Graphic a Day, 3 May 2011

Day 3

Most people who know me know my favorite Richard Armitage character. Lo and behold, he stars in today’s Picture of the Day (POD)!

Today’s POD at RichardArmitageNet.Com is dedicated to Diane’s birthday:

Picture of the Day, 3 May 2011

Picture of the Day, 3 May 2011

Here is your Graphic of the Day:

John Porter Wallpaper 1600x900
1600×900 pixels

The screencap by Ali is high definition from the broadcast of Strike Back so I wanted to make a wallpaper. A graphic can only be as sharp as its source material. You can’t make a decent wallpaper from a low-resolution image. As usual, I clipped the main character out of the POD screencap. Then I placed John Porter against the background I snaffled from Sky1’s Strike Back website. The background wasn’t large enough for the wallpaper so I decided to give it a white stroke and some effects such as a red inner glow, then I rotated it a bit. I also added a lens flare to the clouds.

Of course I was faced with a lot of blank space. Since the initial image of Porter stood out against his background, I chose one screencap and one promo picture from RichardArmitageNet.Com and cut John Porter from each of those as well. I cropped and stroked these images and put the John Porter cutouts in front of their respective backgrounds.

My wallpaper background was originally a smooth gradient but then I decided to try a little texture which added a nice dimension. Since my source images were so sharp, I did not want to overlay them with anything. Finally, I forged signed John Porter’s name with my graphic pen and tablet and put it in the corner of the large snapshot.

Here are the layers I used in addition to the POD:

Strike Back Background Porter and Masuku

Strike Back Promo Picture Gradient Layer

Metal Texture John Porter's Name


The wallpaper above is 1600×900 pixels. Below are some other sizes if you would like to use this wallpaper.

John Porter Wallpaper 1440x900
1440×900 pixels


John Porter Wallpaper 1440x900
1024×768 pixels


That’s one John Porter graphic so far, unless you count my bonus siggie. I wonder how many more are to come…? A girl can dream, can’t she?

This entry was posted in Graphics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Graphic a Day, 3 May 2011

  1. Maria says:

    You are very good! The pictures are very creative and look great. Looking forward to seeing what else you do this month. 🙂

  2. Ania says:

    I like that you set JP against the background of clouds and dark smoke, which makes me feel that behind JP something happens (or maybe that something has happened). And it’s great, because it is an action film.

    • bccmee says:

      Thanks for your comment, Ania. I think a show or a movie cannot be action-packed all the time, so it’s the tension that grabs us.

  3. Thanks bccmee!. I like the wallpaper. The different framed pics make you feel they’re in 3D (or probably not and I’m thinking in 3D The Hobbit ;)).

  4. janiwi says:

    Thanks for another heart-thudding graphic! You really are talented, and you could hardly miss with the subject matter! Seriously, could the man be any hotter? A clue – – no! (I know I’m mixing my characters, but I’m a little distracted. . . .) Sigh.

  5. Alfie says:

    When I saw the picture earlier today on RAnet, I was thinking, that that was just the right picture for a graphic by you 🙂

    I really LIKE….

  6. IngeD3 says:

    Another great graphic – I love your work!
    Thanks for providing us with a daily dose of RA delight!

  7. CDoart says:

    Wonderful! – John Porter really is bigger than a picture frame and you showed it so beautifully by letting him stand out. I just created a folder ‘bccmee’s May pictures’ on my computer, as I need to go back and watch your creations again and again. Thank you !

  8. Calexora says:

    So cool!

    Yes, please make lots and lots of JP graphics. ‘We’ looooove him 🙂

    I love how he is bigger than the photos – rather like how Richard seemed to transform himself – or is it rather that he took full ownership of his tall, strong, full manly frame – in SB. I know it was done for the role, but it is incredible how different he looks in SB than in early roles like in The Impressionists where he was a bit concave and didn’t fill out his clothes very well. No mistaking he is a full-grown up man now!

    • bccmee says:

      He does look totally amazing as John Porter without a doubt, Calexora! My reasons for liking the character so much are entirely shallow ones. 😀

  9. tyme4t says:

    I love the pic of JP trying to unlock the children….great!

    Funny (to me anyway) I just watched Marie Lloyd last week for the first time and lo and behold I said Hey….that’s the guy that RA worked with in SB! Shaun Parkes! Much different role for both of them in SB!

    Looking forward to the 4th graphic!

    • bccmee says:

      It’s a very stunning promo picture, tyme4t. He looks so muscular and intense (and gorgeous, as usual). It’s fun to see RA work with some of the same actors in completely different roles and genres! Thanks for your comment.

  10. Jonia says:

    WOW!!!

  11. NovemberBride says:

    wow WOW!! You just impress the heck out of me. Course it does help to have marvelous material with which to work, but wow. And Dianne….hope you had a wonderful birthday. Nice present, huh?!! =0)

  12. phylly3 says:

    Love it!! Great signature too. 🙂

  13. Summer says:

    The wallpaper is awesome! This is your second JP graphic, was wondering too which of the characters will be the most popular this month.

  14. AnaKris says:

    Absolutely overwhelmed by this amazing John Porter coming out of my screen! You need to do a 3D wallpaper … I would gladly wear those ridiculous 3d glasses needed to see it properly at work 😉 I wonder what my boss would say about that LOL!
    Good job Bccmee! and Happy Birthday Diane …. what a wonderful gift this is 😉

    • bccmee says:

      *giggle* That would be hilarious, AnaKris. I have actually thought of that. Who knows? Maybe I will do a real 3D graphic someday. 😀

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.

