Richard Armitage opens Maori Ceremony

Richard Armitage Maori Ceremony

Oh happy day!  As promised, Peter Jackson posted a video from the set of The Hobbit.  RichardArmitageNet has it available for download here:  http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/career/214.html

I always like to caption and transcribe Richard Armitage appearances.  Here you’ll find my edit of the Maori Welcoming Ceremony from the first day of filming The Hobbit on March 21, 2011.  The video has closed-captioning and my transcription is below.


Richard Armitage: My name is Richard. I’m from London, England. I would like to give thanks on behalf of everyone here as visitors for this ceremony, for this celebration, for the blessing of the sound stage and for the welcome that you offer to us. We’re all deeply honored to be here.  And to everyone who has waited so long for this day to begin this extraordinary journey filming The Hobbit I would like to wish them good luck, good health and good harmony.  And Martin would like to say something.

Martin Freeman: Thank you. My name is Martin Freeman and I’m in the cast as well.  He stole everything I was about to say in Maori. As Richard said, this has been a long time coming today. It’s been even longer than we hoped it would be.  So at the end of this journey we are all as close with each other as at the moment we have the potential to be. So thank you very much.

Andy Serkis: Hello everybody, I’m Andy Serkis. I am  standing up just to say on behalf of the returning crew and cast who have come gathered here to go on the journey. And we’re just very very grateful to your incredible hospitality and to the opportunity to share the passion for telling such an amazing amazing story in such an amazing country with such beautiful people. Thank you.

Peter Jackson: You  know, for a long time I thought that going back to the amazing experience of The Lord of the Rings wouldn’t be a good idea. But really now I’ve come completely around because films are stressful and they’re hard to make. But ultimately what makes them fun is the people that you work with.  And the fact that we’re going to be working with a lot of the old gang, with a lot of friends, and obviously making some new friends is really the point of being here. So I’m extremely thrilled. If somebody came up to me today and said that we could carry on pre-production for another six weeks, I’d say, “No, no. Hell no, let’s just start shooting.”

This entry was posted in Interviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Richard Armitage opens Maori Ceremony

  1. janiwi says:

    Thanks, bccmee! Isn’t he an amazing man, to make the attempt to speak some Maori? I would love to be a makeup artist or just a gopher so I could be involved in this fabulous process!

  2. Phylly3 says:

    This is so wonderful and exciting and I thank you so much for posting it! 🙂

  3. kaprekar says:

    I wonder, was there more Maori words that they cut from the beginning?

    Many thanks bccmee!!

  4. PoliCBA says:

    Thank you so much, bccmee!

    Richard was so adorable! And a little bit nervous, don’t you think?

    Thankfully, we are going to see him in “Capitain America” on July. It would be so hard to wait “The Hobbit” premiere to see him!

    • bccmee says:

      You’re very welcome, PoliCBA. Thank you for your tweets! I’m also looking forward to seeing Captain America to hold us over till the debut of The Hobbit in December 2012!

  5. Summer says:

    So thrilled to see RA representing the cast and crew in this important ceremony! I am so proud to be his fan! Thanks B for posting this, I hardly had time to enjoy the video this morning, and after a long hectic day this is what the doctor ordered…the best medicine ever!
    Woo Hoo Richard!!!!

  6. Thanks so much for the transcript!. I think all that our first language is not English, we appreciate it very much.
    I loved the video and Richard have been superb and has remained a Lord in the Ceremony.

  7. Lucia Swiers says:

    What a very special person Richard is! Considerate and honest, intelligent and talented. Time after time he surprises me with his sweetness.

  8. Ania says:

    Thanks Bccmee!. So wonderful to hear RA. He was great as usual. And thanks for the transcription, I had problems to hear what said M.Freeman

  9. Bunkie77 says:

    Thanks so much for posting this, I had a hard time understanding the audio. I hope they all enjoy a safe, blessed and thrilling adventure on this film.

  10. Ana Cristyna Reis Lacerda says:

    Thank you so much, bccmee!

  11. *SWOOOOON* Oh, sorry was I supposed to be articulate after that? It’s Richard and the Hobbit. The Hobbit and Richard. Enough said.

  12. Avalon says:

    Terrific video, thanks for posting. Too bad Orlando was not present.

  13. Kathy says:

    Thank you so much, what a dignified performance from Richard. He is just too perfect for words,and, on a more superficial level , looks as gorgeous as ever. His voice!

  14. Traxy says:

    Oh wow, what a wonderful find! Can’t wait to get home from work so I can watch it! Thank you for posting! 😀

  15. Tedgirl says:

    Thank you for a clearer version in speech and transcript. Very proud seeing him speak in behalf of the cast and .. the Voice. Very dignified in delivering his message with humility. What a man!

  16. Jonia says:

    Thank You :* This really helps me 🙂

  17. Aldebaran says:

    Thanks for the transcript, I hadn’t understand all before read it.
    Love your blog!
    Greetings from Brazil 😉

  18. Jake says:

    Thank you very much for the transcript – I was really struggling to work out what Richard was saying after he announced his name. ‘London, England’.. ah!.. But why was that so funny? That’s probably why I couldn’t understand him, I though he must have told a hilarious joke.

    • bccmee says:

      You’re welcome for the transcript, Jake. I’m not exactly sure why the audience laughed but perhaps it was because he switched from Maori to English.

      • fdemelo says:

        I thought it was the earnest way he introduced himself. Suddenly things from ceremonial to ordinary and it seemed quite amusing.

        I have to admit his body language said he could do it, but I bet his mind said, “Please do not let me screw this up.” Safe to say he didn’t and this will come up in press junkets for Captain America. That and the whole circus thing. (The US reporters will play that up for all it’s worth.)

        Thank you again bbcmee.

        • bccmee says:

          You might be right, fdemelo. I think there could be a whole analysis on what caused the audience to laugh. Thanks so much for your thoughtful comment!

  19. Pingback: RichardArmitageNet News » Blog Archive » April 2011 news archive

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.

