Graphic a Day, 23 May 2011

Today’s Picture of the Day (POD) at RichardArmitageNet.Com is dedicated to Ania:

Picture of the Day, 23 May 2011

Picture of the Day, 23 May 2011

Here is your Graphic of the Day:

John Thornton Reading Fan Fiction

Many of you write or read fan fiction so this siggie popped into my head.  The tagline says: “The face that launched a thousand fanfics.” There are several fanfic authors who have gone on to become published authors.  One of my facebook friends, romance writer Phillipa Ashley, has even had a TV movie made from one of her books! She started by writing North & South fanfic.  Also, Richard Armitage was voted “Sexiest Thing on Two Legs” by the Romantic Novelists’ Association (RNA) in 2009.  He inspires creativity in all the arts.  🙂

For today’s graphic, I started by cutting out the POD as usual. I wanted a picture of John Thornton reading and so I chose a second image from the the North & South Gallery at RichardArmitageNet.Com.

John Thornton Reading

To brighten and modify the screencaps, I added some Curves and Color Fill adjustment layers.

Then I found a quill pen image to incorporate.  This quill is hovering in the air as if it has just written the words “The face that launched a thousand fanfics.” The text is in the P22 Monet font.

Quill Pen

Since John Thornton looks comfortable with white things floating around his head, I chose to add some falling papers.  I duplicated and resized the layer and lowered its opacity to give the illusion of depth and a swirling vortex motion.  I also changed the blend mode of the paper layers to the “Lighten” effect so the black would disappear against the background.

Falling papers

After finishing the graphic, I decided to try other screencaps.  So depending on your mood at the moment regarding fanfiction, these others might suit you:

Fan Fiction Frustration - John Porter

Fan Fiction John Thornton

Thanks for playing along and I’ll see you tomorrow!

This entry was posted in Graphics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Graphic a Day, 23 May 2011

  1. Cyclefair says:

    How very much I am enjoying your graphics. The descriptions of how you constructed each daily graphic are wonderful and add to my enjoyment of the image.

  2. CDoart says:

    Bccmee, I love the picture and I love what you did with it – in all its variations. The story you tell is just so vibrant and alive. In your creation I got the idea he is just reading the fan fiction. What a lovely picture-story under his scrutinizing and steady gaze ;o)

  3. PoliCBA says:

    Absolutely gorgeous!

    Stunning graphics and adorable pics.

    I love, really love John Thornton…

  4. Jeannie says:

    I love to see John Thornton! Richard played that part so well and you have captured the character in this graphic. Another winner!

  5. janiwi says:

    Thanks for another great graphic, bccmee! And I LOVE the caption!

  6. Ania says:

    Beautiful graphics 🙂
    I like your idea of ​​combining this pic. with fanfic. ♥
    Mr. John Thornton is my favorite character. Although must admit that every character played by RA falls deep into the heart…

  7. Lucia Swiers says:

    Dear Bccmee,

    thank you for the lovely signatures you create!
    I have put this one as mine on JustPeriodDrama. com where I post under the name Luce.
    I hope you don’t mind?

  8. tyme4t says:

    Tried to decide which version I liked better – I can’t! I love them both 🙂 🙂
    I actually think the fluttering paper evokes a feeling of the cotton storm that we see inside the factory, as well as the snow in the “Look back at me'” scene.
    Thanks B!

  9. Carolyn says:

    Lovely John Thornton! Beautiful graphics, Bccmee! I love all your graphics! Thank you!

  10. Eileen says:

    I can’t decide which one I like better, so I like them both the same:) I’ll be sad when the graphic month of May is over:(

  11. Aldebaran says:

    It’s true, we’ll miss your adorable Graphic of the Day series…
    John Thornton is certainly a very special RA character, the favorite of many. My first RA crush too!

  12. NovemberBride says:

    Magnificent! Kind of a synonym for Thornton?! And your graphics. Magnificent!

  13. Jody says:

    Hmmmm……can’t decide which I like better. Maybe the second one? His hands are incredibly sexy.

  14. AnaKris says:

    Wow! Two for the price of one!!! SQUEEEEE
    Thank s Bccmee! *hug*

  15. Beachbaby says:

    They are both brilliant but I especially love No 2 – it looks like Richard is going “Oh dear, what have I done!”. 🙂

  16. bccmee says:

    Well I goofed! I initially posted the wrong graphic. 😀 😀 😀 I have changed the siggie to the correct one.

    Thanks a million for all your comments! Thornton was the first Richard Armitage character for many. Do any of you read or write fanfic?

    Yes, feel free to use any of these siggies wherever you would like. Now you have 3 versions to choose from.

    • tyme4t says:

      TRUST me when I say “WE FORGIVE YOU” 🙂
      I love all 3!

    • Ania says:

      This may sound wrong, but I love this mistake, because I have 3 beautiful graphics ♥ ♥ ♥
      THANKS!
      fanfics that was what I discovered after watching N&S and I love to read them (I don’t have the literary talent unfortunately 😦 )

  17. RavenRoseBeetle says:

    The last one is my favorite since JT is looking up. Wonderful job, BccMee!

  18. Summer says:

    My first RA character was indeed Mr. Gorgeous Thornton, he’s the one who started it all for me 🙂
    Really love the three siggies, now I need to join a forum to use them LOL

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.

