Graphic a Day, 15 May 2011

Today’s Picture of the Day (POD) at RichardArmitageNet.Com is dedicated to CDoart:

Picture of the Day, 15 May 2011

Picture of the Day, 15 May 2011

Here is your Graphic of the Day:

Porter and Baxter

This is a beautiful screencap and I’ve used it “as is” for a wallpaper in the past. While I was tempted to leave this POD alone without any Photoshopping, that would be cheating. No worries, I soldiered on and made a siggie.  😀

As usual, I clipped out the POD first thing. Today I decided to go gritty. For that, I used a really cool blue painting by a modern-day Impressionist painter named Franziska San Pedro. This is just the small portion of the entire painting which I used as my siggie background.

Blue Watercolor

I wanted the to keep the design and texture of the painting, but the colors were too bright and cheerful so I used the Color Replace command and chose browns, greens and grays.

Brown Watercolor

Then I added the following watercolor texture and changed the layer style to Subtract.  I placed this over the POD layer and masked out (erased) part of it so only John Porter’s clothes and not his face would look mottled.  I call it the new camouflage. 😉

Watercolor

When I saw that the background looked like a hillside, I was reminded of the scene when Porter and Gerry Baxter were running from the drone in Strike Back so I incorporated that screencap from RichardArmitageNet.Com. I cut out the figures and added a drop shadow.

Strike Back Episode 5

Finally I added the text using the Zombie-Noize font. The quote “Nothing is ever over” is from Strike Back.

That quote reminds me that A Graphic a Day in May is half-way over! Have a great Sunday, everybody.

This entry was posted in Graphics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Graphic a Day, 15 May 2011

  1. CDoart says:

    Thank you, bccmee !!!
    I absolutely love what you did to the picture oD. You so get the mood over, his sceptical look and the message “Nothing is ever over”. Your work is a wonderful combination and such an artful creation. You should make the advertisements for Strike Back II !!!
    The picture layer and the watercolour give the impression of an explosion and create a wonderfully dramatic atmosphere.
    Thank you !

  2. Anakris says:

    GAHHHH that JP is hot!!!! *puts herself together*… ehem … nice grapfic B 😀

  3. phylly3 says:

    I love what you did with the background colours. Very cool! Of course I love any picture of RA so you must understand how difficult it is for me to be critical! LOL
    Seriously I love your siggies! Didn’t you say you were colourblind? How can that be?

    • bccmee says:

      It was fun to play with the changing colors, phylly3. As for being colorblind, I am only a bit. For instance, I don’t see shades as well as other people. They might say it’s olive green, grape green, grass green, but I just see “green.” Once I owned a car that everyone called tan but I called it yellow, LOL!

  4. Jeannie says:

    Another great graphic. I think I ‘ve said before, but it bears repeating! You are a talented artist!

  5. Ania says:

    I really like the way you used the texture of the painting
    Could be wrong, but I feel that JP eyes are more green 😉

  6. tyme4t says:

    Another hit! Love the pic of RA and very cool using the texture from the painting – neat effect.
    Half way through already :S wow – time flies when you are having fun!

  7. Pamela says:

    Just like Phylly3, I love RA in all his incarnations, but as JP, his handsomeness just blows me away!

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.

