Graphic a Day, 1 May 2011

Grand Opening

Here we are. It’s time for the grand opening of A Graphic a Day in May, or AGADIM as one of my twitterfriends calls it!

First, here are my self-imposed ground rules:

  • I will create a new graphic using the Picture of the Day (POD) from RichardArmitageNet.Com each day in May
  • The graphic will be completed by midnight in my time zone (I’m in New York City)

Generally speaking, I will use the 500 x 200 pixel size used in signature files (siggies), but if the mood strikes me I might make an avatar or a wallpaper. As I said in an earlier blogpost, feel free to borrow any of my images for your own use — credit to bccmee is always nice. Some of these will be fairly experimental so it’s okay if you don’t like all of them! 🙂

Today’s Picture of the Day at RichardArmitageNet.Com is dedicated to Bo:

Picture of the Day, 1 May 2011

Picture of the Day, 1 May 2011

Here is your Graphic of the Day:

Sir Guy of Gisborne

Since the screencap came from Robin Hood series 3, I decided to include an action scene from the finale. What could be more action-packed than a Medieval explosion? To balance it out, I wanted to use another screencap of Guy. Since my sister and I were looking at RichardArmitageNet.Com while talking on Skype, she stopped to drool over that gorgeous profile picture so I chose that particular one. I’m only human!

To give the graphic some roughness, I added a cement texture. For the text, I used the Merlin and Moderna fonts with several effects applied. I added some smudges to the text to give a sense of urgency. Finally, I used a photo of a sunburst taken from the Space Shuttle to provide some extra “umph” to the trebuchet explosion.

Here are the layers I used in addition to the POD:

Cement Texture Sir Guy of Gisborne Text

Guy Profile Trebuchet Explosion

That’s one down, 30 to go! Remember to check out RichardArmitageNet.Com daily and if you’re so inclined, you can e-mail them a request for a POD! 🙂


Bonus Graphic!

If you would like to see an additional graphic based on yesterday’s POD, I posted it at the link below and for fun, I set it as a password-protected page.

The password is bonus

https://fanvideos.wordpress.com/2011/05/01/secret-bonus-graphic/

Edit: I removed the password protection!
😀

This entry was posted in Graphics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Graphic a Day, 1 May 2011

  1. Ali says:

    Ooer that’s rather good, I’m snaffling that one!
    Laughed at the bonus one too – very well done.

    This is going to be fun!

    No you may not have John Porter for the whole month and I promise not to always put up pics of Guy when I haven’t received a request 😉

    • bccmee says:

      I’m literally laughing out loud at your comment, Ali! Yes, a balance must be struck … I can’t look at all-Porter all-the-time! Clearly, Guy is your all-time fave but you are good about mixing the characters about and I appreciate that! Thanks for your support!

  2. This graphic a day is a very good idea. Thanks for sharing your work with us.
    The siggie’s result using that texture is amazing.

  3. RAFrenzy says:

    Good stuff. Assuming we can snaffle! : D

  4. janiwi says:

    Yum, yum, yum!

  5. Jonia says:

    YAY!!! This is great! Bccmee, is there any limit of Your talent?

  6. Ania says:

    Beautiful graphics. It’ll be very artistic May 🙂

  7. Carolyn says:

    I love the graphic, B! Love the bonus graphic also!

  8. NovemberBride says:

    Wow! How DO you do that stuff? Pretty amazing and yay! for an Artistic May!!!!

    • bccmee says:

      I just take pictures apart and put them back together in a new way, NovemberBride. It’s like doing a puzzle wrong on purpose, LOL!

  9. Summer says:

    Grand opening with my favourite Guy look, love the sexy long hair!!….I’m drooling like your sister 😉
    Love the final result of your work…looks fantastic! So thankful you’re explaining the process of graphic design.
    Looking forward to all the goodies you’ll share with us this month 🙂

    • bccmee says:

      You’re very kind to take the time to leave a comment. And I must add that I’m very fortunate in my choice of sisters, Summer. She has most excellent taste indeed!

  10. NovemberBride says:

    Oh, and I’ll add that I love your step by step. Who knew?

  11. Alfie says:

    Love it – love Guy.

  12. Avalon says:

    Perfect!

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.

