Secret Bonus Graphic

BONUS: Graphic from yesterday’s POD

Congratulations on finding the password-protected bonus graphic! 😀

Edit: I removed the password protection!

Yes, I’m a glutton for punishment. I also made a graphic based on yesterday’s Picture of the Day at RichardArmitageNet.Com which was dedicated to Kathryn.

John Porter

Picture of the Day, 30 April 2011

Here is your bonus Graphic of the Day:

John Porter Cartoon Graphic Novel

Since this image is so shocking, I tried to inject some humor. With my self-imposed size limitation, I kept the comic strip to one panel. Since the background was rather “busy” I cut out the characters and then blurred the Range Rover and trees before applying the half-tone effect. I also removed the shadow caused by John Porter’s sunglasses. Then I created a thought balloon using the Custom Shape tool in Photoshop. For the caption, I used the CCMeanwhile font. The idea for the caption came to me when I thought of all the brutality committed against that unnamed character and the word “bromance” was so ironic.

As a kid growing up, I would fight my brothers and sisters for the Sunday newspaper comics. We loved to read them all, including the serious Prince Valiant in the Days of King Arthur, although I preferred the funny ones. That’s why they were sometimes referred to as “the funnies!” Sometimes we would have a new egg of Silly Putty and transfer the Sunday comics onto the putty. Is that an exclusively American pastime?

This entry was posted in Graphics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Secret Bonus Graphic

  1. Pingback: Graphic a Day, 1 May 2011 | bccmee's Richard Armitage Vids & Graphics

  2. Anakris says:

    One word Bcc: Brilliant!

  3. CDoart says:

    Thank you, bccmee! Anakris with ‘Brilliant’ just hits it. Absolutely wonderful and though my talent and picture editing knowledge is not sufficient, I find your explanations how you edit your pictures exceedingly helpful. Thank you !!!
    I have no idea, what eggs of Silly Putty are, but it sounds funny. I loved the “Yps” magazines here in Germany with lots of comics and scientific experiments for children. Unfortunately they are long gone and it shows one’s age to still know this magazine ;o)

    • bccmee says:

      One of the more interesting aspects of the RA fandom is that he crosses cultural boundaries. I love the fact that you had a favorite magazine as a kid with scientific experiments and comics! It seems we have a lot in common despite growing up on different continents. Thanks for your comment, CDoart!

  4. Cindy says:

    Am looking forward to every day in May now… Super talent you’ve got, can’t wait to see what unique treatments you will incorporate for each new pic.

  5. Bccmee, it’s great!. I like the comic effect and the result is splendid.

  6. janiwi says:

    Thanks, bccmee! RA is so gorgeous, I’m not sure I’d mind having him point a weapon at me (mostly because I know he’s far too good a man to hurt anyone in real life!) And I also remember the Silly Putty and the comics – – my brother and I usually got Silly Putty for Easter, and we loved transferring the comics with it. I’m in Ohio (but grew up in Maine), so this may be a uniquely American thing.

    • bccmee says:

      John Porter is a killer with a heart of gold, janiwi! As for my flashback to my childhood, I’m very tempted to run out and buy some Silly Putty, LOL!

  7. Calexora says:

    This is fantastic! What a wonderful talent you have. I’ll be checking in every day for sure.

  8. Summer says:

    Took me forever to figure out the password….LOL Just kidding, by the second try I was in 🙂 I like your comic graphics, they’re lots of fun, amazing how a dramatic scene can be changed into something laughable..”BROMANCE”
    Your John Porter comic book video is one of my favourites, always makes me smile. You should make another one soon 🙂

    • bccmee says:

      Hee hee, I was actually considering making the password a bit hard to find, like a treasure hunt, but decided not to, Summer. Wow, thanks for your kind words on my comic graphic and video. Yes, the word “bromance” has really caught on! Not sure when I’ll have time to make another video. Hopefully soon!

  9. Ania says:

    I like the comics effect

  10. Ann Marie says:

    Lookit that armspan!!!! OMG! Love the facial attitude…sooo cool!

  11. phylly3 says:

    Great stuff! Neat to know you called it “the funnies” too, as we did in our part of Canada. Prince Valiant was a huge part of our Saturday funnies, but I wasn’t a huge fan either. I liked the drawings, but couldn’t be bothered to read the smallish text. It was done by Hal Foster, whose Tarzan drawings I really loved.
    I also used to do the silly putty thing. Thanks for the reminder! How about this…did you ever have a projector you could put over comics and project them onto a wall? That was great fun, but of course the text was backwards!

    • bccmee says:

      Thanks for your comments and memories, phylly3! We did have a projector but it was purely hands-off. Only our dad could control the unit…he was our Captain Kirk with all his gadgets, LOL! Are you tempted to buy an egg of Silly Putty now? I must find some, and maybe some Sea Monkeys too. 😉

      • phylly3 says:

        Oh this was just a little toy one. Nothing Dad would be interested in. It couldn’t have been too expensive because I remember having a replacement one when the first one broke.

  12. Alfie says:

    Fantastic. LOOOOVVVEE it. You should make a RA comic book – I would defintely buy it:)

  13. Oh I grew up in a land filled with Asterix and Obelix and Rin-tin-tin!! piles and piles & loads of others who didn’t make it across the cultural/language divide. So sad the comic culture here IMHO 😉 too graphic & loud. Not that there aren’t any gems. Woman’s weeklys also would have a page. Nice stuff B thanks!! As you know I LOVE that comic Porter vid

    • bccmee says:

      The comics I liked were generally the funny ones or “girly” ones such as Archie. It was only later in life that I discovered graphic novels and the more male-oriented comics, iz4blue/Fanny. Thanks so much for taking the time to comment too! 😀

  14. LadyCassia says:

    I love the idea and you art is really professional! After the RA celebration in March, May is becoming a very thrilling month! I wonder if you could try a contest among the graphics at the end of the month?
    By the way, any chance to have a higher resolution for the Sir Guy graphic’s, in order to use it as desktop background? Many thanks

    • bccmee says:

      Wow, high praise indeed. Thank you, LadyCassia! The idea of a beauty contest is something to think about. As for the Guy graphic, I’m sorry but the resolution is not very high in the original image and it can’t be increased in size. I can only make wallpapers with high-res images. Perhaps you can request one for Picture of the Day at RichardArmitageNet.Com. 🙂

  15. Meryl says:

    You are a “comic genius” B! gotta love all your “stuff”

  16. Traxy says:

    That’s a great graphic. I’ve seen the others of the ones you’ve done in May as well and I have to say, you’re really talented! They’re all very beautiful images. Go you! 🙂

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.

