Graphic a Day, 7 May 2011

Day 7

Today’s Picture of the Day (POD) at RichardArmitageNet.Com is dedicated to Pauline:

Picture of the Day, 7 May 2011

Picture of the Day, 7 May 2011

Here is your Graphic of the Day:

John Thornton and Margaret

After being introduced to Richard Armitage in The Vicar of Dibley, I immediately researched the actor. It was then I realized that North & South had been in my Netflix queue for ages. I watched it straight away and of course loved it.

In this siggie, I adjusted the colors and brightness. Also, I used the clone tool to extend the curtains behind John Thornton’s shoulder. Since I was very impressed by the production, I wanted to give credit to the two lead performers. Unfortunately, we can only see the back of Margaret’s head!

For this graphic, I used a few subtle effects in the background. For instance, there are several hearts hidden. How many can you find? As you can see, I also created semi-transparent boxes behind the text and along the right-hand border. Believe it or not, this graphic has 20 layers.

The font used for Daniela’s name is Snell Roundhand. For Richard Armitage’s name, I used Copperplate Gothic Bold. And the ampersand is in the Adobe Caslon font. As you may have noticed, the word “North” has the same font as RA’s name, and the word “South” uses the same font as Daniela’s. I matched the fonts as closely as possible with the DVD cover for North & South. Perhaps someday someone will design a “Richard Armitage” font! 😉

The Victorian hearts in the background came from a piece of clipart from clipartguide.com.  Here’s what the heart looked like before I duplicated, rotated, and changed the blending mode:

Victorian heart

Today wraps up the first week of A Graphic a Day in May! Stay tuned for more. 🙂


P.S. Remember that you can request a Picture of the Day from RichardArmitageNet.Com any time via e-mail!

This entry was posted in Graphics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Graphic a Day, 7 May 2011

  1. Musa says:

    Just lovely! Very romantic graphic, captures N&S so perfectly.
    I can see three hearts…but I’m sure I’m missing some.

    I just love the way he looks at her in this scene.

  2. NovemberBride says:

    New word for the day…AMPERSAND! And 20 layers??!!! Good grief! This is such a lovely pic of JT. Have sudden yearning to pop N&S into my dvd player. I see 4 hearts….and counting….

  3. tyme4t says:

    lovely…just lovely 🙂

  4. janiwi says:

    Obviously a labor of love, my dear, and we appreciate it! How in the world could Margaret have had that look of love leveled at her and refused his proposal soon after?? Fortunately, the silly girl came to her senses. Like everyone, I love the train station scene, especially when she kisses his hand. I think it shows not only her love for him, but her willingness to humble herself after having rejected him so cruelly. Ain’t love grand?!

  5. Ania says:

    20 layers! WOW! However, the effect is impressive. I love John Thornton he is my favorite character played by RA 🙂
    I hope I’m not wrong but I see 4 hearts 😉

    • bccmee says:

      Well I might use more layers than other people, Ania. Each heart and most of the individual words are on separate layers so I can move and rotate them more easily. 🙂 Yes, you found all the hearts! ♥

  6. Summer says:

    Beautiful siggie! Mr. Thornton has a very special place in my heart as he was the one who introduced me to the wonderful world of RA fandom. (Never had been a fan of any actor in my life, it was unthinkable!!! LOL)
    Looking for Period Dramas to watch on YT, I found this adaptation of N&S -of which I had never heard of- and loving the novel so much was curious to see how the BBC had adapted my favourite Victorian book. And OHHH the moment Mr. Thornton was introduced in the series, this proud, broody gorgeous man, said to myself….He is Mr. Thornton! and from that moment on, I was a goner!! Like you watched the complete series in one go, ordered it immediately at Amazon and googled RA; the rest is History….. 🙂

    • bccmee says:

      Your story sounds familiar, Summer, LOL! Mr. Thornton is an amazing character brought to life with such perfection by Richard Armitage. I think most fans found him through North & South, but he’s getting new ones every day through all his body of work. Thanks for sharing your story!

  7. Meryl says:

    yay for the Graphic a Day~in May! looking forward to next epic set B…….

  8. Jonia says:

    WOW!! I love every single one made by You Bccmee!! Wonderful idea! Your talent really has no limit! :*

  9. Alfie says:

    *SIGH – SWOON* Beautiful.

  10. Jeannie says:

    That is one of my favorite face shots of Rchard in N&S. Your graphic is wonderful. If I hadn’t said it before, you are very talented!

  11. CDoart says:

    Bccmee, your editing just brings out the attentiveness of his look so brilliantly. I love your adding the hearts in the background. What a romantic picture to brighten black days and your text really reminds me that I urgently need a dose and must watch N&S again soon.

  12. Carolyn says:

    Beautiful!

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.

