Graphic a Day, 11 May 2011

Happy Anniversary, Alicat!

Since she tweeted that it’s her anniversary, I figured it’s fair game to say it on my blog. 😉

Sir Guy of Gisborne is today’s Picture of the Day (POD) at RichardArmitageNet.Com. Hmmm, I wonder who chose this pic, LOL!

Picture of the Day, 11 May 2011

Picture of the Day, 11 May 2011

Here is your Graphic of the Day:

G Love

This POD is one of my favorite screencaps. Guy’s face is so perfect; no wonder the camera loved him.  What a great close-up!  Then he takes off his glove, which is best appreciated in motion, but if you’ve seen it at least once then the still image will do. To this day, I wonder whose decision it was for Guy to remove his glove with his teeth in Robin Hood series 1, episode 7.

For this sig, I cut out the glove-biting screencap and placed it slightly overlapping the POD.  Also I removed the girl’s hair which partially blocked Guy’s neck and shoulder from view.  I wanted to have a bit of texture in keeping with the leather theme.  After merging the layers, I applied the Sunset, Supersmooth and Tekstya filters with the free Photoshop plug-ins from Xero Graphics. Next I added a Curves adjustment layer to brighten the faces up a bit.

For the text, I used the Andy font and I replaced the letter “o” with a heart which I made with the shapes tool, then I added a stroke (outline) to all the characters.  I applied a drop shadow to the heart so it would stand out a little bit.  I enlarged the letter “G” and set it to 0% fill so it would just show the letter’s outline.  You can probably guess why I chose that particular font.

Here is the other screencap I snaffled from the Robin Hood Album at RichardArmitageNet.Com:

Glove

Whoever coined the phrase “Glove Love” deserves a Pulitzer Prize!


Bonus graphic:  Alicat over at RichardArmitageNet.com used a screencap from the same scene to create this incredible wallpaper several years ago.  It still stands out as one of most outstanding wallpapers I’ve ever seen!

alicat - Gisborne Wallpaper

Wallpaper by alicat

P.S. Remember that you can request a Picture of the Day from RichardArmitageNet.Com any time via e-mail!

This entry was posted in Graphics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Graphic a Day, 11 May 2011

  1. RavenRoseBeetle says:

    Lovely! It pulls me in. How you did the “gLove” was an awesome idea. You are really good at this!

  2. Calexora says:

    Super cool! Love the wallpaper with the wolf! And the glove love above 😀 very nice.

  3. Ali says:

    Aw thanks B, lovely sig. Not only is it the best pic of Guy ever IMO, but that episode is also my favourite one and I never tire of watching it.

    Funny story about that wallpaper – the afternoon I made that was the first time I’d ever used Photoshop and ever created a graphic. I was teaching myself to use the software by dabbling with a few stock images and a pic of Guy. As a result I should have given up creating graphics forever after that afternoon, because I’ve never created any other graphic that has provoked such a popular reaction lol!

    • tyme4t says:

      @Ali – One of the all time best!

    • Ania says:

      @Ali – wallpaper with the wolf is breathtaking
      Happy Anniversary!

      • Meryl says:

        Happy Anniversary Alicat,
        your wallpaper is very evocative~no wonder it created such a stir!
        And I agree the pic of Guy is one of the very best………………

    • bccmee says:

      Your wallpaper story makes me laugh, Ali! It must be difficult to “start at the top” LOL! I will eventually post some of my early efforts…not quite the caliber of your first graphic. 😉

  4. AnaKris says:

    Powerful, beautiful and the gLove thing …. brilliant Bccmee! Hugs

  5. tyme4t says:

    lovin’ the glovin’ (or I guess unglovin’ in this case 😉 )
    Well done B!
    hmmm…may have to request another POD….

  6. Jeannie says:

    As you probably know, Guy is my favorite Richard Armitage character! I am most grateful for your lovely work and this is one of my favorite pics of him, especially with the glove, aka G Love. Thank you for making my day!

    Jeannie

  7. OneMoreLurker says:

    WOW, love it! You are an artist, the graphic is awesome.

    OML 🙂

  8. Ania says:

    OMG 🙂
    I really love it!

  9. Pamela says:

    The man himself is a work of art, but you just take it to the next level. Outstanding!

  10. Carolyn says:

    OMG! OMG! This is my favorite so far! One of my favorite scenes with Guy! Beautiful wallpaper by Ali!

  11. Alfie says:

    *SWOON* I REALLY LIKE…….. love the “Glove”

  12. Meryl says:

    you are really on a role B, graphic-ing up a storm!
    thankyou

  13. NovemberBride says:

    Heartstopper…your graphic and the wallpaper. Holy Moly.

  14. Eileen says:

    To die for!!! With the the most subtle changes in expression, he transforms himself into each new character he plays…from John Thornton to Sir Guy to John Standring to John Porter to Harry Kennedy and on and on. He is, truly, an amazing actor!

  15. Summer says:

    Swooning sig! That scene and episode is one of my favourites, you did a fantastic job with both screencaps! 🙂
    Gorgeous wallpaper Ali! Happy Anniversary!

  16. Musa says:

    Lovely – and sexy 😉 I love his eyes in this scene, thank you for this marvelous graphic! I’ve loved every single one you’ve made 🙂
    (What about RA doing the glove thing as Lucas North! I remember screaming at the TV when I first saw it- LOL)

    Ali – Happy Anniversary and marvelous wallpaper (that I hadn’t seen before!)

  17. Sandra "Xanoquita" says:

    I’m a huge “glovelover” 😀
    Very exciting graphic, Bcc, well done!

    Now… if only we could get word to Peter Jackson to have Thorin bite off his glove too as a nod to the fans… wouldn’t it be sweet???

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.

