Yay, I won my counter-copyright claim!

As you may know, my edited version of the Richard Armitage segment of the Hobbit Press Conference was removed from YouTube under a copyright claim. However, I filed a counter-claim stating the following:

“Under the terms of fair usage this is only a brief excerpt of a news event posted for noncommercial, nonprofit educational purposes. It is a small portion of the whole using no more of the original than necessary for the video’s purpose and it does not affect the monetary value of the original work.”

There was a 300 character limit including spaces, hence its brevity.  I felt justified in my counter-claim as it was within the law.  Here is a precedent:

http://www.mediapost.com/publications/?art_aid=138060&fa=Articles.showArticle

Yesterday I was emailed the following message:

Hi there,

In accordance with the Digital Millennium Copyright Act, we’ve completed processing your counter-notification regarding your video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WSq2FkxsDoQ

This content has been restored and your account will not be penalized.

Regards,

The YouTube Team

I am delighted to have the video restored since the YouTube link was posted on many sites that were unaware that I had found a new host.  I’d like to thank everyone who helped get the word out about the new location of the video.  This incident helped give birth to my little blog too!

If you feel like watching the lovely bearded Richard Armitage Q&A again, here it is back on YouTube:

This entry was posted in Interviews, Updates and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Yay, I won my counter-copyright claim!

  1. NovemberBride says:

    Congrads, bccmee!! The RAworld is richer thanks to your amazing vid abilities and for this very wise decision. Thank you for sharing your talents with those who are vid creating disabled. I am in total awe of such gifts!!

  2. Summer says:

    Well done B! You stood up for your rights and won! We can all enjoy watching our gorgeous bearded dwarf on YT again! 🙂 I agree with NovemberBride your vids are amazing, and your brand new blog so much fun to read, you know how to brighten our RAworld! HUGS

    • bccmee says:

      Thanks bunches, Summer! Frankly I’m surprised I won, but extremely delighted. It’s great to have you visit my blog. I’m not big on words, but I’ll be posting vids and graphics and pretty pictures from time to time.

  3. Traxy says:

    Excellent news! Congratulations! 🙂 Glad to see it back and that justice was served … for once!

  4. Musa says:

    Congratulations for your win!
    I admire also that you didn’t just accept their judgement, but knew there was precedent for accepting your video. Double congratulations!

  5. SaraD says:

    Hurray!!!!!! Justice is done!!! :o)

  6. kadamanja says:

    YESSS now I can send this link to people again who are curious. Good job!

    -Kadamanja AKA Wikatiepedia AKA Rudie

  7. phylly3 says:

    That is terrific! Good for you for fighting the system! You rock!

  8. Jonia says:

    Congratulations Bccmee!!!!

  9. Meryl says:

    Well met B, I love all your stuff as you know, and it’s great to see that if you stand by what you think is right, sometimes wins in the end!

  10. loriBear says:

    YOU GO GIRL! Congrats!

  11. Lynn says:

    Well done.

  12. Trbabe says:

    Well done! Not everyone would take on the ‘big guys’ and win. I love this vid soooo much! Xx

  13. Kaprekar says:

    That’s remarkable, bccmee! I am so glad you did this!

  14. RAFrenzy says:

    Of course you know how I feel about it. 😀 But I gots a question: do you want me to change my link to YT instead of leaving it Vimeo? Or does it matter?

  15. judiang says:

    Congrats on the win! Also on your new blog too.

  16. Beachbaby says:

    Great work bccme on the edited interview & well done on taking the argument up & then winning. Go girl!

    So, you have beard love too? Ain’t it great. 🙂

  17. CDoart says:

    Congratulations!!! Thank you for sharing the news and for fighting !
    I am looking forward to your blog. I just discovered it through Servetus and am very much looking forward to it. All the best and congratulations to you for the blog and for winning!

    • bccmee says:

      Thanks for visiting my blog, CDoart! I’m very glad to see you here. 🙂 I appreciate all your support of my fanvideos and I look forward to reading your blog regularly, especially during FanstRAvaganza!

  18. smitkit says:

    That’s great news Bccmee! Sorry, only just noticed your post!

Please share your thoughts! Email address is optional.

