says:

    “Mmm, I really like gritty dirty John Porter!” *laughs*

    I love your sense of humour, Bcc Mee 😉

    Brilliant graphic. Kind of intense, I would say, and gritty, indeed. But definitely a great one. A little bit of rage and virility is good from time to time, LOL!

  6. Wildflower625 says:

    Brilliant as always, this is my favorite graphic so far. John Porter is delicious.

  7. Alfie says:

    I like him too:) Fantastic sig.

  8. Meryl says:

    I admit to being a fully paid up member of the John Porter admirers club! Dirty, gritty~he scrubs up nicely too~ whatever!
    {Yes I know I would have to fight you B for #1 admirer’s position!!!}
    thankyou for another inspired graphic {well, look who you have for that inspiration…………………..}

    • bccmee says:

      And I will fight to the finish and win, Meryl, LOL! You know it too!

      *throws Meryl under the table and covers her with a checkerboard hood made of a tablecloth when nobody is looking to get the competition out of the way*

  9. Ania says:

    One word: brilliant!

  10. My goodness I find this blog so intriguing! Why him? Why a blog about just him? I like what you’re doing as it piques my interest….
    Louise Edington

    • bccmee says:

      There is a very long answer to that question, Louise. In short, he’s the consummate actor who completely loses himself in his roles. Richard Armitage seems like a genuinely down-to-earth nice guy who can play in a period drama, spy show, comedy, or action show with apparent ease.

  11. Beachbaby says:

    Wow, I love this one. You have captured & enhanced the intensity of the moment. I love JP all gritty & sweaty too 🙂

  12. Pingback: Pollo Tours « El Zonkey Show

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.

