Graphic a Day, 24 May 2011

Today’s Picture of the Day (POD) at RichardArmitageNet.Com is dedicated to Jen’s birthday:

Picture of the Day, 24 May 2011

Picture of the Day, 24 May 2011

Here is your Graphic of the Day:

Lucas North Wallpaper 1600x900
1600 x 900 size wallpaper – click for full size

When I saw the POD, I did a very happy dance in my mind. My downstairs neighbors don’t like it when I really dance. 😉 For today’s graphic, I immediately had 3 or 4 ideas. This was not one of them, LOL! Some ghost took over. Maybe I’ll use the other ideas eventually but I won’t give them away and ruin the surprise.

For this graphic, I downloaded another promo picture from RichardArmitageNet.Com to go along with the POD and then I cut them out.

Richard Armitage as Lucas North

Next I added some textures from devianart:

Grunge_v_by_struckdumb_sm Parched_ii_by_struckdumb_sm

On top of the background textures, I created two radial gradients, one orange and one blue and set their blend modes to Screen. I added a red layer and set it to Soft Light and reduced the opacity. Then I downloaded and incorporated the paintings below:

Ancient of Days Turner, The Battle of Trafalgar (1822)

And I included these stock images:

Clock Smashed Glass

I duplicated the texture layers and placed them over the stock images and the Lucas promo picture from season 7. Then I added the quote “My hour is almost come” using the Black Sam’s Gold font.

At the very last second, I noticed that Ali had posted an even larger version of the POD so I incorporated that as well! Extra Lucas is always nice. 😀 The POD was placed on the top layer since it was already perfect. *drooly sigh*

Can you guess why I selected these particular paintings? 😎


Below are some additional sizes.


Lucas North Wallpaper 1440x900
1440 x 900 – Click for full size


Lucas North Wallpaper 1024x768
1024 x 768 – Click for full size


By the way, I have heard from Ali at RichardArmitageNet.Com that all the spots for the POD are taken for the rest of the month of May. Thanks to all of you who sent in requests! Of course you can always request a picture for June and onwards.  🙂

P.S. Happy birthday, Jen!

This entry was posted in Graphics and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

59 Responses to Graphic a Day, 24 May 2011

  1. NovemberBride says:

    I am speechless!! The colors…the photos…the words…the everything!! Every day I think, “OK this is the one that’s my fav!” B, you are such a gifted artist…do you paint/watercolor? If not, consider it. Just sayin’ cause you have a definite eye for this stuff!

    LOL at the extra perfect Lucas!! *drooly sighs all over the place* This will go on my computer, phone, mp3….maybe T shirt if I can figure out how!! 😉

    BTW, @Jen…have a marvelous day!!!

    • judiang says:

      Psst, you can put graphics on a t-shirt with a transfer sticker and a hot iron. It’s really easy.

    • bccmee says:

      Hi NovemberBride, thanks for posting the 1st Comment of the Day. 😉 Gotta love that Lucas, he’s delish!

      And no, I can’t draw or paint. That’s why I love the computer…I even learned a cool trick for drawing straight lines, LOL!

      • NovemberBride says:

        ROTFLOL at your straight lines!! Well, even if you think you can’t, I think you could. But that’s just me!!

        @judi…already have my transfer paper out, ready to print while iron is warming up. Think I’ll test it on hub’s old T. Think he’ll mind?!!! *evilHehehe!*

        Judging from Mr. Yahoo yodelling himself hoarse all morning, I’d say you have a hit here B!! :)))

  2. Summer says:

    Gorgeous wallpaper, Lucas, tatts, Blake, time..everything that captures the essence of Lucas North. Really colourful and beautiful! Can’t wait to get home & download, this is my new PC wallpaper! Thanks so much B! xx

  3. tyme4t says:

    AWESOME! – love the quote 🙂 & the Blake painting 🙂
    Can’t wait to see the others you have in mind in the future….

  4. PoliCBA says:

    I’m speechless too. What a magnificent graphic!

    The month of May has never been so delightful to me.

    Congratulations, Bcc Mee! This definitely will go on my computer.

  5. Musa says:

    Can’t imagine why you would have any other ideas after looking at the POD??? 🙂

    When I saw the new and improved version of this photo on the POD I was wondering what you would do! I can’t agree more that you can never have too much Lucas, especially pics like this of RA as Lucas… and I love your use of Urizen and other images from Spooks and S9!

    It’s just amazing – fabulous!

  6. Smithylass says:

    Truly beautiful, thank you for this, Bccmee.

  7. Jeannie says:

    Pure aristry, B! You are so creative!

