Graphic a Day, 6 May 2011

Day 6

John Standring from Sparkhouse is featured in today’s Picture of the Day (POD) at RichardArmitageNet.Com:

Picture of the Day, 6 May 2011

Picture of the Day, 6 May 2011

Here is your Graphic of the Day:

John Standring - Sparkhouse

Confession time: I have never seen Sparkhouse. Oh I know that it’s based on Wuthering Heights with the lead roles reversed and that the John Standring character has no counterpart in the book. I’ve seen clips and I know lots of spoilers (but I won’t ruin anything for you). And of course I know that Richard Armitage does a spectacular job in his role. However, it looks like a real downer and I’ve just never found myself in the right frame of mind. I will remedy that someday. Although I have made literally hundreds of Richard Armitage graphics, this is my first John Standring one.

Even if you don’t know a single thing about the storyline, from the screencaps you can tell it’s pretty serious drama. For my siggie, I wanted to evoke a mood. First, as usual, I clipped out the POD. Then I found some more screencaps in the Sparkhouse gallery on RichardArmitageNet.Com. Next I applied the Serious Fog filter from my free Xero Graphics plugins to two of the layers. Since I like the illusion of depth, I added a drop shadow to Carol. Last of all, I added the text using the Vertical Type Tool and the Mom’s Typewriter font to which I applied a gradient and an outer glow.

Here are the two additional images I used:

Sparkhouse background image

Carol - Sparkhouse


While I don’t remember the source, I read an article that listed Sparkhorse as one of Richard Armitage’s credits! Perhaps that will be a sequel? 😉

P.S. Remember that you can request a Picture of the Day from RichardArmitageNet.Com any time via e-mail!

This entry was posted in Graphics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Graphic a Day, 6 May 2011

  1. tyme4t says:

    Well Done!!!! Certainly evokes the correct mood!!!
    I’ve managed to watch Sparkhouse via youtube – not the best way to view but did the trick. RA is of course the reason I watched but it was pretty good overall – Not a fan of WH book or otherwise (other than Matthew Macfadyen portraying Hareton in a version 🙂 )

    • bccmee says:

      I’ll have to check out the Mathew Macfadyen version of Wuthering Heights, but it will have to wait till after I finally get around to seeing Sparkhouse, tyme4t! Glad you like the graphic.

  2. Ania says:

    Great graphic, which perfectly captures the atmosphere of the film
    p.s.
    I like John Standring, even though he’s not a guy of my dreams 😉 but he is so incredibly honest and faithful in his love. Besides, I don’t know how RA did it, but as JS he is so huge

    • bccmee says:

      I like the word “atmosphere,” Ania. Yes, John Standring is large…didn’t RA gain weight for the role?

      • Ania says:

        You’re right, RA put on weight for the role of JS, besides, maybe it’s because that Carol and Andrew didn’t seem to be large people 😉

  3. phylly3 says:

    Oh bccmee! Well done! I LOVE John Standring! I would really reccommend seeing Sparkhouse. I didn’t find it a real downer. I am not a fan of Wuthering Heights either. Depending on how you view the ending, it may or may not be a downer. As I am an optimist I see the ending as leading to a better future. Some don’t see it that way. Either way, Richard’s performance is not to be missed! (And I only watched it on Youtube!) Be careful you find the right clips though, some miss out too much of the story.

    • bccmee says:

      Thanks, phylly3. I promise I’ll see Sparkhouse one of these days! I even have it on DVD so I won’t miss a thing. 😀 Actually I am a fan of the book Wuthering Heights but I haven’t seen all the adaptations. It’s one of my favorite books.

  4. Jeannie says:

    I always thought WH was too dark, the book that is, but the Sparkhouse story, though intense, does not have that same cloud over it. RA is outstanding in it and the other characters a very good. If you see it, you’ll recognise a young actress from RH. I love your graphic and I think you put it together nicely, even though you’ ve never seen the series.

    • bccmee says:

      Yes, I do remember the girl from Sparkhouse was later Meg in an episode of Robin Hood. Pretty good way to recycle, Jeannie! LOL!

  5. NovemberBride says:

    I haven’t seen Sparkhouse either but have seen bits and pieces on youtube. Your graphic does convey the feel of what I’ve seen and the feel of “Wuthering Heights”. I found the book too icky and never finished it. Sorry Bronte fans. Just not my cup of tea. Can’t wait to check my computer for Day 7!!! Thanks bccmee! A graphic a day doth breaketh the drought!!!?

    • bccmee says:

      Now I feel like reading the book again, NovemberBride, LOL! I like it very much. But we all have different tastes, which is a very good thing. 😀

  6. Summer says:

    Oh, lovely, lovely! Love John Standring, I think RA did a wonderful job characterizing this shy and very insecure guy. You did a wonderful job! Saving it with the others 🙂
    I watched Sparkhouse because of RA, I’ve been trying to watch everything he’s been in,
    and in general the story is a bit tough and unbearable at times; I wanted to kill some of the main characters from time to time LOL But I can tell you it’s worth watching just because of RA’s performance, the way he can become his character never cease to amaze me!

    • bccmee says:

      Summer, based on the spoilers I know about, I feel the same way as you about some of the main characters. 😉 I’ll have to tweet after I watch Sparkhouse, LOL!

  7. Brooke says:

    Great photos. Did you see Sparkhouse yet? I loved John even though I didn’t care much for Sparkhouse. I want to meet a guy like him. Lol.

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.

