Coming Up: Graphic a Day in May

Graphic a Day in May

Lucas Picture of the Day

There are several Richard Armitage fan sites out there and they all have something unique to offer. The one I visit daily is http://www.richardarmitagenet.com for many reasons, but one of the biggest is its interactivity. Not only is there news about Richard Armitage, but also polls, fan-made graphics & other works of art, and the Picture of the Day (POTD). No matter how busy I am, I always manage to at least take a peek at the picture. Sometimes the POTD is dedicated for a birthday or it was requested by a fan. There is a nice variety too. For instance, one day the picture might be of Lucas North and the next day of Richard Armitage at the 2007 BAFTAs and the day after that of Lee from Cold Feet.

Since I am going to have a less busy schedule in real life after tomorrow, I decided to hone my Photoshop skills for the merry month of May.  As such, I am going to create one graphic every day in May.  So I don’t focus on all John Porter all the time, I will be basing each graphic off of the POTD.

This seems a good day to introduce this topic since I already have a signature graphic  using today’s POTD.

Lucas Running from Picture of the Day, 21 April 2011

From Picture of the Day, 21 April 2011

I took two of my textures/backgrounds from the animated movie The Secret of Kells and the font is Trajan Pro which is included in Adobe Creative Studio.  Below are all my layer images, some of which I used twice and I also applied different blending modes in Photoshop.

Since the purpose of the graphic a day is to learn more about Photoshop, some of my work may be experimental.  If you would like to use any of my graphics, feel free to do so.  I don’t watermark my signatures so credit to bccmee would be appreciated.

I look forward to seeing you in May.  Happy April, everyone!

This entry was posted in Graphics and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Coming Up: Graphic a Day in May

  1. CDoart says:

    Oh, what a great idea!!! I am looking forward to all your graphics and cannot wait to see your daily creations.

  2. Musa says:

    What a great idea! I’ll be checking in every day to look at your graphics.

    Thanks for Lucas! My favorite 🙂

  3. Anakris says:

    Looking forward to see that daily piece of art! See you then!

  4. Summer says:

    Fantastic idea! For someone like me who doesn’t have a clue about photoshop; it’s always amazing to see the creativity of others, so I’m really looking forward to your daily posts. I’m glad you’ll have a more relaxed schedule in May 🙂

  5. Kaprekar says:

    Don’t forget to tweet it everyday – looking forward to it – and everyone’s a winner!!

  6. Alfie says:

    Sounds great. Looking foreward to it.

  7. Avalon says:

    Sounds great!

  8. Ania says:

    I’m so glad that you will show us yours graphic . I can’t already wait

  9. Phylly3 says:

    What a super idea! I have been struggling to make graphic art. I don’t really have a clue about how to do layers. I did one or two just by a fluke, but not often enough to remember how it really works. Actually I no longer have access to Photoshop on my home computer so I have to rely on Photobucket.
    I look forward to your tutorials! Thanks so much for your expertise.

    • bccmee says:

      You can find free programs for graphics, Phylly3. I started off using Paint.NET (not to be confused with Microsoft Paint) at http://www.getpaint.net/ which is for the PC only. Another freebie is GIMP at http://www.gimp.org/ which is available for the MAC and PC. By the way, I don’t know if I’ll have a chance to do actual tutorials, but I will try to show my layers which might help budding graphic artists. 🙂

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.