  8. Eileen says:

    A MASTERPIECE!!! You are truly an artist! Love how all the different elements come together in this one. BTW, Lucas looks too hot to handle in this one:) Thanks!

  9. Jen says:

    Thank you so much! It’s gorgeous! There are so many elements that I love in it. The aged background, the clock and of course, Mr. Armitage. 😉 All of it is wonderful.

  10. judiang says:

    When I saw that pic yesterday I had a few ideas too. I made it my wallpaper. Your creation is beautiful. A work of art becomes a work of art.

    BTW, are you taking requests for different resolutions? My desktop is 1900 x 1200. Pleeeeease? I got cookies….

    • judiang says:

      Oh and the monitor is widescreen. *cough blush*

    • bccmee says:

      Yes, that Lucas picture makes an excellent wallpaper all by itself. 🙂

      By the way, you can use the 1440×900 wallpaper…it’s the same ratio. You can set it to stretch or fill, whichever works better. There should be very little loss of quality because it’s a pretty high-res image.

      I do like cookies though…! 😛

  11. CDoart says:

    Like NovemberBride I each day think, this is the one I love best of your creations (till I go back and see the others and can’t decide any longer). You are a wonderful artist!!!
    To hint Lucas’ depths and secret together with his downfall, just brilliant.
    Can I have more than one screensaver, to see all your pictures at once? Oh, now I must go back and see today’s picture again. I just cannot get enough of it.

    • bccmee says:

      It’s possible to set Windows 7 (and maybe Windows Vista) to change wallpapers as quickly as every 10 seconds and as slowly as once a day.

      Thank you again for your lovely comments and all your continued support, CDoart!

  12. Ann Marie says:

    Awesome, awesome, awesome graphic! NovemberBride is right, the colors, the photos , the words, just perfect! A stunningly beautiful graphic. You never fail to surpass yourself…

  13. darkjackal says:

    Wow! This image is just inspired!

  14. smitkit says:

    Gorgeous work as always B. My laptop says thanks for its lovely new wallpaper!

  15. kadamanja says:

    hahaha you can see how his tattoo on his arm moved up to almost his elbow from his wrist.

    STUNNING work, though, bccmee =D *claps*

    • NovemberBride says:

      I just saw that Kadamanja! I wonder if B could move the tats to the correct location, wherever that might be??! Just saying’. The girl can do anything. Why not tats?

    • bccmee says:

      Oh yes, the tattoo discrepancy was more apparent than ever when working on this wallpaper. Actually I did think of moving it on one of the Lucases but didn’t have time. 🙂 Later I thought of adding the same tattoo to the figure in the painting, LOL!

  16. LadyCassia says:

    Beautiful, impressive! Maybe one in my personal top five graphics of the month (are you considering the poll, BTW?). Transfer on a T-shirt, excellent idea! Thanks ladies! The issue is husband. Don’t think he will be very happy to see me wearing such a gorgeous Lucas.

    • bccmee says:

      I might do the poll, LadyCassia. So glad this wallpaper made your top 5! As for a t-shirt, it would be hilarious to see someone on the streets wearing one of my designs, LOL!

  17. Carolyn says:

    Beautiful work, B..beautiful detail! You are amazing!

  18. Ania says:

    Today’s graphic takes my breath away!
    And all these elements (even broken glass, which I understand as destruction and devastation) – this is quintessential Lucas.
    Bccmee, you really have talent!

  19. Meryl says:

    got one thing to say about this one B~woo hoo!!!!

  20. Ana Cristyna says:

    Wow! Congratulations! What a fantastic work!

  21. Beachbaby says:

    Wow – that is fantastic! The paintings – well one is the tat on Lucas’ chest & the other is from the Albany file. Clever you to put these in. 🙂 & fun for us to find.

  22. Skully says:

    Lovely work, lady!

  23. HellsBells says:

    This is simply……..beautiful !!

  24. Pingback: Friday Photo: Lucas/John | spooks fan blog

  25. Novindalf says:

    New admirer dropping in to… well, amire your work =D

    Absolutely stunning!!!

  26. Absolutely gorgeous! Downloaded this to my desktop straight away. Thanks for sharing your creative process with us, that’s hugely informative. One little thing I noticed though, and I’m not even sure if it can be done properly (as I’m not Photoshop wizard myself); the ‘hairline’ of the main pic looks a little ‘hard’ – could this perhaps benefit from a little more feathering into the background images? No criticism though as you’ve created a truly wonderful work of art based on a most wonderful subject. More please 🙂

  27. Pingback: RichardArmitageNet News » Blog Archive » May 2011 news archive

  28. Pingback: RA Transformation- Lucas North « I Want to be a Pin-Up

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.

